PDA

View Full Version : Should I or shouldn't I...

Epyon
11-02-01, 06:18 PM
Should I or shouldn't I try to install my new pci video card? Btw, I've never done it before.

Banshee
11-02-01, 06:29 PM
lol, well whats the point of having a new vid card if your not gonna install it? :p

Its real easy, just pop it in.

You are going to have to use a little force to get it in, so don't be afraid to push it a little. But if it feels likes its going to break, don't push so hard! :D :p

el bob
11-02-01, 06:51 PM
make sure to ground yourself

Epyon
11-02-01, 06:58 PM
I never really opened my pc before, can you post a pic of where to install the card? Also, how should I ground myself?Is wearing shoes enough?

drdoug99
11-02-01, 07:18 PM
wearing shoes enough....unless your shoes have a rubber sole, and your on a metal floor, I dont think it will...

check this out....

http://www.buildpc.net/

what you need to do, is just have a philips screwdriver. hopefully a few other tools, flathead screwdriver, tweezers, that's basically it.

Locate your screws on teh case. take off all screws, remove the case.

then you'll see the guts of your computer.

look for the PCI slot....first off, are you sure your computer even has an extra slot free? you may need to take out your previous video card and replace it with your new one.

here's a pic on what to look for.

http://www.tech-advice.freeserve.co.uk/isa.jpg

but it's extremely easy....I went from knowing nothing about the insides of a computer, to building my own in like 5 months.

YARDofSTUF
11-02-01, 07:18 PM
no pics but unplug the powersupply chord in the back, then open case touch metal case a bit to remove static from u then plug the card into one of the white slots, top one is best. plug the monitor into the new vid card and reconnect everythign and install the drivers when ya boot and tada u gots a card!

Epyon
11-02-01, 07:21 PM
Yes, my pc has 1 free pci slot, also my pc has a removeable side pannel.

YARDofSTUF