PDA

View Full Version : ram question



Soldier
11-11-01, 01:13 PM
Would an Abit KG7 support 4 sticks of DDR PC2100 CL=2.5 Unbuffered ECC 2.5V 32Meg x 72 ram?

BaLa
11-11-01, 02:59 PM
how many megs/stick?

doesn't say if there registered, I think on registered RAM it is 4gigs max.
on non-reg it is 1.5 not exactly sure about that though

Soldier
11-11-01, 04:47 PM
4 sticks of 256mb

Mark
11-11-01, 05:21 PM
2gigs is the max with unregistered ram,4 gigs with registered .

i just looked it up in the manual that i got online.

BaLa
11-11-01, 05:23 PM
should work
-wont matter if they're registered or not..

Soldier
11-11-01, 05:36 PM
so i can get 3 sticks of unbuffered ram and it will still work bala?

Joe
11-11-01, 05:45 PM
Abit claims 4 sticks of registered for a total of 4 gigs or 2 sticks of unbuffered for a total of 2 gigs..

now that may be true but I read on a popular review site that they had 4 unbuffered sticks running flawlessly...

Either way I played it safe and purchase registered simply because I WANT to fill up all four dimms!

BaLa
11-11-01, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by Soldier
so i can get 3 sticks of unbuffered ram and it will still work bala?
yes
and I did the same thing as Ping.....
eventually I will fill em all up.. :D

Soldier
11-11-01, 06:47 PM
Ok, thanks for your help guys il be buying 3 sticks of 256MB registered ram from crucial ^_^