PDA

View Full Version : ATi 9700, not bad ;-)



Broadsword
09-04-02, 07:14 PM
I just got my ATi 9700, not a bad card. Scored 13715 on the 3dMark (default settings). I don't think i'll need to overclock it for a while :D

cy
09-04-02, 07:19 PM
what other specs of your comp?

Broadsword
09-04-02, 07:44 PM
P4 2.26GHz 533FSB, Gigabyte 8IHXP, 512MB RDRAM 1066MHz, 15k Seagate, etc...

Broadsword
09-04-02, 09:55 PM
Anybody know of any working refresh rate fixes? I tried the ATi Refresh Rate Fixer 0.9.9.7. It didn't work, know of any others?

tHE_0ne
09-04-02, 09:58 PM
lucky rich boy!

Broadsword
09-04-02, 10:00 PM
rich boy, that's so far off it's not even funny.

Deus ex Machina
09-04-02, 10:04 PM
anandtech had an article about an o/c of the Gigabyte version of the 9700pro.

shant,
david

Broadsword
09-04-02, 10:14 PM
thanks for the input, i don't see a refresh rate fix though...

cy
09-04-02, 10:27 PM
Originally posted by OptKing
rich boy, that's so far off it's not even funny.

heh we had this discussion before...we tend to spend our "future money", which is using our credit card to get whatever we want at this moment and never care about the payment til the day it comes LOL :D:D

Broadsword
09-04-02, 10:30 PM
Anybody know of any working refresh rate fixes? I tried the ATi Refresh Rate Fixer 0.9.9.7. It didn't work, know of any others?

monkeyhead
09-04-02, 10:33 PM
sorry no refresh rate fix.... but what town in NJ.... im from jersey too

A_old
09-04-02, 10:56 PM
try rage3d tweak

www.rage3d.com

Broadsword
09-05-02, 06:08 AM
Seaside Park 10 1/2 yrs now :D

YARDofSTUF
09-05-02, 09:05 AM
ha! already a problem lol

Broadsword
09-05-02, 03:02 PM
ha! ha! ha... anybody? I still can't get it to work, ATi 9700 Pro. PLEASE!!! mmm I LOVE milk. There is nothing better.

Brk
09-05-02, 03:06 PM
Why worry about it at all?

§I€MFKR™
09-05-02, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by OptKing
Anybody know of any working refresh rate fixes? I tried the ATi Refresh Rate Fixer 0.9.9.7. It didn't work, know of any others?


ATI For Ya:nod: $400.00 paper weight:D

Mark
09-05-02, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by Hybridmonolith
ATI For Ya:nod: $400.00 paper weight:D

I think the refresh rate deal is a windows problem right ? nvidia has the same troubles only some one has made some programs to fix it for us.

i know that if i bought a $400 new video card i would sure as hell want one that i could adjust the refresh rate on, i just can't handle 60 hz for more than about 5 minutes before i am rubbing my eyes.

i'm sure there will be a fix soon.

aagiants
09-05-02, 03:18 PM
go to www.guru3d.com and go to tool and use forcerefresh or something with force, works great, very easy to use

§I€MFKR™
09-05-02, 03:24 PM
For 4 bills i would expect s h i t to work, Ya know. I have never had a prob with my Nvidia, rock soild, pulling never 15,000 3Dmarks, not one bit of OCing to the card.:D

Brk
09-05-02, 03:36 PM
Originally posted by Hybridmonolith
For 4 bills i would expect s h i t to work, Ya know. I have never had a prob with my Nvidia, rock soild, pulling never 15,000 3Dmarks, not one bit of OCing to the card.:D

It's not a matter of the card not working...it's just the refresh rate problem. Maybe I just don't have sensitive eyes, but I don't notice any difference...

A_old
09-05-02, 03:40 PM
the refresh rate issue is a win2k/xp issue. get it right. and no ti4600 pulls 15000 3dmarks without overclocking of SOMETHING in the system. enough brand bashing. get over it ati's in the lead for once, in a few months nvidia will take it again. who cares? and did you try rage3d tweak? if it supports the 9700, i haven't checked that but it should..but it has a built in refresh fix tab.

§I€MFKR™
09-05-02, 03:54 PM
OS issue or not, It's still a prob. :nod: I'm not bashing any brand, i just think it's funny:D Don't get such a hard on when 1 comment is made about ATI, WTF??

Broadsword
09-05-02, 05:37 PM
Hmm, I get 85Hz in Windows, I check it through my monitor, P225f, it's under Viewmeter / Degauss, it says 85Hz in Windows, which it is cause its nice and clear, but in game (Half-Life) when i check the viewmeter it says 60Hz, and I can't get net_graph to get past it either, V-Sync doesn't do anything, max_fps and modem_fps don't either. I'm lost. All the ATi programs were made a long time ago, so none of em have worked yet. And I tried: Start\Run, typed DXDIAG > More Help > Override
and set the refresh rate to 85Hz and it still didn't work. :cry: :cry: :cry:

Mark
09-05-02, 05:52 PM
OptKing, i know this may sound stupid , but do you have your monitor drivers installed ?

A_old
09-05-02, 06:07 PM
no it's a windows issue. you have to use a refresh fix tool to FORCE the refresh u want at a given reso.

Mark
09-05-02, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by Amro
no it's a windows issue. you have to use a refresh fix tool to FORCE the refresh u want at a given reso.

true that but it will only work for me if i have my viewsonic drivers installed, i think.

Broadsword
09-05-02, 07:24 PM
No, with my old G3 the Nvidia Refresh Rate fix worked, I got a TRUE 105FPS in Counter-Strike. I just hope somebody smart makes a good working one for the 9700!

A_old
09-05-02, 07:49 PM
have u tried rage3d tweak or not? you keep avoiding the q.

YARDofSTUF
09-05-02, 08:28 PM
i have the 8500 with the refresh locked at 60, the refresh fixes dont fix it for me, gotta reinstall the drivers, adn i'm tired of that, but i hate 60hz refresh i like at least 75hz

A_old
09-05-02, 08:52 PM
mine works great, u once u have rage3d tweak installed, u go to the custom display modes tab, select the res, right click it, and set it to the refresh u want to force. it's limited by ur monitor btw.

Broadsword
09-05-02, 09:51 PM
Nice, out of 10 different "refresh rate fixes" the Rage3D worked, thanks Amro! Looks and feels so nice!!!

A_old
09-05-02, 11:44 PM
glad to hear it.... :) from now on just ignore everyone else's "i hate ati and am going to blame a windows issue that nvidia cards have too on them anyway cause i'm cool" remarks..and listen to my "i lub my 8500, here's a fix for the bug" remarks :) :rtfm:

Broadsword
09-06-02, 11:42 AM
Lol, I always do! ATi is a great company. Thanks again!

Mark
09-06-02, 06:11 PM
just for the record i never said "i hate ATI"