PDA

View Full Version : That's it. F**k ATI...(read this linked thread)



Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 01:36 AM
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33585863

The 8500 retails are coming with a 350mhz RAMDAC.

I'm sure those of you who are in the know and have seen the ads, know that ATI claims "new and improved 400 mhz RAMDAC!"

BYE BYE ATI

the_mp3_refuge
10-19-01, 02:01 AM
Hey I'll buy ur 8500 for some cash and throw in my GF2 MX if it'll lower the price lol. Is 50Mhz really a big deal. Sure it's bad when they state that it will be 400 but right now I(keep in mind this is my opinion) don't feel the 50Mhz is gonna kill anybody. Now I do think ATi should post on their site stating the ramdac *will* go up to 400Mhz later down the road, like they do with the memory "up to 300Mhz." The upto states it doesn't go that high now. But more then likely will. Well now as I think about that would make me mad too(since u already bought the card right) if it says it was all suped up and then you find out it's as just a little better then the card u have now. I'll prob buy a 7500 later. Seems like a good card. Does anyone know the difference between the 8500 and 7500?

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 02:16 AM
Originally posted by the_mp3_refuge
Hey I'll buy ur 8500 for some cash and throw in my GF2 MX if it'll lower the price lol. Is 50Mhz really a big deal. Sure it's bad when they state that it will be 400 but right now I(keep in mind this is my opinion) don't feel the 50Mhz is gonna kill anybody. Now I do think ATi should post on their site stating the ramdac *will* go up to 400Mhz later down the road, like they do with the memory "up to 300Mhz." The upto states it doesn't go that high now. But more then likely will. Well now as I think about that would make me mad too(since u already bought the card right) if it says it was all suped up and then you find out it's as just a little better then the card u have now. I'll prob buy a 7500 later. Seems like a good card. Does anyone know the difference between the 8500 and 7500?

Oh...only about a 30% performance delta in 3D apps...

And yes, I am pist! I dont even have the card yet and it's just one dissapointment/lie/ruse after another. I almost dont want the frickin card to come.

If I had paid more than $215 for it, I would have cancelled long ago.

I may cancel anyway. ATI is starting to look, quite frighteningly, like 3Dfx during it's final hours. I would think that Nvidia would not be making drivers for the Radeon line...something to think about.

BaLa
10-19-01, 02:18 AM
I'm not aware of what they've been saying...
but if they said that itwould have a 400mhz RAMDAC and it in fact only comes with a 350mhz RAMDAC than it is
misleading
SUE them lol..

THIS is the US after all, you'd prolly make some money..

BaLa
10-19-01, 02:28 AM
there is the exact wording from the ATI site



Dual display support

Leading-edge technology, fully optimized with HydraVision™, flexibly supports multiple combinations of traditional CRT monitors, flat panel displays and TV

Features Dual Channel DVI support

165 MHz integrated TMDS transmitter supports panels up to UXGA (1600x1200) resolution

Improved RAMDAC speed of 400MHz

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 02:34 AM
Yep. This is the most dishonest, inept company around.

Discounted price or not, I am having serious second thoughts. I might end up seeing if I can sell it for $245...

colour
10-19-01, 02:42 AM
its an OEM card "but my oem ramdac is only 350", i think the dude got it from newegg.

off of newegg "ATI RADEON 8500 64MB DDR - OEM/White Box".

arent OEM versions always under powered?

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 02:55 AM
Read the rest of the thread...


Mine is also showing RAMDAC=350. I bought my card at BestBuy. Its memory /core is 275/275. ????????

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 03:08 AM
I am going to take a moment to outline the mistakes ATI has made here:

-Sent out preview cards that either didn't work or performed horribly.
-Didn't succeed in getting cards out quickly to retailers, despite giving permission to start selling the cards. Obviously ATI was doing last minute driver "scrambling", thus making us buyers have to wait forever.
-Released some of the most inconsistent, pis$ poor performing drivers when taking the extreme hardware advantage into consideration.
-Fail to beat even a 175/400 card in some benchmarks with a 275/550mhz card.
-Released the card with a much touted feature, that could have been usable right out of the box, which is broken for who knows how long.
-Lied directly to Rage3D about OEM's being clocked at 275/550, when they were actually clocked at 250/500, and only after buying and running analysis of the card did people realize this.
-Lied about the RAMDAC being at an amazing 400mhz, while it was actually only running at 350mhz, and again the Rage3D people had to actually buy the card to find this out!.
-And possibly worst of all. Is that this company has proven that it is inept beyond comprehension, and that it cannot and will not care about the customer until its headquarters is leveled with a recking ball. This was a chance to right the wrongs and come out steller, but all they did was fumble around like old men and fall asleep at the wheel. [quote]If you're not gonna satisfy us, at least communicate with us![/b]

RoundEye
10-19-01, 07:11 AM
What a bummer, I ordered mine from NewEgg. It should be here today.

