PDA

View Full Version : how good is a duron



monkeyhead
01-01-02, 01:07 PM
.....how good is a duron, compared to other processors in its class..... regardless of price

HalfLifer
01-01-02, 01:09 PM
A Duron would smoke a Celeron, but with the new Tualatin core, Im not sure. I would definitly say go for a Duron, as they are cheap, run cool, great overclockers and are fast.

freckmoto
01-01-02, 01:11 PM
My duron has served me well, but if price is no object, why not go for dual Athlon MP's?? :D

Freck

monkeyhead
01-01-02, 01:11 PM
its for a ftp server... no gaming on it.;...... yet...... but i need all the cash for the hard drive space

freckmoto
01-01-02, 01:11 PM
Ah I see. I'd say a Duron would be a good FTP server proc.

Freck

monkeyhead
01-01-02, 01:35 PM
now what about this.... .a 1.1 tbird for $99 or a 1.2 duron for $97

MagicMikey
01-01-02, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by HalfLifer
A Duron would smoke a Celeron, but with the new Tualatin core, Im not sure. I would definitly say go for a Duron, as they are cheap, run cool, great overclockers and are fast.

Ya, a Duron would smoke compared to a Celeron... ;)

cy
01-01-02, 02:08 PM
Originally posted by michaelanthony
now what about this.... .a 1.1 tbird for $99 or a 1.2 duron for $97

I think Tbird would be a better choice ;)

freckmoto
01-01-02, 02:14 PM
Easily t-bird.

HalfLifer
01-01-02, 02:28 PM
Duron in that case.

Its got the morgan core.

Cameron203
01-01-02, 02:55 PM
how can you have dual processors is it just with that chip ?????????????

Qwijib0
01-01-02, 02:58 PM
Originally posted by MagicMikey


Ya, a Duron would smoke compared to a Celeron... ;)

I agree, the durons run MUCH hotter...

terrancelam
01-01-02, 04:25 PM
Doesn't the 1.1 T-bird have more on-die L2 cache?

YARDofSTUF
01-01-02, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by Qwijib0


I agree, the durons run MUCH hotter...

lmao


i say between the duron 1.2 on the morgan or the tbird 1.1 with more cache its a tie, if the tbird is 133fsb then go with that tho!

m4a2t0t
01-01-02, 08:35 PM
im planning on buying 1GHz duron for my file server,only $47 at neweeg

Thor Walez
01-02-02, 04:58 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF


lmao


i say between the duron 1.2 on the morgan or the tbird 1.1 with more cache its a tie, if the tbird is 133fsb then go with that tho!

You can easily go @133 fsb with a duron !!!

-Thor

terrancelam
01-02-02, 05:10 PM
the t-bird at 1.1ghz is by default better then the 1.2 Duron. Though the Duron has the latest technology, it's lacking the cache and most likely won't performance as well. Also the pricing is very similar for the two and it's a trade off, both are very hot tempers and the only reason to get the duron over the 1.1gzh T-bird is the pure clock speed for things like gaming.

HalfLifer
01-02-02, 05:44 PM
Get the Duron.

More instructions, morgan core, and will overclock a helluva lot more.

onetrueday
01-02-02, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by terrancelam
the t-bird at 1.1ghz is by default better then the 1.2 Duron. Though the Duron has the latest technology, it's lacking the cache and most likely won't performance as well. Also the pricing is very similar for the two and it's a trade off, both are very hot tempers and the only reason to get the duron over the 1.1gzh T-bird is the pure clock speed for things like gaming.

I have a duron and I agree. The tbird is better and a cache is important enough to support buying a tbird as well.