PDA

View Full Version : ATTENTION!: YoS building intel system need opinions!



YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 10:23 AM
North Bridge
Chipset Name:
Intel 850 (KC82850)
Manufacturer: Intel
AGP FSB: 4X 1.5 V only
CPU Type: 423/478 Pin P4
CPU FSB: 400 (100)
Memory Type: RAMBUS
Memory FSB: 700/800
Max Memory: 2.0G
Sourth Bridge

Chipset Name:
82801BA (ICH2)
Manufacturer:
Intel
Number Of USB: 4
Version Of USB: 1.1
Support IDE Data: ATA 33/66/100
AMR/CNR/ACR* : CNR


i'm thinking P4 and thats the i850, is intel good for bios options or should i go abit asus?

this is for my dad but i mean hell why not get him a nice one, i trashed his i810, well not directly.

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 10:32 AM
hmmmmmmm can i lower the multiplier if its locked or is it locked both ways?

GIGABYTE MB i850 6P1A4RIMM GA-8ITX ATX MOTHERBOARD - OEM Socket 478 for Intel® Micro FC-PGA2 Pentium® 4 processor. Supports1.5GHz~2.0GHz or faster. 400MHz FSB(standard) and support (100~133.33) x 4 MHz 10 scales FSB setting from BIOS. Supports CPU multiplier: 8,9...24 setting from BIOS


that looks nice

colour
10-27-01, 10:56 AM
http://www.cpu3d.com/Reviews/Review.asp?ReviewID=12&Page=Intro

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by colour
http://www.cpu3d.com/Reviews/Review.asp?ReviewID=12&Page=Intro

not really looking at sdram boards

HongKongPolice
10-27-01, 12:29 PM
Why P4??!?? omg.....

the_mp3_refuge
10-27-01, 12:54 PM
The P4 is really starting to show its full power at the Higher MHZ speeds. The 1.3 to 1.6Ghz range I think did nothing for the P4. Like buying a corvet and only doing 20 in it all the time. Now that Intel is using their muscle to really bring up the clock speeds. AMD is also trying to do this but one problem they have is heat. Now I hear rumors that they're chips can take (again a rumor) 95C!!!!! That's is like a megar 10F away from boiling temps. That's insane. What does a 2Ghz P4 run at? Like 45C or even lower with non-retail HSF? Well anyway the P4 is like a butterfly I guess... It starts out as a misleading Catapillar but in the end is a beautiful buterfly.

bob

terrancelam
10-27-01, 01:11 PM
Definately get a P4 socket 478 version and etc mobo. Hmm If you can find a mobo with USB 2.0 (Just heard about, sound very good). This I what I could be looking as if I built a system for my father:

CPU: P4 1.6ghz ($289CAD, S 478)
Mobo:Asus P4T-E($283CAD)
Ram:256mb of RDram($152CAD, The reason I say 256mb is because that is quickly becoming the standard and if you plan on using XP on it later on, this would be a good option.)
Sound:Has on-board($0,If He really needs one, I'd say go with the SB PCI 128,cheap and works well.)
AGP Videocard:Just get him a Geforce 2 MX-200 or 400, whatever is cheaper (with the tv out, for those time you might feel kooky.BTW I have the Abit Siluro 64mb MX-400 in mind.$132CAD)
DvD: Is an option. But up to your budget.
CD-RW:eehhh, most be something for yourself. If he really downloads alotta pr0n then of course you gotta get him one. :)
HD: A 20 gig Maxtor 5400 should do him. Most parents don't ever know what to do with 1 gig of space!

terrancelam
10-27-01, 01:12 PM
AMD T-bird start melting apart at 70C, so I don't think they can reach 95C.

BaLa
10-27-01, 01:23 PM
If you must get a P4 :sigh: get a DDR board
PC World did a comparison in the last issue, and DDR won...
plus it's actually a bit cheaper..

terrancelam
10-27-01, 01:39 PM
well, depends on when he's going to get his system. A DDR P4 board doesn't look like it's coming any time soon with all the legal battles occuring. But depends when YOS builds this for his dad.

BaLa
10-27-01, 01:46 PM
oh, they're not out yet...
I was under the impression that they were...
oh well....

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 03:35 PM
actually i have re thought this and plan on a P3 system now maybe.


colour explain how its starting to shine pls

terrancelam
10-27-01, 05:17 PM
as in tualtin or old coppermine?

Qwijib0
10-27-01, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
actually i have re thought this and plan on a P3 system now maybe.


colour explain how its starting to shine pls

PIII... go tualatin on an Iwill BD133.

You COULD go with a 3rd party DDR chipset, but tests show that DDR doesn't really help the PIII since it's a 133mhz bus chip. Plus, what you lose in performace you make up in stability with an intel chipset.

Brent
10-27-01, 06:08 PM
AMD knows that Mhz are not the whole story to cpu speed

Intel however is pushing that Mhz mean everything, which is wrong.....

AMD had to make thier XP naming architecture like 1800+ or else people will never buy AMD cause they only look at Mhz

IPC is a better representation of CPU performance, and the Athlon has a higher IPC then a P4

but amd cpu's do get hotter then intels, and the more heat is a problem, hope amd can work it out....

true facts

KANO
10-27-01, 06:25 PM
athlons rule but heat is a problem.

syncmaster
10-27-01, 06:34 PM
The true fact is that from Intels PIIIs 650 to 1000 to P4 1400 or1800 or Athlon or thunderbirds the diference in reall horse power is minimal .

