PDA

View Full Version : I bought the other monitor, now i have dual display



Brent
05-07-02, 02:39 PM
FINALLY

lol

i've done it in the past, but with different monitors, and they were crappy

now i'm finally up to pace with two new NEC FE950+ Black 19" monitors in a dual monitor config on my main pc

this is way cool stuff

YARDofSTUF
05-07-02, 02:46 PM
i got its white brutha

cyberskye
05-07-02, 03:12 PM
Do you use a dual-head adapter or a separate card?

A_old
05-07-02, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by cyberskye
Do you use a dual-head adapter or a separate card?


dual head (ati 8500)

kieofwoo
05-07-02, 05:33 PM
Go Brent!

I'm waiting for my new screen to turn up so that I can follow suit :) Unfortunately I have to make do with a salvaged S3 running the second mon :( Oh well at least I'll have 2 screens :)

YARDofSTUF
05-07-02, 05:51 PM
gonna jack an hp 15" 2nd monitor for my radeon 8500 128

TEH WIN
05-07-02, 06:03 PM
pics brent

and i have a dual monitor setup here also.. but two cards.

TNT2 AGP main - 17 in monitor

Radeon 7200 PCI secondary - 15 inch monitor

Ghosthunter
05-07-02, 08:03 PM
I have a dual monitor setup at work, and I cannot live without it, I miss it when I get home, but I dont have room for a second 19 inch monitor, besides my wife would kill me and think I am nuts.

Brent
05-07-02, 10:20 PM
Pics as Requested

Here are the two dually monitors in teh dark, woo

http://www.speedguide.net/~brent/new/1.jpg

Here are the two monitors and one of my review stations to the left which is in easy reach

http://www.speedguide.net/~brent/new/2.jpg

Here are the two monitors with the flash

http://www.speedguide.net/~brent/new/3.jpg

Here are the two monitors and one of my review stations with the flash

http://www.speedguide.net/~brent/new/4.jpg

Both of my review stations

http://www.speedguide.net/~brent/new/5.jpg



Also, both my ATI 8500LE 128MB cards only have one VGA port, and my AIW 8500 128MB also only has one VGA port, I have no dually 8500's in house

So instead of putting in another PCI card I just put in this MSI GF4 Ti 4600 I have, it has one VGA port and one DVI port of which I used the DVI to VGA adapter, for dual monitor support through nView, works great.

Onethenumber2
05-07-02, 10:28 PM
I know you would need some extra software to support it but has anyone ever heard of someone haveing a tri moniter set up? Is this possible (with the right software of course)

Brent
05-07-02, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by Onethenumber2
I know you would need some extra software to support it but has anyone ever heard of someone haveing a tri moniter set up? Is this possible (with the right software of course)

i forget the exact number, but Windows can support up to (insert double digit number) amount of monitors

Triple, Quad, 5, 5, 7, 8, A WHOLE WALL

it's pretty amazing actually, you can move monitors to be diaganal or whatever position you want

and the software is no biggie, nView, HydraVision, hell even Windows itself can let you do that...

btw multi-monitor support was introduced in Windows 95, so it's not new...

Immortal
05-07-02, 11:44 PM
u play serious sam 2 too? fun aint it... wanan play coop sometime?

TEH WIN
05-08-02, 12:07 AM
what software are you using to manage the two monitors?

Brent
05-08-02, 09:14 AM
Originally posted by TEH WIN
what software are you using to manage the two monitors?

i already stated i am using an MSI GF4 Ti 4600, therefore nView

Brent
05-08-02, 09:14 AM
Originally posted by Immortal
u play serious sam 2 too? fun aint it... wanan play coop sometime?

I play SS2 and I benchmark with it

in that particular scenerio I was benching with it

Onethenumber2
05-08-02, 03:48 PM
Originally posted by Brent


i forget the exact number, but Windows can support up to (insert double digit number) amount of monitors

Triple, Quad, 5, 5, 7, 8, A WHOLE WALL

it's pretty amazing actually, you can move monitors to be diaganal or whatever position you want

and the software is no biggie, nView, HydraVision, hell even Windows itself can let you do that...

btw multi-monitor support was introduced in Windows 95, so it's not new...

wow that is really cool. I'm going to have to try that when i get the parts

lansens
05-09-02, 10:52 AM
Dual Monitors huh. Now you have me thinking.



Brent, how do you like that desk? I just got one this pass weekend and love it. Great setup.

Ghosthunter
05-09-02, 01:32 PM
Win98, Windows 2000, and XP all support up to 10 monitors.


Of course to have room for all of them, that would be a feat in itself, on a single desk.

CableDude
05-09-02, 06:14 PM
[H]ella cool, Brent. :)

XSeaNX
05-09-02, 06:30 PM
I also have that desk thats hold the two monitors....works great..and I love the CD racks....also, in a normal room it adds a little class with the nice wood....other than that...I had it built in an hour and it was worth the money :D

odog
05-09-02, 07:17 PM
what did you run before?


i just picked up another 19" just waiting till i moved to break it out

odog
05-09-02, 07:27 PM
multiple monitor support was added to 98 and was not in 95. 10 is the maximum amount of monitors that windows can handle.(got the number wrong 9 in w98 and 10 in xp)

Brent
05-09-02, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by XSeaNX
I also have that desk thats hold the two monitors....works great..and I love the CD racks....also, in a normal room it adds a little class with the nice wood....other than that...I had it built in an hour and it was worth the money :D

yep, I got this desk on sale at Best Buy for $99 it was well worth it, took a bit of time to put together, but it's sturdy and works good in office here

i got it because i KNEW i would be going multi-monitor eventually, i got it around about 1 year ago, i was planning ahead ;)

Brent
05-09-02, 10:33 PM
Originally posted by odog
what did you run before?


i just picked up another 19" just waiting till i moved to break it out

before these 2 monitors I had a ViewSonic E790B 19" monitor

but it is a regular curved CRT, not a true flat screen, it is now my primary reviewing monitor, mainly for video card reviews...

Brent
05-09-02, 10:35 PM
Originally posted by odog
multiple monitor support was added to 98 and was not in 95. 10 is the maximum amount of monitors that windows can handle.(got the number wrong 9 in w98 and 10 in xp)

thank you for the correction

A_old
05-09-02, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by Brent


thank you for the correction


i thought 8 in win98...pretty sure..bout it...?

Ghosthunter
05-09-02, 11:08 PM
It is 10 in any OS that supports it..98/2k/xp

odog
05-10-02, 08:05 AM
well i thought it was 7 for w98 so i went to microshafts site and their they say it's 9 for 98 and 10 for XP?

http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/usingwindows/fun/articles/811Nov/funfoundation5d.asp

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/home/using/productdoc/en/default.asp?url=/windowsxp/home/using/productdoc/en/display_multi_monitors_overview.asp

kieofwoo
05-10-02, 08:28 AM
Originally posted by TEH WIN
what software are you using to manage the two monitors?

I found this niffty mulitmon software that has some nice features like putting extra buttons on the window title bar e.g. move to next monitor. Also allows extra taskbars and a whole host more

http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/