PDA

View Full Version : How does this look for an upgrade....



BaLa
05-03-02, 10:44 AM
I want to upgrade my POS

K6-2 500mhz
180+ megs of RAM
Creative 52X CD-Rom
Onboard Sound, Video
POS Fujitsu 9.2gig HDD

I came up with this...

keep CD-Rom and HDD (for now)
and get...

MAXTOP CSX-147K-GF-USB-GRAY
Kingmax 256MB DDR Ram PC-2100 CL2

EPOX 8K3A KT333CE DDR333 266MHz FSB ATA133 Socket A MOTHERBOARD - RETAIL With 2-Channel Audio.
CPU AMD|DURON 1.1GHZ RTL(200Mhz FSB) - w/Heatsink&Fan
VISIONTEK Xtasy 5632 GEFORCE2 GTS-V 4X/2X 32MB DDR AGP - OEM


this will cost me $325

going with Duron b/c of price (I will only get $150 for my Birthday)
Motherboard KT333 chipset for upgradeabilty
256mb RAM should be good enough to start of in W2k
Video Card, it wont be to much of a gaming comp (currently the comp has built in graphics)
also the GF2 GTS is still a VERY good graphics card ESPECIALLY for the price..

LT-73
05-03-02, 12:17 PM
Hey bala, don't get the duron, unless you're gonna bridge the L1's. evrythings else sounds great but ditch the duron and get an Athlon 266mhz. A T-bird would be really nice.


I'm runnin a Duron now and it's cuz my g/f bought it for me. She meant well tho bless her heart but when i found out it was a duron and only 200 mhz i was disappointed indeed. I tried to bridge the L1's but even after all my efforts i'm still stuck with 1Ghz and i can't unlock the multipliers.

Plus you're gonna run that pc2100 ddr
Still tho if you're goin with the Duron and you have any tricks to unlock the multipliers let me know

All in all i think it'll be a great setup.
Have fun building it :D

Check this out : http://www.bzboyz.com/store/cpus_amd.html#331

Jada
05-03-02, 02:26 PM
what LT-73 said, spend extra on a thunderbird, maybe buy a 1.4 second hand, should be a few about now the xp,s have been around a while.

BaLa
05-03-02, 02:46 PM
Proc the only thing I should consider switching?
TBird for Duron?

cyberskye
05-03-02, 03:40 PM
I have found that W2KP runs very nicely on 256M RAM. Depends, of course, on what apps you are running. 512 did bring a noticeable performance boost, tho - especially with video capture/editing.

Skye

BaLa
05-03-02, 04:56 PM
as i said...
I want to make this 'upgrade' (or whatever you wanna call it; since I will be replacing 80% of the components) as cheap as possible...

eventually I will prolly load it with 512mb RAM or so....

the 2 computers that actually get used the most in this house have 512mb RAM...
more is not needed...
W2k runs very nicely with 512mb....+ I suppose
my RAM USAGE never goes above 300mb though...

LT-73
05-03-02, 05:18 PM
Originally posted by BaLa
Proc the only thing I should consider switching?
TBird for Duron?

yeah Bala, evrything else is fine, no need to spend more that u have to and besides, the T-bird runs better and it's about the same price

Just a sugeestion :D

BaLa
05-03-02, 06:31 PM
kind of at a loss with the RAM here....


KingMax DDR memory 256MB PC3200 MPXB62D-KX
Specifications:
Performance range - 200MHz ( DDR300, CL2.5 )
Double-data-rate architecture; two data transfers per clock cycle
Auto & self refresh capability (4096 Cycles / 64ms)
Single 2.5V 0.2V power supply Programmable Read latency 2, 2.5 (clock)
Programmable Burst length (2, 4, 8) -OEM

Item: N82E16820156003 Model# MPLB62D-KX
Rating: N/A Shipping: Special FedEx Saver Shipping $8.00
Price: $71.00 Stock: YES