To prove my statement , i will add one question .

In MP3s the PIII 1000 needs 10 seconds to make the encoding of 3.8 megs song .

Post your own skores with P4s and AMD CPUS so by the comparison we will find the reall truth .

Brent
10-27-01, 06:42 PM
encoding isn't all i do with my pc though

you have to realize people do other things with their pc who might require the power

a good friend of mine does video editing, and he encodes into DIVX and MPEG-4 and stuff so for him he needs the fastest there is.... he doesn't have the money for it, but none the less it shows there are people who need the power...

i myself play games, and I'm always wanting the fastest thing, it's the tweaker in me hehehe, plus i do benchmarks and testing on stuff everyday, i need the latest systems and stuffs

syncmaster
10-27-01, 07:12 PM
Ok this is your personal point of view .

My point of view is diferent .
I update my system only if the technology is giving to me real 100% performance above my previews system .

Thats why i stick to my Oced 300A Celeron for 2 years.

The performanse of the PIIIs at any speed from 650 to 1000 its almost the same .

In benchmarks the scores are playing with only fiew points from the slower until the faster one ..

Its not a good thing to passing the idea to the others that one P4 2G or the Athlon 1800 XP ( 1530 MHz) , its a dream or something really spesial over the CPUS that run at 1000 MHz .

There is no such of thing out there , at list not so far .

I strongly believe that the power of the PIII at 1000 will be double only if the technology move at speeds like 3 GHz .

As example i am taking the Celeron 300A in comparison with the PIII at 1000 .
From the one CPU to the other i have really see double performance .

At the bottom line it is not normal the PIII 1000 to kill in the benchmarks the P4 at 1200 , and to comes in almost equal in skors with the P4 1400 .

This fairy tail about the MHz and the skors its no good to be supported , spesialy from people that they have some reall knowlege in hardware .

YARDofSTUF
10-28-01, 05:08 AM
sorry to keep changing my mind every few mins but heres what i am looking for:

intel chipset

bios control of cpu fsb and multiplier

suppoerting celeron 566 and 10mhz fsb or 133

around a hundred bucks

i saw an abit st6? i think for 90ish that i thought does most of that but the right up was unclear, tiger, stonecat, qwijibo? u guys are the INTELigence ppl right? :D

NuclearHeadache
10-28-01, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by terrancelam
AMD T-bird start melting apart at 70C, so I don't think they can reach 95C.

:eek: eek :eek:

YARDofSTUF
10-28-01, 10:35 AM
where does it say that they melt at 70C?

the_mp3_refuge
10-28-01, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
where does it say that they melt at 70C?

Umm.. they.. melt... lol. You'll see some smoke fly, windows just freeze and if your lucky you'll get a nice liquid thunderbird because the chip will infact melt. I hope that helps that's the best way I can explain it.

terrancelam
10-28-01, 12:34 PM
here a while back. I don't know anyone with the balls to test it out, but if your feeling lucky, please go right ahead. I've yet to hear of a person who has there system with the T-bird running at 70C and higher, who still is using it now.

terrancelam
10-28-01, 12:51 PM
If you want pure stability, get him a VA6 along with a celeron 700. Was my previous setup for myself and worked like a charm. If your dad feels its a bit slow, then just oc it a bit and it should work fine. I see where your going now, more for the budget performer.

Or if you feel a bit more in the money, try for Tiger's setup, very nice.

Idiot Savant
10-29-01, 11:04 AM
Was an Intel fan until P4's.

Gotta love memory with 70ns latencies.
RDRAM.

Hell RDRAM is a punchline back at the lab :)

Anyways, Tualatins are nice processors. You really cant go wrong there. They also don't put out much heat.

btw: who the hell would let their TBird get to 70c? thats cruel and unusual punishment :(

YARDofSTUF
10-29-01, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
sorry to keep changing my mind every few mins but heres what i am looking for:

intel chipset

bios control of cpu fsb and multiplier

suppoerting celeron 566 and 10mhz fsb or 133

around a hundred bucks

i saw an abit st6? i think for 90ish that i thought does most of that but the right up was unclear, tiger, stonecat, qwijibo? u guys are the INTELigence ppl right? :D


pls read, this is what i am looking for :D

Gaming-Module
10-29-01, 04:04 PM
Gotta love memory with 70ns latencies.

Keep on riding that latency kick. It amuses those of us who are happy with RDRAM. Right MP3? ;)

Thor Walez
10-29-01, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by terrancelam
here a while back. I don't know anyone with the balls to test it out, but if your feeling lucky, please go right ahead. I've yet to hear of a person who has there system with the T-bird running at 70C and higher, who still is using it now.

got my athlon1200 24/7 @60-62°C while gaming and folding ... lucky that I sold´em :p
-Thor :D :D :D :D

Idiot Savant
10-29-01, 05:46 PM
Originally posted by Macho-Module


Keep on riding that latency kick. It amuses those of us who are happy with RDRAM. Right MP3? ;)


Theres a good reason Intel is dropping RDRAM in the near future for 8-pipeline DDR. If they can get by the lawsuit that is. :)