PDA

View Full Version : judge my neatness pls.



YARDofSTUF
01-18-02, 10:59 PM
Ok finished the simple doings in my case, think i got it neat enough but the ide cables were a pain.


La case-a
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/case.JPG


good room for airflow: note teh room teh 1030antec gives :)
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/caseflow.JPG


Hdds set to cool well, top to top:
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/hddrack.JPG

http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/hddrack2.JPG


heres my ide cable mess, only blocks the airflow from the hdds so it isnt too bad, extra ide wire goes under teh floppy drive
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/idemess.JPG


extra wires were electric taped and stuck up here outta the way
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/psuwires.JPG


tt ramheat spreaders on my ram:
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/ttram.JPG

YARDofSTUF
01-18-02, 11:02 PM
the crysal orb and tt ram sink on the mosfets, bit blurry
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/corb.JPG


copper goo i use for most heatsinks:
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/coppergoo.JPG


look just under the 3rd and 4th ram slot and theres a sink on that mosfet(?)
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/rammos.JPG


my bad ass delta
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/delta.JPG


and the badge stuck in teh back :)
http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/backbadge.JPG


nice little blue theme going with my heatsinks lol



so what ya think?

cy
01-18-02, 11:21 PM
Nicely done :)
How much did those rounded IDE cables cost you? cuz i m planning to get some for myself ;)

YARDofSTUF
01-18-02, 11:30 PM
Originally posted by cy
Nicely done :)
How much did those rounded IDE cables cost you? cuz i m planning to get some for myself ;)

thanks

newegg, 4bucks each plus shipping

YARDofSTUF
01-19-02, 02:32 AM
they're 9 bucks, 6 for shipping actually.

anyone got advice on teh ide mess there?

Mark
01-19-02, 02:52 AM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
they're 9 bucks, 6 for shipping actually.

anyone got advice on teh ide mess there?



no expert here but i think you could do better with flat cables and folding them carefully.

YARDofSTUF
01-19-02, 03:35 AM
i saw ur folded cables, i tried, i failed, i ordered rounded ones lol


working on it still.

m4a2t0t
01-19-02, 01:47 PM
looks good

need to do something with the psu wires and ide cables

can u hack off one end of those ide cables to clear up some space?

YARDofSTUF
01-19-02, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by m0a2t4t
looks good

need to do something with the psu wires and ide cables

can u hack off one end of those ide cables to clear up some space?

waiting on wire loom so there out of the way for now

i dont wanna hack teh wires off of the ide cuz i may want need them or something.


this is the improvement, not much, but there not blocking anythign important

http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/DSC00044.JPG

http://www.butta.net/x/yardofstuf/DSC00046.JPG

NuclearHeadache
01-19-02, 05:15 PM
Very nice case dude. Awsome components and full of color.
Must be loud as a mofo though!
Haha, i thought that copper goo stuff was a frozen finger.

Ps: Stop biting your finger nails :D

YARDofSTUF
01-19-02, 05:24 PM
Originally posted by NuclearHeadache
Very nice case dude. Awsome components and full of color.
Must be loud as a mofo though!
Haha, i thought that copper goo stuff was a frozen finger.

Ps: Stop biting your finger nails :D

thanks man, usually bite my fingernails at work, i'll get it caught on somethign and it will have part cut out and i'll bite it off to keep it even and not cutting/hurting

downhill
01-19-02, 07:59 PM
YoS....

You have a ton of room behind those harddrive cages and the back of the case. I routed wire and my IDE cables that way.

I don't have a digital camera or I'd show you what I mean. Just twist your IDE cables to make a loop if you have enough room and slide them behind your cages.

I'm using rounded cables also.

YARDofSTUF
01-19-02, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by downhill
YoS....

You have a ton of room behind those harddrive cages and the back of the case. I routed wire and my IDE cables that way.

I don't have a digital camera or I'd show you what I mean. Just twist your IDE cables to make a loop if you have enough room and slide them behind your cages.

I'm using rounded cables also.

in the latest pic i did that with one, but if i do that with teh others it pulls the plugs out of the hdds, mobo or cdroms.

el bob
01-20-02, 12:38 AM
i would reverse your hdd's and then would route flat ata/100 riboon cables behind teh hdd rack to the mobo

looks sweet as hell

YARDofSTUF
01-20-02, 01:24 AM
Originally posted by el bob
i would reverse your hdd's and then would route flat ata/100 riboon cables behind teh hdd rack to the mobo

looks sweet as hell

by reversing teh hdds i then kill the 80mm cooling solution antec allows me

el bob
01-20-02, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF


by reversing teh hdds i then kill the 80mm cooling solution antec allows me

not necessarily

it will only be a problem if both hdds are on the same ide cable

and then even if they are, all you need to do is a a longer ide cable that has more space inbetween the master/slave ports and then fold the cable across from the first drive to the side of the hdd rack, then down, the fold it again so you can run in below the fan, then fold it again and run it to your drive

i don't have pics of it because i sold the comp that i did it to

Qwijib0
01-20-02, 02:51 PM
nice job :)

My case will never be that neat... I have a video card, NIC, Sound card, and 2 scsi cards in my slots, 3 separate scsi cables, a floppy cable, 5 hard drives, 2 cdroms, 1 floppy, 6 fans (yeah, I went fan happy :p ). Too much stuff... it's very cramped inside my 1030.

YARDofSTUF
01-20-02, 03:29 PM
Originally posted by Qwijib0
nice job :)

My case will never be that neat... I have a video card, NIC, Sound card, and 2 scsi cards in my slots, 3 separate scsi cables, a floppy cable, 5 hard drives, 2 cdroms, 1 floppy, 6 fans (yeah, I went fan happy :p ). Too much stuff... it's very cramped inside my 1030.

i've got that maxtop case, pics on in this forum under "new new case" thread.

its smaller than the 1030 and i'm gonna use it for a future P4, like after the granite bay, gonna go scsi as well :D

gonna be a tight fit, but its ok :)

putting 20 bucks a week aside for the system starting this paycheck


elbob, with that fan mount in the bay i cant fit a vable in there, maybe i'm not understanding u right?

el bob
01-20-02, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF


i've got that maxtop case, pics on in this forum under "new new case" thread.

its smaller than the 1030 and i'm gonna use it for a future P4, like after the granite bay, gonna go scsi as well :D

gonna be a tight fit, but its ok :)

putting 20 bucks a week aside for the system starting this paycheck


elbob, with that fan mount in the bay i cant fit a vable in there, maybe i'm not understanding u right?

hrmmm, its really hard to explain in words

but i dont' have the case to show you

maybe i'll think of something