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
KINGMAX DDR333 PC-2700 256MB- -OEM (limit 10 per customer)

Item: N82E16820156001 Model# MPMB62D-68KX3
Rating: (avg rating out of 27 voters) Shipping: FedEx Saver Shipping $9.00
Price: $87.00 Stock: YES


which one do I get the PC2700 seems to be not quite as good, though it is more expensive ? :confused: :confused: :confused:

LT-73
05-03-02, 07:23 PM
If you're gonna run with the Athlon , go with the 266 mhz 256mb
Maybe Kingmax ?
I'd go with performance and get the lowest price if possible

I've got this generic brand pc2100 ddr 256mb and i got lucky cuz it works pretty good with my setup

YARDofSTUF
05-04-02, 10:56 AM
get a 266 fsb tbird, crucial or kingmax ddr ram, at 2100, which ever is cheapest and the 8k3a is good, gonna be installing one here soon i got it already and it looks vest nice!

LT-73
05-04-02, 12:39 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
get a 266 fsb tbird, crucial or kingmax ddr ram, at 2100, which ever is cheapest and the 8k3a is good, gonna be installing one here soon i got it already and it looks vest nice!


i agree :D

terrancelam
05-04-02, 01:47 PM
Bala, the T-bird (if you can still find a 1.4ghz one) is a much better upgrade then a duron at the moment. It's a bit more, but I find it's still cheaper then the XP processor and it's now become the budget processor of choice!

As for the ram, unless your ocing any branded ram will do, Micron/Infineon. As for the board, well the Abit KR7A is dropping in price, only $196CAD for the non-raid version of the board. Very solid board for the price.

BTW 512mb is a great idea for a upgrade, but if your using anything less then Windows XP or 2K, then not really worth upgrading to 512mb (Unless you turn off page memory file, which if you bought the ECC and you have a ECC mobo, it'll really come into play).

BaLa
05-04-02, 03:17 PM
ok
I know I will get teh mobo and graphics card for my BD
so I went ahead and ordered the rest...


ETHERNT 3COM|905CX-TXNM PCI 10/100% 1 $32.00
HD 60G|MAXTOR MX6L060L3 72R ATA133 1 $97.00
***CASE MXTP|300W 1FAN CSX-6688K Black 1 $45.00 ***
CPU AMD|1700/266 ATHLON 1.47G XP RT 1 $109.00
DDRAM KINGMAX MPLB62D-KX 256 PC24k% 1 $71.00

I got the wrong case on accident
meant to get this one...

***MAXTOP 147KG2F-USB BLUE **Cool Case**2 Additional Fans : 1 x on the Top Panel, 1 x on the Side Panel, 1x Power Supply Fan***

will need email them and call on mon if email wont work..

YARDofSTUF
05-04-02, 03:20 PM
looks good!

BaLa
05-04-02, 03:27 PM
should be a nice system...
will def. kick my other systems ass..


Abit KG7 1.4ghz TBird
2x 40gig Maxtor HDDs (one L Series the other 5400rpm)
2x256mb PC 2100 DDR w/ECC
6x DVD
same 3Com Card
GF2 GTS
SB Live Value

Ken
05-04-02, 05:39 PM
Hey BaLa,
Am I lost or did you change your mind? I thought that you said you were going to keep your old HDD, but it looks like you ordered a new one...

It looks like you have chosen good stuff! :)

BaLa
05-04-02, 05:41 PM
lol yeah I wanted to keep it...
but I say screw it it's a POS...
with that GOOD of a system I don't want to keep it...
plus it was only $92 (trying to justify the price to myself) it's also an L Series Maxtor Drive so.... :D

additionally I will only NEED a CD-Rom drive and a Floppy Drive to get the K6-2 500 back up (for G@H at some point)

LT-73
05-04-02, 05:58 PM
Yo Bala,
looks great ! you'll be happier with the athlon than the duron in the long run , hee hee :D

That system is gonna be sweeeeeeeeeeet !! :nod: