PDA

View Full Version : To run my vidcard in PCI or AGP



Set
05-05-02, 07:18 AM
in my bios i can set display to PCI or AGP whats better

i have a GF4 Ti4600

hard core gamer wanna get the best fps

so whats better ? set as AGP or PCI ?

YARDofSTUF
05-05-02, 07:20 AM
well if ur card is in teh agp slot use the agp option :p

kieofwoo
05-05-02, 07:23 AM
err... you graphics can only be PCI or AGP, the setting in the bios is probably for choosing which takes precedence if you have both flavours installed.

Seeing as you have a G4 4600, this is an AGP but this is automatically detected adn so you don't need to worry about the setting unless you have the 2 graphics cards

I hope this is what you meant, if not my engish is letting me down again ;)

Set
05-05-02, 07:35 AM
yea but agp card can run in pci mode so i was asking what 1 would be faster

Lazlow
05-05-02, 07:49 AM
the Accelarated Graphics Port is

terrancelam
05-05-02, 08:36 AM
Originally posted by settrippen
yea but agp card can run in pci mode so i was asking what 1 would be faster

Don't use it in PCI mode. Why? Because it checks the PCI ports for the video card first then goes to AGP for the rest. just use the AGP as the mentioned mode, since you have a GF4 that is AGP.

Jamie_R
05-05-02, 08:36 AM
agreed - AGP is the way to go :)

Set
05-05-02, 08:51 AM
ok thanx alot guys