I was worried about performance, since it's OEM. Guess I'll see what it's like soon enough.

the_mp3_refuge
10-19-01, 07:22 AM
What card do you have now RoundEye?

RoundEye
10-19-01, 08:54 AM
Originally posted by the_mp3_refuge
What card do you have now RoundEye?

I have the Radeon 64 VIVO.

I read some more through the link that Macho-Module posted. There is a lot of people that are very happy with their 8500 so far.

And in trying to stay optimistic, I'm not going to worry about anything or get pissed untill I install my new video card and see if I have any problems with it.

:2cool:

Noevo
10-19-01, 09:01 AM
Originally posted by Macho-Module
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33585863

The 8500 retails are coming with a 350mhz RAMDAC.

I'm sure those of you who are in the know and have seen the ads, know that ATI claims "new and improved 400 mhz RAMDAC!"

BYE BYE ATI

uhh...Bitter?

heh, i'll trade you my voodooo for it :D

colour
10-19-01, 09:51 AM
i just read hardocp's 8500 review, interesting to see the 3dmark2k1 results considering the 8500 is supposed to be dx8.1 feature rich.

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 11:34 AM
Originally posted by Noevo


uhh...Bitter?

heh, i'll trade you my voodooo for it :D

Yes, bitter. And afraid this company wont be in business long enough to get working drivers out for the card, if they continue to operate in such a fashion.

EthanHunt16
10-19-01, 12:29 PM
any card that can come in right behind a geforce3 is still a good card

and who knows, maybe ati will get there act together and release a very good set of drivers that will make the card run at its potential

HongKongPolice
10-19-01, 12:37 PM
Ppl keep on saying "ATi will improve their drivers!" Yes thats true, but how LONG will it take them? nVidia has a 6 month product cycle, so ATi has less than 6 months to tweak their drivers to the MAX before the GeForce4 comes out and kicks itz a$$.

Unless the NEXT Radeon chip uses compatible drivers with the 8500, ATi will NEVER catch upto nVidia.

drdoug99
10-19-01, 12:50 PM
Do you guys think it's just a bad batch?

with ATI scrambling to release the 8500 with decent drivers....they forgot to include the bigger RAMDAC..

the RAMDAC is a hardware device right? so newer updated drivers wouldn't boost the speed to 400mhz....

this is just too bad....it has the potential, but it's like ATI is messing up on purpose....time to call the BBB, serisouly.

False advertising to the extreme....:mad:

drdoug99
10-19-01, 12:53 PM
Ofcourse ATi will now remove anything on thier site saying that the card has 400 ramdac. This way when someone says "why doesn't my card have 400 ramdac?", ati can say "Where did you see that?"... lol...


quote from a dude on the Rage3D site....so get all the information you can about ANY AND ALL FALSE STATEMENTS, so you can use it as proof. Print them out, and save them to your hard drive...

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 01:04 PM
Originally posted by drdoug99


quote from a dude on the Rage3D site....so get all the information you can about ANY AND ALL FALSE STATEMENTS, so you can use it as proof. Print them out, and save them to your hard drive...

I'm sure people have already done this and that many would provide the information to anyone going around the boards and requesting it.

If ATI played dumb on this issue and called me out, and I had seen the information but hadn't gotten the screenshot, I would never ever even consider that company a contender for my dollar.

You do not handle consumers that way.

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 01:17 PM
http://www.plauder-smilies.de/party/ylsuper.gif NVIDIA ROCKS!!!!!http://www.plauder-smilies.de/party/ylsuper.gif Support for there cards rock solid.Plus you can flash chip (gpu) for a upgrade, not crappy atihttp://www.ina-community.com/forums/images/icons/icon13.gif

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by Phantom-Vortex
http://www.plauder-smilies.de/party/ylsuper.gif NVIDIA ROCKS!!!!!http://www.plauder-smilies.de/party/ylsuper.gif Support for there cards rock solid.Plus you can flash chip (gpu) for a upgrade, not crappy atihttp://www.ina-community.com/forums/images/icons/icon13.gif

Unfortunatly, if ATI fails you'll easily be paying around $500 for your next "rockin" Nvidia card, and that price wont budge for quite some time.

