PDA

View Full Version : VGA slot for Video



Duzmor
05-05-02, 12:29 PM
I have a ? - I am running Win 2000 pro - If you go to devise Mgr then to the Video card - In the general Box It say's - " PCI Bus 1-
Devise 0-Function- O The card Is a VGA Voodoo 3 sitting in the VGA slot is Correct "PCI Bus 1"

Thanks
Duzmor

The Dude
05-05-02, 02:02 PM
When you say "VGA" slot do you really mean "AGP" I have a Voodoo 5500 in the AGP slot and it also reads " PCI Bus 1-Devise 0-Function- O " I am not shure why it says PCI bus, for my mobo bus 1 is the AGP BUS and bus 0 is the pci bus. So in answer to your question "yes". If you are quick you can hit "shift pause" during your pc's post and you will see a screen displaying wich cards are on wich bus. For my pc it shows at the bottom 'Bus 1 dev 0 func 0 -Display cntrl." Hope this helps.

Duzmor
05-05-02, 04:31 PM
Thanks For the Information - I Ment AGP Slot - Tough Day !!!

Thanks again

Duzmor:D :D

The Dude
05-05-02, 04:43 PM
Originally posted by Duzmor
Thanks For the Information - I Ment AGP Slot - Tough Day !!!

Thanks again

Duzmor:D :D
Hey no prob, been there done that.;)

Forgetful
05-05-02, 04:52 PM
Originally posted by Duzmor
I have a ? - I am running Win 2000 pro - If you go to devise Mgr then to the Video card - In the general Box It say's - " PCI Bus 1-
Devise 0-Function- O The card Is a VGA Voodoo 3 sitting in the VGA slot is Correct "PCI Bus 1"

Thanks
Duzmor

Had an AGP voodoo 3000 which was always listed as PCI in XP. Try going to direct x and seeing if AGP textures are enabled, was always greyed out for me.

Brent
05-05-02, 05:23 PM
because the Voodoo cards are PCI by nature, not AGP, even though they connect to the AGP bus they do not utilize the advantages of DME, they are in essance, PCI devices

Duzmor
05-05-02, 05:39 PM
Brent What is a better card A Voodoo 3 Or a Jaton 32 mb both are AGP - That is A Jaton 3d force B 32Pluse

Duzmor

Brent
05-05-02, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by Duzmor
Brent What is a better card A Voodoo 3 Or a Jaton 32 mb both are AGP - That is A Jaton 3d force B 32Pluse

Duzmor

Voodoo3

Duzmor
05-05-02, 06:52 PM
Thanks Brent: I found some good drivers for the voodoo 3 and It made a Big Difference (Win 2000 pro)

Thanks again

Duzmor:D :D