PDA

View Full Version : cooling problems



mvern2
03-10-02, 11:13 PM
hey all...i've got some heat issues with me pc....at idel i get 60 degrees celcius...it runs fine but i wanna get that temp down...here are a few pics of my pc:

the lower part of my case with my mobo and hard drive
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc1.bmp

the upper part of my case with my psu, dvd drive and cd-rw drive..there is only a small opening to let the wires and ide cables through...will that be enought to let air flow throught is i add 2 fans above my psu
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc2.bmp

the rear of my case. i can add 2 80 mm fans but i'm not sure that will remove the hot air around my heat sink....i want to add a fan were my heat sink is to get rid of the heat that builds up around my mobo but i can't cuz its rescesed and wont alow me t place an 80 mm fan there!
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc3.bmp

jsut showing the placement of the 2 80 mm fan openings and the small hole for the wires and ide cables
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc4.bmp

a closer look at the front of my case where the intake fan is located
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc5.bmp

my heat sink and the ares that is rescesed
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc6.bmp

Mark
03-10-02, 11:17 PM
Originally posted by mvern2
my heat sink and the ares that is rescesed
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc6.bmp


i would put a fan right behind your heatsink on the back of the case, to get some airflow going past the heatsink.

mvern2
03-10-02, 11:38 PM
theres no room for a 80mm heat sink ther cuz its rescesed. i don't have a large enought opening

Easto
03-11-02, 01:15 AM
I have the same case. I put an Enermax PSU in it and they have a second fan on the bottom of the PSU pulling air away from the CPU. Get rid of that Heatsink and buy a "quality" heatsink of your choice. Your current Heatsink/Fan Combo looks like a low end Thermal Take. BTW: up on the back top of the case is a perforated grill. Cover it with tape or the fans up top will pull air in from there and not up from the bottom of your case.

m4a2t0t
03-11-02, 02:19 AM
first off id get a better hsf,then id put some fans in the top of the case

Rings890
03-11-02, 11:33 AM
:( First ditch that peice of junk fan&heat sink.

try something like this http://www.ncix.com/Canada/productdetail.cfm?sku=6483

mvern2
03-11-02, 01:08 PM
i was thinking of getting the dragon orb 3 or the volcano 7 or the volcano 7+.....i also want to get a better intake with a higth cfm and 2 80mm fans and place them where the 2 perferated grills are at the back...is that a good idea or will that screw up my air flow in my case?

Easto
03-11-02, 02:02 PM
Go for it! You're on the right Track.

http://www.coolerguys.com/

Has a thermalright SK6 with fan right now for $30usd.

XSeaNX
03-11-02, 05:24 PM
Get the volcano 7 (has the new thermal sensor and is a lot quieter) and the two up top will be fine....Id say have them pulling air in...unless your front ones are..then have them going out....but either way it will DEFINATELY cool off the PSU more....and maybe your drives if its pulling air in.

mvern2
03-11-02, 11:30 PM
will the colcano 7 fit on my mobo...i got an Asus A7V 266 mobo....i know those volcano 7's are huge!

click_here
03-12-02, 01:57 AM
ANY case fans will make a difference,use the two 80mm mounts in the top rear and suck out all the hot air(heat rises)and I bet that will cool things down alot!and try and put atleast one intake in the lower front of the case.and make sure you use arctic silver II on the cpu and hsf.
read here (http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.htm) all that should help with a minimum of $
:) and even some rounded fdd and ide cables might help a little.

mvern2
03-15-02, 08:28 PM
ok...i've done some reasearch on fans and stuff.....i was thinking of getting 2 thermaltake 80 mm fans @ 37 cfm & 30 dB for my rear exhaust....for my intake i'm just keeping my cooler master fan rated at 33 cfm and i'm also getting the volcano 7 heatsink....is that heat sink too big for an Asus A7V 266 mobo? is all this ok or will that screw up my air flow...and suggestions?

XSeaNX
03-16-02, 10:30 PM
I bought a Volcano 7 for my mobo (A7v266e) and from my test fittings (whole comp isnt together yet) it fits perfect. Close to the ram but with enough room to get a finger between the two (which in my opinion is a lot of room. Doesnt restrict anything. I say go for it!

click_here
03-17-02, 12:24 AM
check this out ! (http://www.texloc.com/closet/cl_fah_cel_chart.html)

YARDofSTUF
03-17-02, 08:19 AM
ya get the volcano 7 or 7+ and any exhaust fans u can would be great, use thermal paste as well!

BaLa
03-18-02, 03:34 AM
cleaning up the cables a bit might also help..

mvern2
03-19-02, 09:02 PM
i just ordered a volcano 7 heatsink witha tube of arctic silver III and 2 thermaltake 80mm fans to put at the back of my case abouve the psu....it should come in about a week or so....i'll let u guys know when it comes in and i'll post some new pics with everything installed....i'm also gonna try cleasing up my case while i'm at it too!

master7
03-19-02, 09:25 PM
ahh!!! .bmp files!!! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!!

