PDA

View Full Version : Voltages Abnormal??



SLK
05-10-02, 07:14 PM
my -5.00v is lower than -5 it fluctuates at 2.3, sometimes at 4.7, 3.5. my -12v stays at 5. is that normal. My hardware monitor is alarming me also.

http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/050102/fghfghgfh.JPG

A_old
05-10-02, 08:15 PM
Originally posted by SlicKsTufF2355
my -5.00v is lower than -5 it fluctuates at 2.3, sometimes at 4.7, 3.5. my -12v stays at 5. is that normal. My hardware monitor is alarming me also.

http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/050102/fghfghgfh.JPG


i'm no expert in PSU's (know a good bit but not this much) but i do believe the +v rails are the important ones.. someone help me out on this.. are the -v rails grounds or something? I think it's ok. I think the +v rails are the ones to keep in spec.

Amro

P.S. someone help me out or correct me if i'm wrong..TIA

P.S.S. ALT + PrintScreen will copy just the active window to the clip board for paste into your graphics prog.

kieofwoo
05-10-02, 08:37 PM
i dunno that much about psu's either but my - voltages remain rock steady


http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/050102/b.gif

MikeyMan
05-10-02, 08:39 PM
If your power supply cannot supply enough voltage, it will draw more current, causing temps to rise. Also, temp diodes and other motherboard stuff will act all funky if it's thirsty... Try unplugging all non-essential hardware (sound card, CD ROM, ect) and see what happens.

+ is the in, - is the ground.

I find it funny that the chassis is reading higher than the CPU temp.

Either the power supply is too little, or the board is fux0red.

A_old
05-10-02, 08:39 PM
Thanks for the post, but notice the -v rails are still way 'off' where they 'should' be.. so i think he's fine

SLK
05-10-02, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by MikeyMan
If your power supply cannot supply enough voltage, it will draw more current, causing temps to rise. Also, temp diodes and other motherboard stuff will act all funky if it's thirsty... Try unplugging all non-essential hardware (sound card, CD ROM, ect) and see what happens.

+ is the in, - is the ground.

I find it funny that the chassis is reading higher than the CPU temp.

Either the power supply is too little, or the board is fux0red.


naw the chassis and Cpu are mixed up. he CPU is the chassis look...



Im using Gigabytes prog. i finally found it:)

http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/050102/gfgfd.JPG

SLK
05-10-02, 09:50 PM
Originally posted by kieofwoo
i dunno that much about psu's either but my - voltages remain rock steady


http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/050102/b.gif


0.49v on ur -5.00?? Thats a different reading, isnt it supposed to be negative?

SLK
05-10-02, 10:44 PM
Well i decided im getting a Antec 420 watt p/s. That should fix everything. (Hopefully)

MikeyMan
05-11-02, 09:23 AM
I'd wait off on the new Power Supply since you actually have the program that was made for your motherboard. :rolleyes: Does that seem to read stable?

Up the VCore to 1.775 V. Your 5+ is a little low, acceptable, but low. For a 1ghz + Duron, the standard 1.6V is too low.