PDA

View Full Version : burning cd + winamp - processor or mem load?



el bob
10-14-01, 05:30 PM
Whenever I burn a cd (any cd burn app) while I have winamp going, winamp gets real choppy.

I was wondering what this was a problem of? I've got a ton of RAM so I wouldn't think it would be that. My guess is that cd-burning is very consumptive in terms of cpu cycles.

Here are my specs:


Intel SE440BX-2 Motherboard
Pentium 3 500 Katmai (5.0*100)
128mb PC100 NON-ECC CAS3 SDRAM 10ns
256mb PC100 NON-ECC CAS2@CAS3 SDRAM
128mb PC133 @ PC100 NON-ECC CAS2@CAS3 SDRAM
Diamond Viper V770 32MB Video RAM (AGP 2x)
13GB 7200rpm ATA/66 Western Digital Expert HDD -- Primary IDE Controller, Primary IDE Channel, Master
30GB 7200rpm ATA/66 Maxtor DiamondMax 60 HDD -- Primary IDE Controller, Primary IDE Channel, Slave
Turtle Beach Montego II
3Com Etherlink XL 10/100 NIC 3C905C-TX
Sony CRX100E 4x/2x/24x CD-RW -- Primary IDE Controller, Secondary IDE Channel, Slave
Toshiba SD-M1212 DVD-ROM Drive 6xDVD/32xCD -- Primary IDE Controller, Secondary IDE Channel, Master
1.44MB FDD
Altec Lansing ACS495 4 Channel Speaker System with Subwoofer
MS Intellimouse Explorer USB
Logitech ACK-260A Keyboard
Dell Trinitron P990 19" Monitor

I've heard of some people solving this type of problem by increasing winamps buffer. Do you guys know anything about this? I know this question in particular is more of a software question but I don't want to double post in the other forum.

drdoug99
10-14-01, 06:18 PM
It's just very processor and memory intensive. My burner is only 4x, and doesn't have BURN proof or anything, and even with my 1.2Ghz, 512mb computer, I have to close down all other running programs, or I get buffer underrun errors.

MagicMikey
10-14-01, 09:28 PM
It's normal, burner applications aren't really meant to be running at the same time as other applications... It's like saving a huge file in Adobe Photoshop or Macromedia Flash while having Winamp playing, it just freezes for a number of seconds while saving the file. I'm not trying to get technical here... ;)

HongKongPolice
10-14-01, 11:06 PM
Turn on DMA for your HDs in control panels

Jesse23
10-14-01, 11:12 PM
just make sure DMA is on

terrancelam
10-14-01, 11:16 PM
another thing, have you created a perminate memory swap?

Qwijib0
10-15-01, 11:45 AM
The only way you can multi-task while burning is with a SCSI controller... The problem with ATA controllers id that they are very cpu-intensive. trying to maintain a constant data flow of 2-3 MB/sec to burn constantly uses upa lot of CPU cycles. A SCSI controller, on the other hand has it's own processor, so I can burn at 8x while surfing the net and listening to winamp on my P-III 700 no problem. It all depends on your storage subsystem.

terrancelam
10-15-01, 03:12 PM
I can burn at 4X(my burner is a cheezy 4x CD-R), listen to winamp, download stuff off morp, surf the web, icq people and use word without any choppy music in winamp or slowdown with my other apps. The only problem with this would be that, for the best stability when burning to to use the least amount of programs if at all. I mean, i wouldn't want to be playing a game that requires my other DVD drive to be in use (I have the burner and the DVD on the same ATA cable), that would just create a buffer under run.

But I did a bit of testing, I find that if I don't have a memory swap on or if it is below what my regular ram is (512megs), everything runs extremely choppy, but the music will still play. I currently have my swap set to about 1gig and everything is working fine. All about the multi tasking for me.

dreww71
10-15-01, 05:58 PM
How do you create the memory swap?

TEH WIN
10-15-01, 06:10 PM
right click my computer>properties>performance tab>virtual memory>click let me specify... and take your ram number (say 256) and double it 256x2 = 512 enter that number for both min and max. dont go past 512mb though...

CableDude
10-15-01, 07:24 PM
What version of winamp?

el bob
10-15-01, 07:40 PM
Ok, thanks guys. I'll try some of the things you guys recommended tonight.

el bob
10-15-01, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by TigerUpperCut
Turn on DMA for your HDs in control panels

I'm running win2k and there either is not an option for DMA or it is set by default.


another thing, have you created a perminate memory swap?

Under Performance Options:

Optimize performance for:
[checked]Applications [unchecked]Background services

Virtual Memory

Total paging file size for all drives: 768mb

--

I've got 512mb total RAM in my system so is this a good page file size?


What version of winamp?

version 2.76


Any more ideas?