Mark
03-19-02, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by master7
ahh!!! .bmp files!!! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!!

:rotfl: i just noticed that , thank god for broadband.

poptom
03-20-02, 02:16 AM
I don't think adding fans above the shelf are going to do a bit of good. If you can't add one next to the parallel port (even on the outside), you should at least cut an opening there.

You can improve the airflow through the front fan by cutting away the sheet metal in front of it. Better yet use a 92mm fan there.

mvern2
03-20-02, 05:03 PM
what should i clean my processor with (to get all the old thermal paste off) after i take off my old heatsink

mvern2
03-20-02, 05:24 PM
another question...what do u guys use to tye all the cables and everyting in your case with? I was thinking those velcro-straps or something like that.

m4a2t0t
03-20-02, 05:56 PM
use isopropyl alcohol to clean off the old thermal paste.

as for the wires i use wire loom,u can get some zip ties to get them organized

click_here
03-20-02, 07:55 PM
Originally posted by mvern2
another question...what do u guys use to tye all the cables and everyting in your case with? I was thinking those velcro-straps or something like that.
you can get colored "tie raps" from any electronics store,I got some purple ones.along with some fans and some rounded fdd and hdd cables and tie rapping the wires and cables out of the way,my cpu and case temps are nice and low.
you can get a bag od tie raps for a couple $ and rounded ide cables are around $8 and case fanes are 5 to $15.and I also bought some of those little white tie rap mounts with peel off sticky to run the wires clean. :)

http://users.adelphia.net/~onegighz/MVC-001Fcase.JPG

http://users.adelphia.net/~onegighz/MVC-002Fcase.JPG

http://users.adelphia.net/~onegighz/MVC-003Fcase.JPG

http://users.adelphia.net/~onegighz/MVC-006Fcase.JPG

Onethenumber2
03-20-02, 10:23 PM
remember that heat goes up so its better to have exhaust fans at the top if you can. or in the back behind the heatsink you have the right idea

poptom
03-20-02, 10:36 PM
Originally posted by Onethenumber2
remember that heat goes up so its better to have exhaust fans at the top if you can.
Warm air will rise if if it's undisturbed but as soon as you add a fan, it will go wherever the fan directs it.

click_here
03-21-02, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by Onethenumber2
remember that heat goes up so its better to have exhaust fans at the top if you can. or in the back behind the heatsink you have the right idea

yes and also the power supply is usually at the top of most cases and it will exhaust some of the heat also.

mvern2
03-25-02, 03:19 PM
my stuff came in today!!!!:D lol....i just have to wait till 5 pm to pick it up...:mad:....lol....oh well...i probably wont get to it till thursday night cuz of school and work....:S....oh well....:cry:

mvern2
03-25-02, 11:33 PM
i just installed my t extra case fans...and so far so good.....it brought the temp pf my cpu down to 59 celcius full load and it keeps on going lower...i'm gonna install the volcano 7 on thursday...i wanna take my time in doing so....."do it right the first time!"

click_here
03-26-02, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by mvern2
i just installed my t extra case fans...and so far so good.....it brought the temp pf my cpu down to 59 celcius full load and it keeps on going lower...i'm gonna install the volcano 7 on thursday...i wanna take my time in doing so....."do it right the first time!"

see? good job! all the little things help. :)

mvern2
03-26-02, 02:58 PM
:D thanks!!!!:D :2cool:

mvern2
03-26-02, 02:59 PM
do u guys recommend doing that sensor mod for the volcano 7?

Chris
03-26-02, 03:00 PM
Biggest issue is as others have said, clean up the cables for air flow
http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/pc4.bmp
Heres what i did in the server for the power cables and its free too boot......... :)
http://216.183.147.83/server/braid.jpg
http://216.183.147.83/server/inside.jpg

mvern2
03-26-02, 03:23 PM
yeah...i gotta to that too...i got a bunch of ties. I'm gonna give it a try!

http://members.shaw.ca/mvern2/neat.jpg

i'm also gonna try to do that with my ide cables....i'm gonna do it when i get home from work later on 2night...i can't wait till thursday...lol

Mark
03-26-02, 08:26 PM
Originally posted by mvern2
yeah...i gotta to that too...i got a bunch of ties. I'm gonna give it a try!

i'm also gonna try to do that with my ide cables....i'm gonna do it when i get home from work later on 2night...i can't wait till thursday...lol

you can do it , just takes a little time ;)

mvern2
03-27-02, 12:02 AM
well....i installed everything...the volcano 7 is QUIET!!!!!!!!!!!....i can't even hear it...my case fans are louder!

right now...i'm getting about 55 celcius at full load for about 15 min...my mobo temp is 24 celcius...the fan is running at 3214 RPM.

