PDA

View Full Version : help me install a dvd rom on an IBM machine por favor!



YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 11:59 AM
ok i815 mobo dunno what one, power supply is like all hidden so i'm gonna get a Y adapter and split it off the other cd rom, but where on the mobo do i plug in teh sound cable? i have no manual and can give u no more info than this cuz the comp is liek 42 miles away lol

blebs
11-10-01, 12:25 PM
Integrated sound on the motherboard?
I'm probably no help, but mine goes from the DVD to Sound Card.
<Yard says, "Yeah, I know that already!">
<Blebs runs for cover>
:(

MagicMikey
11-10-01, 12:28 PM
It usually plugs into the sound card....are you using on-board audio...? ;)

EDIT: awwww, I knew it.... ;)

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 12:33 PM
yes its onboard, oh wait lemme think, whats a soundcard?

ya i dunno where the damn ONBOARD plug for it is :D

RoundEye
11-10-01, 12:43 PM
What op-sys?

If it's Win2K or WinXP, you don't need the audio cable.

Just go into the properties of the cd-rom and enable digital audio out.

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
What op-sys?

If it's Win2K or WinXP, you don't need the audio cable.

Just go into the properties of the cd-rom and enable digital audio out.

winME

RoundEye
11-10-01, 12:55 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF


winME

I'm not certain but WinMe may have digital out too. Go into Device Manager and check.

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye


I'm not certain but WinMe may have digital out too. Go into Device Manager and check.
device manager is 42 miles away lol

NuclearHeadache
11-10-01, 01:08 PM
Most soundcards have 3 ports for a similar cable. So do mother boards with onboard sound. My IBM is integrated and it has 3 ports for that cable. The cable is split just like you wanted to do. It connects the CD Rom and DVD Rom to the same port. So these ports should be labeled. Mine was labeled CD another was AUX and the other I don't really remember.\

These ports should be just above the PCI slots.

NuclearHeadache
11-10-01, 01:44 PM
http://www.vi2.com/maxForumFiles/18_untitled.bmp

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 02:02 PM
thanks nuc!

NuclearHeadache
11-10-01, 02:07 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
thanks nuc!

Are you being sarcastic Yard?
How can a man of your stature not know that?
I must be the only person left on the planet that has a computer with onboard sound :(
Well my newer comp has a souncard :D
Anyways NP ;)

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by NuclearHeadache


Are you being sarcastic Yard?
How can a man of your stature not know that?
I must be the only person left on the planet that has a computer with onboard sound :(
Well my newer comp has a souncard :D
Anyways NP ;)

no i'm serious, i couldnt find it and theres a pig hunk of metal over the PSU and heatsink so its hard to snoop around, so thats about all i wanted to know :D

MartialArtist12
11-10-01, 06:23 PM
I have those too, but that's if you have an AC'97 sound card or something like that.

NuclearHeadache
11-10-01, 07:42 PM
Originally posted by MartialArtist12
I have those too, but that's if you have an AC'97 sound card or something like that.

Huh?

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 09:17 PM
Originally posted by NuclearHeadache


Huh?

no clue