PDA

View Full Version : Can't get KG7 Raid to boot to CD-ROM......



RoundEye
11-10-01, 09:23 PM
.... I'm trying to install a fresh copy of WinXP Pro. I did an upgrade from Win98SE before.

Every time I try to boot to the cd, I get a Missing Operating Operating System error.

Isn't WinXP bootable from cd?

WTF am I overlooking? I don't get pissed at my computer too often. BUT I AM NOW!!

All I wanted to do was a fresh install and it's turned into a fu@king ordeal that I'm not ready for right now.

syncmaster
11-10-01, 09:28 PM
I think that your XP copy comes from the WAREZ boys .

So if it does , you will not see any joy :)

Brent
11-10-01, 09:29 PM
im not sure, but i think if you buy xp it does boot

but like sync says if you have burned it onto cd from downloading it, even the corp version, it won't boot....

I have to use a bootdisk

RoundEye
11-10-01, 09:39 PM
It's a copy, but not a warez copy. I got it straight off of the disk sent from Microsoft. The program we are in at work lets us legally us ten copies of it (I think).

Wll the boot disk still let me set up the RAID properly? I also downloaded the bootdisk from Microsoft.

WinXP Pro Boot Disk (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?releaseid=33291).

WinXP Home Boot Disk (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?releaseid=33290).

Just in case anybody else needs them.

Brent
11-10-01, 09:47 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
It's a copy, but not a warez copy. I got it straight off of the disk sent from Microsoft. The program we are in at work lets us legally us ten copies of it (I think).

Wll the boot disk still let me set up the RAID properly? I also downloaded the bootdisk from Microsoft.

WinXP Pro Boot Disk (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?releaseid=33291).

WinXP Home Boot Disk (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?releaseid=33290).

Just in case anybody else needs them.

Hmm, that I dont' know

The copy i have is from a direct rip of the pro corp version, BUT i cannot boot from the cd, which makes things harder... i'm trying to get a direct copy of it from cd to cd, but if you say that's what you have and it won't boot, then i am just as confused as you are...

and thanks for those links, I needed a real xp bootdisk, i was using an old 98 one....

Joe
11-11-01, 12:10 AM
Originally posted by RoundEye
It's a copy, but not a warez copy. I got it straight off of the disk sent from Microsoft. The program we are in at work lets us legally us ten copies of it (I think).

Wll the boot disk still let me set up the RAID properly? I also downloaded the bootdisk from Microsoft.

WinXP Pro Boot Disk (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?releaseid=33291).

WinXP Home Boot Disk (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?releaseid=33290).

Just in case anybody else needs them.

You dont need to set up RAID at install. (assuming its the same as Win 2K)

I installed mine after using the hot rod drivers floppy that came with my KG7.

And have you set the CD drive as the first boot device in bios?

Brent
11-11-01, 12:18 AM
you setup the RAID in the bios of the raid controller

if it's the High Point one on the KG7 you hig Ctrl-H when that blue screen comes up, and that's where you setup the RAID with clean hard drives, not partitioned yet i think... though i haven't done it myself before.....

RoundEye
11-11-01, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by Brent
.....and thanks for those links, I needed a real xp bootdisk, i was using an old 98 one....

No problem, that's why I posted them.

I got it to install with the boot disk.

Ping, I thought I had to set up the raid first since it was in the bios and is hardware raid. How do you set up the raid afterwards with out losing the data?

Next time I burn a disk, I'm gonna put the boot disk files on it.