PDA

View Full Version : Considering Buying a new 40gig



terrancelam
11-10-01, 03:56 AM
HD, any recommendations? I'm most likely gonna go for the Maxtor 7200rpm one, cost about $165CAD and $189 w/tax.

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 03:59 AM
Originally posted by terrancelam
recommend dations?

pure bred canadain eh?


MAXTOR 6L040J2 DIAMONDMAX PLUS D740X 40GB HDD EIDE ATA133, 7200RPM, 2MB Cache Buffer

thats my next 2 HDDs

terrancelam
11-10-01, 04:01 AM
4 am in Toronto, I should be in bed. Talk to you all tomorrow! :)

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 04:02 AM
Originally posted by terrancelam
4 am in Toronto, I should be in bed. Talk to you all tomorrow! :)

its 4 am here too :p

onetrueday
11-10-01, 04:22 AM
Hi!! It's 4am here too! That's simply amazing. I thought you needed the proper inferface card to run the maxtor at ata133 though. I suppose if the cost isnt more, then it's perfect though!!

NuclearHeadache
11-10-01, 04:39 AM
Haven't had much experience with HDD yet but I'd take my WD over my MAX any day. The Maxtor caused so many headaches. I say, just because it worth a bit more it don't mean it's any better than a HDD that's 20 bucks cheaper. I personally like Maxtors diagnostic disk way better than WD.
Happy shopping
:D

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 04:53 AM
OTD its like 90 bucks american for that maxtor, good price and good drive.

HDD brands i like:

Maxtor, IBM, Seagate

onetrueday
11-10-01, 05:09 AM
yahoo, YARDofSTUF!! I hadnt know it would be so cheap. I knew they were giving away the tech. for free, but it's good to see they didnt make those drives more expensive. So, even if I cant use it now... it's certainly worth the price if i'm buying a new hard drive anyway.

BroncoSport
11-10-01, 12:56 PM
On a side note.....

The Screen Savers did a little tidbit on the new ATA133 drives (they had a Matxtor with its own controller card) and they brought up a interesting point. ATA133 means that the interface is capible of 133 MBps but even fastest drives around (including the ATA100's) usually only burst at 35 to 50 MBps and thier sustained transfer rates are a lot lower than that. From my standpoint anything over ATA 66 is not being made use of and you would not see any diffence between an ATA 100 drive on a ATA 66 or and ATA 133 interface.

Please someone correct me if this thought is off.

BTW I have 2 ATA 100 drives running on ATA66 and the HD Tach results are as follows:

WD 40 GB ATA 100 (on ata 66) 13.7 ms 37.2 mbps Burst
IBM 30 GB ATA 100 (on ata 66) 12.9 ms 38.1 mbps


i dunno.......

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 01:02 PM
bronco are ur drivers 5400 or 7200 rpm, i know its not a real 33megs a sec gain but usually there is a little gain and if not, its a new maxtor for 90 bucks! lol

BroncoSport
11-10-01, 10:23 PM
Yeah mine are 7200 rpm ATA 100 drives running on ATA 66 motherboard controller, but like you said for $90 bucks why not. Is that the drive and the controller card for $90 or just the drive?

syncmaster
11-10-01, 10:42 PM
I really liked this IBM XGP60 , they are nice , fast ,and they not make noise like some others .

I will say if you have some time , think it over .
At list this version of IBM drives its tested , and they have show to be fine drives .

YARDofSTUF
11-10-01, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by syncmaster
I really liked this IBM XGP60 , they are nice , fast ,and they not make noise like some others .

I will say if you have some time , think it over .
At list this version of IBM drives its tested , and they have show to be fine drives .

yes those drives are very nice!

terrancelam
11-10-01, 11:55 PM
under the 60GXP flagship? I'm Not sure, the price on that one is OUCH! $180!

terrancelam
11-10-01, 11:58 PM
other then putting the jumper to slave on the HD when I'm installing it and checking to see if it's recognized in the bios, any other tips or things I should know?

terrancelam
11-12-01, 12:13 AM
Any one?

