PDA

View Full Version : chipset heatsinks?



YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 07:18 PM
like no fans, just eh heatsink for a GPU or north bridge. looking for the biggest and best!

thanks

m4a2t0t
11-03-01, 07:22 PM
me wants to know too
im using a orb on my northgate right now.

how bout a waterblock?

YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 07:39 PM
i was thikning of using a cpu heatsink and using a thermal adhesive to keep it on.

m4a2t0t
11-03-01, 07:43 PM
what board is this going on,ur new sys?
i used thermal adhesive to attach mine,just barely fit on my kt7a had to remove 1 fin on the orb.
member to dilute ur adhesive if u want the heatsink back

m4a2t0t
11-03-01, 08:19 PM
heres a nice sized onehttp://www.subzeropc.com/store/486hs.htm

YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 09:01 PM
ya my kt7a has a blue orb on it, didnt need to remove a fin though, thats nice but i'm looking more for copper :) though i may use a pentium pro cpu cooler.

this will be for my new system with unknown mobo so far.

m4a2t0t
11-03-01, 09:10 PM
i hada to remove the find cause my heatsink is too big


i thought u were planning to watercool

YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by m0a2t4t
i hada to remove the find cause my heatsink is too big


i thought u were planning to watercool


thats later on and not gonna be on teh board i buy now

buying a mobo now cuz my kt7a wont support a XP processor

colour
11-03-01, 10:13 PM
http://2cooltek.safeshopper.com/51/277.htm?835

m4a2t0t
11-03-01, 10:40 PM
Originally posted by colour
http://2cooltek.safeshopper.com/51/277.htm?835

OMG ive been looking for that heatsink everywhere

thanks:)

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 08:58 AM
Originally posted by colour
http://2cooltek.safeshopper.com/51/277.htm?835

very nice but its 37 x 37, do u know of any plain copper heatsinks or whats ur opinion on samml cpu cooler for the north bridge? waste of cash?

syncmaster
11-04-01, 10:22 AM
The best ,and oldest solution ,is to found one heatsing from one 486 , and if you are lucky the fan will still work :)

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by syncmaster
The best ,and oldest solution ,is to found one heatsing from one 486 , and if you are lucky the fan will still work :)

are u serious cuz i have one at my grandmothers from my uncles old PC, what makes it the best though?

el bob
11-04-01, 02:40 PM
I think he is saying its the best because its FREE :D

syncmaster
11-04-01, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF


are u serious cuz i have one at my grandmothers from my uncles old PC, what makes it the best though?

The size at first , and then the posibility of having one litle fan on it .

The cost comes last , first comes the usability .

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 06:10 PM
still trying to find some copper ones

Thor Walez
11-04-01, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by colour
http://2cooltek.safeshopper.com/51/277.htm?835

Do they ship to Germany ????

-Thor

smaier69
11-04-01, 06:55 PM
nah... forget a fancy chipset HSF. just superglue an icecube to the Northbridge and you will be oh-tay.

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by smaier69
nah... forget a fancy chipset HSF. just superglue an icecube to the Northbridge and you will be oh-tay.

what about taping water?

smaier69
11-04-01, 07:08 PM
hmmm.... that might work. i have heard of people being able to modify the adhesive on duct tape so it can stick to water. i think they were using 3M brand. never tried it myself.

i would stick with the superglue (or maybe some AS adhesive). that should do the trick.

YARDofSTUF
11-04-01, 07:12 PM
thinking of the vantec on this page, should be good overkill:

http://www.coolerguys.com/cpucool/ppro.shtml

smaier69
11-04-01, 07:23 PM
BTW, i was kidding. i am sure (or at least hope you are) you know this :p .

BTW, i will be in Farmington this week. if you dont have anything better to do on Fri night, or Saturday day or evening, lemme know.

colour
11-04-01, 10:11 PM
those are 60mm, do you have room?

my board does not have room for a hsf that large.

Thor Walez
11-05-01, 11:12 AM
Thank you for your answers ...

YARDofSTUF
11-05-01, 07:34 PM
Originally posted by Thor Walez
Thank you for your answers ...

dont know, i would suggest sending them an email

colour
11-05-01, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by Thor Walez


Do they ship to Germany ????

-Thor

http://2cooltek.safeshopper.com/about.htm?47#shippingp

"Overseas orders will be adjusted for shipping via Fedex economy, with 1-3 week delivery time. Faster delivery is possible, but you must contact me for rate quote."

Thor Walez
11-06-01, 01:45 AM
Thank you all very much *ordering*

-Thor

BaLa
11-06-01, 01:54 AM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF

buying a mobo now cuz my kt7a wont support a XP processor
kt7a NO support Athlon XPs?

smaier69
11-06-01, 02:52 AM
pretty sure the newest hardware rev# of the KT7A has XP support. i believe if you have rev1.2 or before, you are out of luck. pretty sure its 1.2 or before... i hate rev#s.

YARDofSTUF
11-06-01, 08:48 AM
rev 1.0 to 1.2 will not support athlon XPs, rev 1.3 will

but thats ok, the KR7A supports them ahhhhhhhhhhhh!