PDA

View Full Version : i got power but want moreeee!!

ralphie13
11-03-01, 07:01 AM
i just bought a 1.8 xp amd and a msi pro 2 via 266a now they say i can overclock from the bios but i am new to this can someone tell me how to do it and what setting i should make it i dont want to fry the **** but can i get to 2.0 thank u....

YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 07:34 AM
first off u dont have a 1.8 xp u have an athlonXP1800 which is clocked at 1.53 ghz, 2.0 pretty tough for the msi with air cooling!!! lol

now what is ur heatsink and case cooling liek and what is ur ram rated at, example is it pc133 cas or c l 2?

and what wattage powersupply?

answer those and we can begin ur journey :)

u should be able to hit the 1.7 or 1.8 ghz range provided u have nothign holding it back

KANO
11-03-01, 11:16 AM
HEY JOHN PLEASE LEAVE THIS FORUM THEN :)

el bob
11-03-01, 11:27 AM
I think John said that because he perceived this guy as a newbie and he didn't think that the guy would be able to successfully overclock at this point without seriously damaging his stuff.

KANO
11-03-01, 01:16 PM
ya i know he thought that, was just having a j/k with him.

YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 02:21 PM
thats why we gotta teach him first, then he can overclock

gertvanjoe
11-03-01, 03:25 PM
Ralphie . Don't listen to John :)

I say everybody with comon sense and the abiltity to change jumpers / dip's or press del can overclock

Jst remeber . You can lose your cpu
Don't take to big leaps at 1 time and I think you'll be fine

I never worked with a XP so I don;t know how they oc . Someone take it from here

YARDofSTUF
11-03-01, 05:28 PM
well he can still OC the fsb. but yes teh unlocking process is tough, ocz is gonna take about a week to unlock my XP cuz its so difficult.

drdoug99
11-03-01, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
well he can still OC the fsb. but yes teh unlocking process is tough, ocz is gonna take about a week to unlock my XP cuz its so difficult.

dang, that's a long time.....