BaLa
11-12-01, 12:44 AM
Originally posted by terrancelam
other then putting the jumper to slave on the HD when I'm installing it and checking to see if it's recognized in the bios, any other tips or things I should know?
the great one asks a question ???? :eek:
:p

I've done a number of HD installs and it's about one of the easiest things to do..
IF it is recognized by the bios
and
IF the jumper is not BAD

terrancelam
11-12-01, 01:35 AM
HAHAHAH I'm the farthest thing from that I think! :)

But it always pays off to do alittle background and leg work before buying into a new piece of equipment, lots of new things you might learn you didn't know before!

brembo
11-12-01, 02:12 AM
If ya get a maxtor, for gods sake don't let it install ez-bios. I one helluva time excising that demon from my comp. I don't thinl it does anything all that bad, but if yer gonna boot from a floppy, it does EVIL EVIL EVIL things.

What I would do, now that I know what nastiess lurks on the maxtor software package, is drop that puppy in the box, fire it up and see if ya can fdisk it from dos. I dunno if that'll work or not. Worth a try I guess. I have a Fireball and a regular 7200 rpm HDD in this machine. Can't really tell a difference when just screwin around, but when I apply the pressure, big rips or something, the fireball shines.

Oh... the software maxtor will so graciously give ya is called MaxBlast, be afraid, very afraid.

BaLa
11-12-01, 02:20 AM
Originally posted by brembo
If ya get a maxtor, for gods sake don't let it install ez-bios. I one helluva time excising that demon from my comp. I don't thinl it does anything all that bad, but if yer gonna boot from a floppy, it does EVIL EVIL EVIL things.

What I would do, now that I know what nastiess lurks on the maxtor software package, is drop that puppy in the box, fire it up and see if ya can fdisk it from dos. I dunno if that'll work or not. Worth a try I guess. I have a Fireball and a regular 7200 rpm HDD in this machine. Can't really tell a difference when just screwin around, but when I apply the pressure, big rips or something, the fireball shines.

Oh... the software maxtor will so graciously give ya is called MaxBlast, be afraid, very afraid.
used it on an OLD comp once, with a 2gig HD worked flawlessly..
but nowadays I don't think you'd need that..

terrancelam
11-12-01, 03:37 PM
Just got a 30gig HD from Quantum instead, about $35 bucks cheaper and damn is it good!

FDISKed it and formatted it clean! Guess I didn't need to know anything for installing it, it was easy :)

One last thing though, anyone hear anything bad about the Quantum hds?

terrancelam
11-12-01, 03:42 PM
with the conversion from bites to bytes, do you really lose 2 gigs from 30gb-28GB?

HalfLifer
11-12-01, 03:56 PM
IBM 60GXP 40gig 7200RPM, 107$ total w/shipping from newegg. Fast drive, and quiet!

YARDofSTUF
11-12-01, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by BroncoSport
Yeah mine are 7200 rpm ATA 100 drives running on ATA 66 motherboard controller, but like you said for $90 bucks why not. Is that the drive and the controller card for $90 or just the drive?
no just the drive dont need the controller card, new abit board has ata 133

master7
11-12-01, 05:06 PM
Get a Maxtor of course - they're the best!

terrancelam
11-12-01, 06:31 PM
I just exchanged the Quantum for the IBM, $37 more buck, but so far, much more worth it!

The fricken drive was not only loud, but ****ty as hell! The performance was sooo not on par, it wasn't funny.

terrancelam
11-12-01, 08:52 PM
Holy geez, the 40gb IBM is working like a charm!

I whole heartedly recommed the 60GXP 40gb IBm to anyone who wants a new HD! It does get a bit hot when used constantly for capturing video, but other then that, it's fairly cool!

syncmaster
11-12-01, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by terrancelam
Holy geez, the 40gb IBM is working like a charm!

I whole heartedly recommed the 60GXP 40gb IBm to anyone who wants a new HD! It does get a bit hot when used constantly for capturing video, but other then that, it's fairly cool!

You need the TALIBANS to bomb your head ...

Wen we all was SCREAMING here about the IBMs , you was doing your own ...

Now you recoment them .. :p :p :p :p :p :p :p :p

terrancelam
11-12-01, 09:38 PM
my motto, "Don't believe untill you see it! :)"

syncmaster
11-12-01, 09:42 PM
By your motto , WE HAVE TO CLOSE DOWN THE BBS ...

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :

terrancelam
11-12-01, 09:49 PM
true true, but the IBM 60GXP is a good series. ahh I admit. :)