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 01:28 PM
I make a good bit of $$$$$ so NO PROBLEM!!!!;)

Noevo
10-19-01, 01:47 PM
Originally posted by Phantom-Vortex
I make a good bit of $$$$$ so NO PROBLEM!!!!;)
wow, doesn't get much more selfish than that


I have never been big into the vid cards and what makes one great vs. another one. I have always just bought something in the pricerange I could spend and go with that. Probably in the next six months or so I will buy a new card, so I would like whatever happens with these to push prices down, not make them stay high.

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 02:23 PM
Selfish??????.......um........ I..... earn it.:confused:

Noevo
10-19-01, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by Phantom-Vortex
Selfish??????.......um........ I..... earn it.:confused:


I know you earn it thats fine, other people here make good money too but don't brag about it. And the selfish part was that you don't care if the price goes up because you can afford it, not caring if anyone else can. thus it was selfish. no biggie

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 02:41 PM
http://www.respawn.onlinehome.de/gfx/smile/stupid.gif IM not arguing with you, I personally dont care what you think about me anyway,Please stay off my back.:rolleyes: no biggie.

syncmaster
10-19-01, 02:49 PM
Nuovo step down from his back , i wan to ride on his back because i am heavier ,so he will feel something at the end , or he will break down .

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 02:54 PM
HA HAHAH ha....ha.....ha.....a so funny.....hardy har please be original and "funny" then I would appreciate it better.If you gonna cut somebody atleast be good at it.:rolleyes:

Qwijib0
10-19-01, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by syncmaster
Nuovo step down from his back , i wan to ride on his back because i am heavier ,so he will feel something at the end , or he will break down .

*porno music begins playing*

Bown chick a bow wow... w00t! w00t!...

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 02:57 PM
Threads getting more corny by the minute.:rolleyes:

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 03:03 PM
yay....

Noevo
10-19-01, 03:05 PM
:D

Noevo
10-19-01, 03:10 PM
we good Phantom? I wasn't trying to stir you up.

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 03:12 PM
We cool!!!!1

Qwijib0
10-19-01, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by Phantom-Vortex
Threads getting more corny by the minute.:rolleyes:

http://www.legis.state.wi.us/senate/scc/kids/_borders/corn.gif

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 03:39 PM
"Getting" better..... since we have this one rolling "it seems" lets get creative????;)

Joe
10-19-01, 04:48 PM
Originally posted by Macho-Module
Read the rest of the thread...
Mine is also showing RAMDAC=350. I bought my card at BestBuy. Its memory /core is 275/275. ????????


275/275

Memory *2 = 550

Thats correct...

Joe
10-19-01, 04:52 PM
Random Access Memory Digital-to-Analog Converter
<hardware> (RAMDAC) A combination of three fast DACs with a small SRAM used in graphics display adapters to store the colour palette and to generate the analog signals to drive a colour monitor. The logical colour number from the display memory is fed into the address inputs of the SRAM to select a palette entry to appear on the output of the SRAM. This entry is composed of three separate values corresponding to the three components (red, green, and blue) of the desired physical colour. Each component value is fed to a separate DAC, whose analog output goes to the monitor, and ultimately to one of its three electron guns (or equivalent in non-CRT displays).

DAC word lengths range usually from 6 to 10 bits. The SRAM's wordlength is three times the DAC's word length. The SRAM acts as a colour lookup table. It usually has 256 entries (and thus an 8-bit address). If the DAC's word length is also 8 bits, we have a 256 x 24-bit SRAM which allows a selection of 256 out of 16777216 possible colours for the display. The contents of the SRAM can be changed while the display is not active (during display blanking times). The SRAM can usually be bypassed and the DACs can be fed directly by display data (for true colour modes).


