PDA

View Full Version : ram failure test



Jon
10-18-01, 05:05 PM
What is the best way to test my sdram to determine if I might have a chip going bad? Sandra?

terrancelam
10-18-01, 06:16 PM
what kind of problems are you experiencing?

Jon
10-18-01, 06:30 PM
check out this thread.

http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=52058

I really don't think its hardware, but I want to cover all the bases.

SoWhat
10-18-01, 06:33 PM
Do you have page address error?

Brent
10-18-01, 08:05 PM
Get a hardware ram tester, you stick the ram in it and it checks all the bits on the ram

btw this is a physical device, most pc repair shops should have one

syncmaster
10-18-01, 08:17 PM
Originally posted by Brent
Get a hardware ram tester, you stick the ram in it and it checks all the bits on the ram

btw this is a physical device, most pc repair shops should have one


hahahaha i do not think that , the only shops that they have one is CRUSIAL CORSAIR and others ..

Brent
10-18-01, 08:47 PM
Originally posted by syncmaster



hahahaha i do not think that , the only shops that they have one is CRUSIAL CORSAIR and others ..

maybe in your neck of the woods

but over here most good pc repair shops have em, espeically places like Best Buy, Comp USA, hell even Frys, you can buy these things at frys if you want your own....

Easto
10-18-01, 09:37 PM
I have used a program called "Doc memory"? or something like that. Its freeware on the Web and runs in dos. Very thorough. Sorry but I cant remember the exact address but it is what you're looking for

RoundEye
10-18-01, 11:00 PM
You can also disable the "Quick Boot" in your bios, and let the mobo count the ram.