PDA

View Full Version : Socket A Mobos



BaLa
11-04-01, 06:48 PM
I will build a comp for a friend of my dad soon.
I have not talked to him yet, but most likely I will put a 1ghz + athlon in it..

I'm looking for cheaper boards, I don't want a POS mobo.
I just don't want to spend a lot of money on his mobo..

SDRAM or DDR doesn't matter really, as from what I've heard the diff is marginal (bench)..
the mobo doesn't really need any extra features such as RAID and those type of things...

I was thinking about Abit KT7a which is $90 @ Newegg.com

smaier69
11-04-01, 06:53 PM
whats you ideal price range?

the KT7A has been out for long enough to get a lot of the bugs worked out. or maybe a A7V133 or someting. the KT7A can probably be had for $100 if you look around. maybe less.

BTW, where's ft. leonard wood? i grew up in columbia, mo.

BaLa
11-04-01, 06:55 PM
http://www.mapquest.com/cgi-bin/ia_find?link=btwn/twn-map_results&zoom_out=1&uid=ucy7vbn9x9g9v2vd:t09yys90r&aphoto=0&SNVData=3mad3-0.fy%28atalr7_%29fan9uy%3bah7-%3d%3aUI%14J%2bCJBL%13%14Q%2b%14XB%15_TB%280dwtx%3dGG_lztx56%28.h02n9r%28l%241w-u.wf7%3bxcx5sf7.grfe%7cs&pcat=
FLW, is betwen Springfield and ST. Louis (I44) about 1/2 way

like I said I haven't talked to the guy yet, but my guess is $1000 for everything..dunno if that would include the monitor or not..

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 06:59 PM
its in missouri (sp)


get a gigabyte GA-7VTX-H its ddr and has lan, sound, and the dual bios thing built in, good board and only 120 bucks at newegg or the EPOX EP-8KHA+ both about the sme price but teh epox has no lan built in.

BaLa
11-04-01, 07:01 PM
Yard I removed MO cause it was screwing up my Genes Designed

anywho, for $120 I'd get the KG7
I was thinking more along the lines of $0-$100

smaier69
11-04-01, 07:03 PM
hmm.... well, a cheapo new/warranteed monitor can be had for $100 to $120 cut into your "labor fee fund", or make a real difference in what mainboards you have as an option. without a monitor in the equasion, you could easily make a slick system for $1000. maybe no 60+GB HDD or GF3 or Mushkin Rev 3, but a nice fast system with good quality hardware. and without making too many compoimises. with a monitor as an expense, something would have to be squashed.

at any rate, its definitely doable for that amount.

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 07:03 PM
Originally posted by BaLa
Yard I removed MO cause it was screwing up my Genes Designed

anywho, for $120 I'd get the KG7
I was thinking more along the lines of $0-$100

well teh 266a ddr chipset performs very well!!!

the epox is 107 on newegg.

BaLa
11-04-01, 07:16 PM
like I said I haven't even talked to him
hehe
so he might even want to spend $3000 I doubt it though lol...

so really I don't know
I was just going to look at some mobos and stuff now, so that I'm ready for when I do talk to him..

I was planning on making up a sheet of paper with all the prices and stuff...

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 07:18 PM
the gigabyte GA-7VTX-E is 100 bucks the the gigabyte GA-7VTX-H without 10/100 lan

BaLa
11-04-01, 08:31 PM
this is what I've come up with so far..

Giga Byte GA-7VTXE $99
Maxtor 30gig 7200RPM $86
Crucial 1x256mb DDR PC2100 $31.49
SONY 52X MAX $28
??????????????????
Mitsumi 3_1/2 FD $9
GUILLEMOT HERCULES 3D
PROPHET KYRO II 4500 64MB $86
Creative Modem Blaster
V.90 PCI 56k Modem $18
Keytronic $8
Logitech S48a $6
O/S (?) MS Windows ME $91
Proccessor
AMD 1500+ Athlon XP 1500+ $130
1.33ghz Boxed



$592.49


Monitor/Speakers/Case missing.
shipping is not included in any of the items..

Win ME SUX, I think so too...but lots of ppls like it..
unless he wants XP :o
most prices are from NewEgg..


what kind of case should I get for something like this?

terrancelam
11-04-01, 09:18 PM
I would go with the KT7A over the Gigabyte board and if you can get your hands on it, Win98SE.
As for the soundcard, SB PCI 128.
Any midtower ATX that doesn't position the PSU over the HS/F of the CPU is fine.

BaLa
11-04-01, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by terrancelam
I would go with the KT7A over the

why?

BaLa
11-05-01, 02:32 PM
^^bump^^

terrancelam
11-05-01, 04:55 PM
because of Abit's Softmenu 3 and the fact that SD-ram is cheaper. BUt the KT266a is a performance chipset. On a gigabyte board..err, haven't heard too many good things about that company. it's a shoot off. It's only $99 for the board retail? or oem?