Doesnt seem to important to me... atleast Mhz wise...

the_mp3_refuge
10-19-01, 05:02 PM
For the game sector I don't feel it will hit hard at all. 350Mhz RAMDAC has been around and if it pulls of more then 40FPS in the MAX settings then its fine. I don't think we should break the bank for something we'll never be able to see. The human eye sees at 30FPS. I think the HIGHEST recorded eye frame rate(good way to phrase it I guess;)) was 34FPS. So If you have a card that does 40FPS it will look 100% like a card that runs at 400FPS because of our eyes. Now for heavy 3D appz and "Delta" as Macho states if it was 400Mhz we would see about a 30% boost in performace from what we see now. I will probably buy one once the price comes down a little. Now one thing that is untrue is the nVidia 6 month cycle. That's all based on previous release dates and times between product launches. So we may not see the GF4 for 2 more years. I mean it's not like these guys sit at the design room with a 6 month stopwatch and then one of them says "GO" lol. but anyway it seems to be doing good so far. It's not like it's crap lol.

Gaming-Module
10-19-01, 07:12 PM
Originally posted by Phantom-Vortex
I make a good bit of $$$$$ so NO PROBLEM!!!!;)

I have quite a bit of money myself, but I am smart enough to know that in order to one day be wealthy, maybe even rich, I am going to have to spend as little of it as possible.

I take great offense to that post, as it is obvious you make "alot of money for your age" and probably don't have other bills to worry about. Not everyone has Momma and Dadda buying the food in your tummy and fixing the roof over your head, gratis.

If ATI falls, they will have left the market open to one company. Do you like paying $500 for a card? Yeah? Well how about waiting until 2004 for the next leap in graphics technology?

Oh, and dont count on that $500-600 price tag flinching anytime in the next year and a half. Hope you like a stagnated games market too.

One day you will have many more responsiblities and maybe even college, and you too will learn the value of a dollar.

[edited to say: please take some business, marketing, and PR classes once in college. you will learn alot about why ATI falling is bad]

Phantom-Vortex
10-19-01, 07:38 PM
Im 26, I am married:( , I have 2 kids ,a 3 year old and a little girl who just turned 1, I own my own house have 2 cars, a great paying job.So no mommy,daddy support here except for spoiling the little ones;) College just pays off in the end.....6years of it:( :(

colour
10-19-01, 09:10 PM
assumptions rule!

MartialArtist12
10-19-01, 11:31 PM
Macho... Have you even used your Radeon 8500? Before you go bashing, at least try to card out for yourself instead of going off at it. They're like NVidia too, NVidia is also misleading. Their Det4 drivers gave them about 1000 points in 3DMark but lowered D3D performance more than 20%!

terrancelam
10-20-01, 01:48 AM
my week just keep getting more "wonderful" by the second (Note detect my scarcasism), but anyway. Macho, you say that the card is preforming poorly, but yet you've yet to use it. Not only that, you basing your assumptions on the fact that others don't like it. Try it out and see how it performs, I'm sure there can't be that big of a difference between the R8500 and the GF3 that you can notice with the naked eye.

Plus think of all the cool video editing things you can do with it!

NOTE to RoundEye:.......You shouldn't have gotten the R8500 if you have the 64mb DDR...Not that much of a difference in performance what you can see.

YARDofSTUF
10-20-01, 03:54 AM
350 or 400 they need drivers to keep their card in my Avatar and sway me to buy it.

RoundEye
10-20-01, 02:27 PM
terrancelam,
I installed the 8500 last night, and there is a world of difference. Did a quick look at a couple of games and they are visibly better looking.

In 3D Mark 2001 I went from around 3000 to over well over 6000.
It even plays the nature scene in the benchmark. There is some graphic corruption though during the benchmark and demo. I may need to reinstall the drivers or DirectX, or tweak some settings.

Gaming-Module
10-20-01, 02:56 PM
There is some graphic corruption though during the benchmark and demo. I may need to reinstall the drivers or DirectX, or tweak some settings

Many, many people are reporting this problem. The general consensus is that a patch is needed.

Do you have the 7199 patch? I think that's the number.

RoundEye
10-20-01, 03:35 PM
Who has the patch?

ATI, 3D Mark, Microsoft?