Hows that so far?

mvern2
03-27-02, 12:25 AM
and idle for 15 min its around 51 celcius

click_here
03-30-02, 09:46 AM
it still seems a little high compared to your mobo temp(case temp?)

what thermal material did you use on the cpu/hs ?

because on my boxes,my case temp and cpu temp are always within 10 to 15c of each other.
here is my "overclocked" system right now
http://users.adelphia.net/~onegighz/temps.jpg

mvern2
03-30-02, 12:59 PM
i used Arctic Silver III....maybe i didn't put it on right...this was my first time installing a hs...maybe i should try it again!

limxdul
03-30-02, 07:55 PM
mvern,

try some hdd fans, make sure hdd is right side up and blow up, and keep case open, then, reverse a extra fan and suck that hot air out...

get some plastic tunnels that you can enclose parts of your case in .. that way it almost creates a vaccum with a moderate fan. Antec's and volcanos help alot too.

hope that helps
(if that still doesn't work, ditch the whole damn cooling system, and get a peltier and a water cooling sys for ~ 600/800 dollars.
Quite, and the average temp between cpu/chassis/overall is about 16 C, with extra fans, ~8-12 C

you don't want to stick anything in the case.... u then can proceed to use it as an air conditioner ;) overclock to your demand too. RAID 0, oc hdds, np. :)

BMED
03-30-02, 09:46 PM
mvern2,

If your using ASUS PC Probe, uninstall it and try VCool. PC Probe reads the temps higher than they actually are, so I have read!

Get it her: VCOOL (http://217.110.240.85/vcool/VCool_17.zip) "NT/XP Driver"


Installing VCool
Download the zipped file (~110K)

If you have trouble downloading try the mirrors: Mirror 1
The archive contains the installation executable ("VCool_Install.exe") that you need to unzip and execute (You'll need administrator rights on NT, W2k and XP).
Then the program will take care of the rest: It will ask for a folder to install VCool into and install the vcool.sys driver in your system32 directory.

You can control the VCool starts by using the Command Line Switches when creating a shortcut or when starting VCool from a command prompt.

VCool on W2000 or NT
You'll need to install the vcool.sys driver to make VCool run on these OS (usually this requires that you have administrator rights) - the automated installation should take care of this process - however if you want to do it manually you'll have to download this archive, extract the files and:

Copy vcool.sys (included in the archive VCool_17man.zip) into your system32 folder (e.g. c:\windows\system32)

Extract and run LoadDriver.exe. Enter the full path to vcool.sys, e.g. c:\windows\system32\vcool.sys and click on Install to install the driver.
If this operation was successful start the driver using the Start button - later the driver will start automatically when the system is booted.
If you want to remove the driver (or the installation failed) attempt to stop the service and then click on remove to delete it.
If the installation fails it is most likely due to a mis-typed path, insufficient rights or the fact that giveio is already installed.

vcool.sys contains the functionality of giveio.sys and adds the ability to set the coolbit at system startup.

If you still have trouble installing drop me an email with the error message you get.

http://217.110.240.85/vcool/


Give a try and see if your temps drop, mine were lower by 8c. If it doens't work for you, just uninstall and go back to PC Probe or whatever you're using.

Good luck, BMED

mvern2
03-31-02, 01:08 AM
BMED...those software cooling solutions work but they aren't stable on my pc cuz i only have a 300W power supply...my sound gets all weird on me


limxdul....u got 600-800 bucks for me to get a water colling system....? lol...i wish i did!

click_here
03-31-02, 11:20 AM
Originally posted by mvern2
BMED...those software cooling solutions work but they aren't stable on my pc cuz i only have a 300W power supply...my sound gets all weird on me


limxdul....u got 600-800 bucks for me to get a water colling system....? lol...i wish i did!

I have seen a complete kit at Fry's for $149. :)

mvern2
04-01-02, 11:34 PM
i just reseated my V7 and i've got 47 idle.....50 full load...those temps will probably come down in a few days after the ASIII settles..:D

m4a2t0t
04-02-02, 12:54 AM
Originally posted by mvern2
BMED...those software cooling solutions work but they aren't stable on my pc cuz i only have a 300W power supply...my sound gets all weird on me


limxdul....u got 600-800 bucks for me to get a water colling system....? lol...i wish i did!

u can build a h20 cooled rig for under a hundred bucks

mvern2
04-02-02, 02:55 PM
i've aleady spent 80 bucks on a new h/s and case fans...plus i'm saving for university next year!

mvern2
04-03-02, 03:57 PM
thanks everyone for all your help...i really appreciate!!!