PDA

View Full Version : Need help with MS Access

sattien
09-03-01, 06:31 AM
I am new to programming and don't know VBA so I need some help from here. Here are my questions (sorry if they sound silly):

1. Let's say I have a form with an ID field that's a primary key but not auto-numbered. Now I want to insert some code into the "AfterUpdate" event of that field so that it checks to see if the value already exists after user input, and pop up a custom warning. How should I code it? I know Access will check that after you move on to another record, but I want it to check right after the update of the ID field.

2. How do I reset a running AutoNumber without deleting and recreating that AutoNumber field?

3. How do I program an AutoNumber so that it runs in the right format (like alpha numeric, fixed digits, etc)? I would appreciate if someone has a link on this because it's probably gonna be a long post.

All of the above questions are M$ Access-specific. I know it's slow and sucks but I don't have any other choice. Thanks. :)

sattien
09-03-01, 08:45 PM
Anyone? :(

Stu
09-04-01, 01:52 AM
1. Let's say I have a form with an ID field that's a primary key but not auto-numbered. Now I want to insert some code into the "AfterUpdate" event of that field so that it checks to see if the value already exists after user input, and pop up a custom warning. How should I code it? I know Access will check that after you move on to another record, but I want it to check right after the update of the ID field.

AfterUpdate is a bad place to put the code, you are checking for duplicates on the primary key "after" the data has been accepted--if it was accepted, no duplicate exists! So, you want the BeforeUpdate Event (either on the form or on the column/field). Assuming the column/field in question is of Number type, is named col1, and is in a table named Table1, here is the code:

Private Sub col1_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
Dim db As Database
Dim rst As Recordset