PDA

View Full Version : This sucks...



Epyon
10-27-01, 04:11 AM
I just found out that my system DOES NOT have an AGP port, I have to settle for a damn PCI CARD!! I need to know the best PCI card out there, $ is not an issue!

P.S. BRENT! I need your expertise(sp).

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 04:45 AM
Herc PCI geforce2 MX

Epyon
10-27-01, 04:59 AM
I was reading an article, what about the Voodoo5 5500 PCI?

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 05:06 AM
Originally posted by Epyon
I was reading an article, what about the Voodoo5 5500 PCI?

horrible driver support considering voodoo is dead :(

and u dont get much more power than the 4500 in pci form. the 4500/5500 is a very good card but if u plan to ever run winXP or 2000 or whatever newer MS OS they make u wont have much going for ya with drivers, i believe xedfx or somethign makes drivers for the cards now, not sure, but i suggest going with the GF2MX card, full driver support.

Epyon
10-27-01, 05:21 AM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
Herc PCI geforce2 MX

Where can I find that card, and how much is it?

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 06:01 AM
Originally posted by Epyon


Where can I find that card, and how much is it?

http://www.shentech.com/creat3dblasa3.html
http://www.adamant.com/main.asp


thats for the creative anilator geforce 2 mx only one i can find online if theres a best buy near u then they should have the geforce 2 mx PCI version in there

Epyon
10-27-01, 07:03 AM
What about this? http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=11081064&m=488&cat=521&scat=522 it's 100$ and it looks like the right one...is it?

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 07:08 AM
all 3 are the same card

el bob
10-27-01, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by Epyon
$ is not an issue!

If this is true, I would recommend looking into a new amd system.

You can get a kick /-\ss amd 1ghz ayjha based computer for around 500-600 dollars depending on what your specific tastes are. PM me if you are interested in see what my system was like versus cost that I bought about a month ago.

Epyon
10-27-01, 10:07 AM
Yea when I bought my system retail it was around 1100$ now I can get the same system for around 600-700$ retail, When I found out my system didn't even have a AGP port I was really pissed. As for getting a new system, I'm going to be 16 in november so I plan on getting a job asap then I will get a new system. When I said $ is not an issue I meant PCI card wise, because PCI cards are less then AGP...The best card I can find PCI is the gf 2 mx 400 which is only 100$. i plan on getting that card next month btw...

HongKongPolice
10-27-01, 10:10 AM
Whatz your system specs? If it doesn't have an AGP port then itz probably not very good, so get a new mobo/CPU/video card instead.

Epyon
10-27-01, 10:15 AM
I have one of those intel 810 chipset, with intergrated AGP graphics...Kinda got screwed on that deal. I have a p3 866mhz,128mb sdram pc100,40 gig hd, and I have a cd-burner.
I'm running win2k pro.

YARDofSTUF
10-27-01, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by Epyon
I have one of those intel 810 chipset, with intergrated AGP graphics...Kinda got screwed on that deal. I have a p3 866mhz,128mb sdram pc100,40 gig hd, and I have a cd-burner.
I'm running win2k pro.


AH AH AH AH AH AH AH AH!!!! i have an i810 too, well had it ***** the bed last night.

MagicMikey
10-27-01, 10:34 AM
I'd just replace the mobo to something like an i815e.....CUSL2 or TUSL2.....because your processor is still really good and it's not worth going AMD and getting a the mobo + cpu combo when you already have the cpu....

I wouldn't buy a GeForce MX either after that mobo upgrade! ;)

aagiants
10-27-01, 10:38 AM
Intel 810 here too lol

There pos'

Epyon
10-27-01, 10:39 AM
This system isn't worth a mobo upgrade, the only $ i'm pumping into this system is a gf 2 mx 400 PCI. which is only 100$. Please, remind me to never buy a HP again...HP is ****.

BaLa
10-27-01, 11:24 AM
from the sound of it you don't need to be reminded...


small story for ya here.
I work at a small comp shop, couple days ago, somebody brought in an HP PC, he had some conflicts, also he 'supposedly" had a DVD-ROM in it, which never worked since the day he bought it at Best Buy.
ok no problem, checked it out...
It turns out he must have gotten ripped of by Best Buy (most likely) or HP b/c his comp didn't have a DVD-ROM in it, although it did come with DVD-Player software (I saw it lol)

:rotfl:

Epyon
10-27-01, 11:26 AM
My comp was the same way, but they put dvd drivers on it for some strange reason.

BTW..just to let you know I have a HP pavilion 7845.

terrancelam
10-27-01, 01:19 PM
if you can, a really good upgrade for you would be to switch to a intel BX based chipset. They have great memory bandwitdh for an older chipset and usually are very stable. Just depends on what's avaible to you locally and how confident you are with installing your own computer parts.

Epyon
10-27-01, 01:59 PM
I have no experience installing any computer hardware so that sounds like a bad idea, as for the video card I'm not even going to install that myself for fear that my static touch will bring death to the card. I'm going to get best buy to install it for me, for a charge.

BaLa
10-27-01, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by Epyon
I have no experience installing any computer hardware so that sounds like a bad idea, as for the video card I'm not even going to install that myself for fear that my static touch will bring death to the card. I'm going to get best buy to install it for me, for a charge.

ugh try ask around (local comp stores) they could prolly do it cheaper..

Epyon
10-27-01, 02:07 PM
How long will the gf 2 mx 400 pci be good?And the box says it has 64mb sdram but the ads say it has 32, which is correct? btw I run 800x600 resolution.

Epyon
10-28-01, 08:17 AM
SOMEONE PLEASE REPLY!

MagicMikey
10-28-01, 09:24 AM
Your video card will be good forever....

Right click My Computer and click Properties. It should say the amount of Memory you have in the General tab...