Brent
10-20-01, 03:55 PM
fIRST of all ATI will never die, you all do relize THIS crowd, US, make up a TINY portion of ATI's crowd.... ATI is HEAVILY big on the OEM's mainly, and the laptop world, they have a strong market there, they ahve been around forever, they will not die soon.... NVIDIA on the other hand it's biggest crowd IS us, so if NVIDIA ever falters and looses us i would worry more about them going out of business then i would ATI, ATI is a big dog in graphics chips in this world ;)

[selfish mode]I get my cards for free so i don't care how expensive they get[/selfish mode]

LmAO!!!! :D j/k :D

drdoug99
10-20-01, 04:37 PM
Originally posted by Brent
fIRST of all ATI will never die, you all do relize THIS crowd, US, make up a TINY portion of ATI's crowd.... ATI is HEAVILY big on the OEM's mainly, and the laptop world, they have a strong market there, they ahve been around forever, they will not die soon.... NVIDIA on the other hand it's biggest crowd IS us, so if NVIDIA ever falters and looses us i would worry more about them going out of business then i would ATI, ATI is a big dog in graphics chips in this world ;)

[selfish mode]I get my cards for free so i don't care how expensive they get[/selfish mode]

LmAO!!!! :D j/k :D

Exactly, i have a ATI Rage Pro onboard graphics in my Aptiva...that's all you ever seen in OEM's.....which is good...they do the job for most people....

drdoug99
10-20-01, 04:38 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
terrancelam,
I installed the 8500 last night, and there is a world of difference. Did a quick look at a couple of games and they are visibly better looking.

In 3D Mark 2001 I went from around 3000 to over well over 6000.
It even plays the nature scene in the benchmark. There is some graphic corruption though during the benchmark and demo. I may need to reinstall the drivers or DirectX, or tweak some settings.

You have a Radeon 64 Vivo before right? so the 8500 seems like a worth purchase even though it is lower speed?

RoundEye
10-20-01, 05:24 PM
I'm not sure what you mean about lower speed, but I think it was worth it.

I just did a new benchmark, bumped up the processor to 1424 and bumped up the video to 275/275.

My 3D marks went from 3431 with the Radeon to 7427 with the 8500.

I get some video corruption with 3D Mark 2001, but it doesn't show up in any games that I've tried so far.

MartialArtist12
10-20-01, 08:12 PM
I got my Radeon 8500! I'm sorry to disappoint you, but the card is worth every penny! The image quality is better than any GeForce3, I can play with 2X FSAA (1024*768 @ 32) on and have more fps than my monitor can show! With 6X FSAA, I get around 70fps in 1024*768 @ 32. Colors are way richer, DVD's are NIIICE! The only problem with the card is with Quake III. The driver team is working as hard as they can or at least ATI says they are but I'm happy with my card! The GeForce3 doesn't really have that many features compared to the 8500 and it's like a Radeon 7500, a souped-up GeForce3. OMG! My old Radeon still has better image quality than a GeForce3 Ti500 even when it's two generations ahead!

Brent
10-20-01, 08:26 PM
Originally posted by MartialArtist12
I got my Radeon 8500! I'm sorry to disappoint you, but the card is worth every penny! The image quality is better than any GeForce3, I can play with 2X FSAA (1024*768 @ 32) on and have more fps than my monitor can show! With 6X FSAA, I get around 70fps in 1024*768 @ 32. Colors are way richer, DVD's are NIIICE! The only problem with the card is with Quake III. The driver team is working as hard as they can or at least ATI says they are but I'm happy with my card! The GeForce3 doesn't really have that many features compared to the 8500 and it's like a Radeon 7500, a souped-up GeForce3. OMG! My old Radeon still has better image quality than a GeForce3 Ti500 even when it's two generations ahead!

I will try to not flame you

Let me school you a bit

You say the Image quality is better then any GF3. Do you have a GF3 you can compare this too hands on? Have you tried every GF3 out there yourself and seen with your own eyes which is better? What do you base this assumption on? HOW is the quality better? Are you using Compressed textures or true 32bit frame buffer and texture depth to compare with on the Radeon 8500 vs. GF3?

What do you mean more FPS then your monitor can show? What's your refresh rate at? VSYNC on or off?

The reason why you are getting high FPS with 6X AA is because Smoothvision is not working in the current drivers. Yes you heard me right, If you had ACTUALLY red reviews you would know that Smooothvision is NOT working with cu rrent drivers. It's going to take a new driver due out the end of this month to enable smoothvision and make it work. So right n ow the ONLY AA methods are 2X and 4X slow SuperSampling method.

What problems are you having in Quake3? No one else has reported Q3 problems, all reviewers were able to run Q3 tests just fine.

What the hell do you mean the GF3 Ti 500 doesn't have that many features compared to a Radeon 8500? Do you even know what features a GF3 has or are you talking out of your ass? I seriously want to know what your thinking here. The Radeon 8500 has a few more things better in hardware, yes, but not a WHOLE lot, plus some of those things aren't even working yet in the drivers, not to mention ATI never really taps all the power from their cards, it's been this way since their very first 2D/3D card the Rage Pro.

