PDA

View Full Version : C language help, and the RETURN VALUE

newbie69
08-29-01, 03:04 AM
i need help in understanding it more, can anyone show me an example of how the return as the return 0; works and what it is for?? because my compiler was giving me warnings that i should return a value in function main or something like that, and i was like why? any help is appreciated

im a newbie in c as you can tell

Jon
08-29-01, 05:46 AM
Let me preface my reply by saying I am also very new at this , but I will try and help.

#include <iostream.h>
int main()
{
cout<<"I hope this helps";
return 0;
}

As far as I understand it, from reading a few visual c++ training books.

you are ordering main to return to 0. When a value is returned to main, it is then passed to the operating system.

I've also seen void main used, but I believe the accepted way, is to use return 0.

I hope this helps

newbie69
08-29-01, 08:42 AM
thanks for the reply, but how do you know what to put in the return value??

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
printf("Hello World!\n");

return 0; /* right here?? can i just put down any integer? and how will that effect the program?, if you don't return a value?, in some source codes i see people put return -1; but i don't understand why does it have to be that specific number, like what if it was an 8 instead of a -1 or even an 11, how will that effect the program?
*/
}

Stu
08-31-01, 10:05 PM
Typically the return value is used as a exit status code (I prefer to use the exit () function myself). So that, if your program is called by another program or a shell/batch script, the calling entity can react to the exit status appropriately.

To explain this a little more clearly, assume your program parses a large file and inserts the parsed data into a database. Your program is called by a user clicking a button in some other program. How does the user know if your program successfully completed the task? Or, if it was not completed successfully, why?