PDA

View Full Version : moving a website



BaLa
06-24-01, 01:00 AM
a friend of mine has a website he wants to move to a new server...
He built the old one with tools, that were available @ the host site..
Is there a program that will let me easily move the website to the new server?

Joe
06-24-01, 02:12 AM
Cant you get FTP access?

If so get the site on your HD and then up it to the next server.

Stef
06-24-01, 02:39 AM
There's a program for Linux called wget. Its a program designed to mirror web sites. It can move sites to new sites by using the FTP or WWW protocols.

If your friends new server is running Apache there's a good chance its running Linux. Just get the new admin to write an automated script that will copy the site over for you. You'll probly need the username and password of the web server that your mirroring off of.

It would probly take 2-15 minutes depending on the size of the web site.

Stef

BaLa
06-24-01, 02:46 AM
FTP access is not yet available.....


here's the site
www.webnow.com/cntrlwx1
I thought there was a prog that would let you do that...that's why I asked

BaLa
06-26-01, 12:15 AM
geez, this got almost bumped off.....
still no real answer though

mbryant707
06-26-01, 04:41 PM
I was looking at the source code for your page, and I don't believe that it would be easy to move as is. It appears to be set up using templates that are on the server. If you were able to move it you would have to modify it to work without the templates.

BaLa
06-27-01, 02:25 AM
hummm...I will talk to him and we might just end up making a whole new website

TonyT
06-27-01, 03:50 PM
Just open the page in your browser and save the webpage complete! Do the same for the rest of the site. Should only take a few seconds cause there's only 2 page there.

Then, you may have to open each page of the frameset and edit the links and files used on the page to reflect the new location of them on the new server.