If I were there I'd smack you silly for these UN-INFORMED remarks

I don't mind people that argue either way one card is better then another, but I do get mad when they argue it with FALSE FACTS and information, or a general lack of knowledge about the competition

RoundEye
10-20-01, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by Brent
.....If I were there I'd smack you silly for these UN-INFORMED remarks.....

What a video pimp-daddy!

Don't forget to bring the coat-hanger.

:rotfl:

terrancelam
10-20-01, 09:54 PM
ouch......Well....for me, I won't get the Radeon 8500 unless a bundle of cash falls into my hands. I still like the Radeon 64mb DDR, I just got it a few months ago and it's going to be the last upgrade I have for this box. The next box will have totally new stuff. It will come when I get the heck out of high school. :)

Brent
10-20-01, 10:11 PM
I feel very strongly about video cards and pc hardware in general :D

at least the facts part, i hate it when people argue their point without knowing all the facts or having all the information but THINKING they do :p lol

MartialArtist12
10-20-01, 10:31 PM
No, I don't have every GeForce3 to compare with. I've used a Gainward GeForce3 to compare it and the Gainward GeForce3 was supposed to be the best. I've also used a MSI one and it was crap. I am not using compressed textures and to use anything but 16-bit on a Radeon or later ATI card is just stupid. The only main features that the NVidia has are antistropic filtering, DX 8.1, some 3D textures, and shadow buffers. It's basically a faster GeForce3 for the most part so shut the **** up ass.

Brent
10-20-01, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by MartialArtist12
No, I don't have every GeForce3 to compare with. I've used a Gainward GeForce3 to compare it and the Gainward GeForce3 was supposed to be the best. I've also used a MSI one and it was crap. I am not using compressed textures and to use anything but 16-bit on a Radeon or later ATI card is just stupid. The only main features that the NVidia has are antistropic filtering, DX 8.1, some 3D textures, and shadow buffers. It's basically a faster GeForce3 for the most part so shut the **** up ass.

haha, sorry, didn't mean to make you mad :(

Just trying to understand what your saying and perhaps enlighten you a little, you have the idea right but you have your information wrong and your facts not straight.... don't take it as a flame, just trying to inform you....

Ok you've used a GF3, the Gainward which is indeed VERY good, how long did you use it? On your own system?

As for the MSI one what exactly was crap about it? Just saying it's 'crap' doesn't hold water, you need to explain what was crappy about it.

What I meant by compressed textures is by Default the benchmark 3DMark2001 uses compressed textures to benchmark with. You have to manually select 32bit textures so you can see the real difference between the GF3 and Radeon's 32bit texture quality. Unless you want to directly compare compressed texture images then you can leave it default but make sure it's the same settings on each card. Also I think you meant you wouldn't use anything but 32bit color on GF3's and Radeon's as 16bit color is out, and with the very little performance loss in 16bit vs. 32bit you will want to use full 32bit frame buffer and textures which is possible with little performance loss on both the GF3 and the Radeon 8500.

Anisotropic filtering is a good feature indeed, the Radeon AND GF3 both support this feature. I haven't read much on the Radeon 8500's implementation of it yet so I can't comment on it's speed or quality.

DX 8.1 I think you got your cards confused, it's the Radeon 8500 that was made with DX 8.1 in mind NOT the GF3, the GF3 was made with DX 8.0 in mind.

Those 3D Textures and Shadow buffers in the GF3 are very very cool if you've ever seen them in person, it just shows what shadows can do to increase realism, it's quite awesome really.

Agian I do not know what you mean by this statement you made:
It's basically a faster GeForce3 for the most part

could you elaborate on that? Are you saying the Radeon 8500 is a faster GF3? cause if you are perhaps you need to look at some benchmarks again. Though I'm not really sure what you mean by that statement.

MartialArtist12
10-21-01, 11:54 AM
No, I never said that the Radeon 8500 was faster. The Radeon 8500 although is faster in some benchmarks at high resolutions. I'm saying the GeForce3 Ti500 is not much more than a faster GeForce3.

Gaming-Module
10-21-01, 01:42 PM
.....If I were there I'd smack you silly for these UN-INFORMED remarks.....

Thems fightin words, boy!


sorry, didn't mean to make you mad

Sure ya didn't.

:rotfl: