PDA

View Full Version : Are my RAID scores good?



RoundEye
11-12-01, 07:39 PM
I just done a fresh format/install of XP Pro. It's on a Abit KG7 board with 512 meg's of ram and a 1.3 micro oc'ed to 1.5. I'm using IBM GXP 60's.

The scores seem low to me, are they OK? Since this is the first raid I've had chance to benchmark, I have no reference.

http://server2049.virtualave.net/roundeye/raid1.JPG

terrancelam
11-12-01, 07:49 PM
you dirty monkey! What crazy score!

syncmaster
11-12-01, 07:52 PM
Random Read 7 Megs ??
Random Write 11 megs ??

If this is skors of the RAID setup in general , i do not need that ..

Do not take it personal , i just wonder about it ..

Easto
11-12-01, 08:38 PM
They're comparable with my array. Did you have it set to "bypass windows disk cache" or not.

RoundEye
11-12-01, 09:42 PM
This is with bypass windows disk cache enabled.

The low random scores is what I'm wondering about.

http://server2049.virtualave.net/roundeye/raid2.JPG

Easto
11-12-01, 09:46 PM
I get low readings close to those too! Although they may be correct I would double check them against some other benchmarking program. Although I'm not too concerned by my low scores in this area

HongKongPolice
11-12-01, 11:32 PM
Bench with HDTach, itz the most accurate

terrancelam
11-13-01, 01:04 AM
score
http://terrancelam.homestead.com/files/hd1.jpg

I was running a bunch of progs in the background, so i'll post a more accurate version in the morning. :)

drdoug99
11-13-01, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by terrancelam

I was running a bunch of progs in the background, so i'll post a more accurate version in the morning. :) [/B]

ya, your CPU utilization is a bit high. otherwise, looks excellent. My WD gets about 66-70 read burst speed. 10ms disc acess time.

syncmaster
11-13-01, 06:17 AM
terrancelam

Your skors is fine , if you degrag , you will have a more uniform curve in the skor board .