PDA

View Full Version : ERROR 59: A network error has occurred



fiftyoff
03-07-01, 06:50 PM
After Tweaking I get the following error message when bpooting up the system
(WIN98 SE):
THE FOLLOWING ERROR OCCURRED WHILE LOADING PROTOCOL NUMBER 0
ERROR 59: A NETWORK ERROR HAS OCCURRED.
OK
Does anybody know how to get rid/ fix this
problem. I cannot restore my Registry.

Thanks
Fifty

Lobo
03-07-01, 07:01 PM
Boot with 98 floppy, at prompt type scanreg /restore (Space between g and /)
select date prior to having problems, press enter. This will restore registry to that date :)

Lobo
03-07-01, 07:20 PM
Sir if you get your registry back you need to back it up here's how:
First bring up REGEDIT, type REGEDIT in your run box and hit OK.
Under Registry at the top of the box, click on that, now click on Export Registry File, a box will come up asking where you want to export it to, just put it in your C drive, then name it at the bottem of box, Registry. Click on ALL at the bottom so it copies all of your registry.
Click on save.
Now if you ever get in trouble or want the old regestry back, bring REGEDIT back up and click on Registry and click on import registry file, go to your C drive and click on registry and click open, reboot and your good to go.
Anytime you add a new program, backup again, any program, back it up to the same place as the last one, it will overwrite it. If you do not backup after each new program is instaled you will not have those setting's in regestry if you have to backup for some reason.


Do nothing else in this box as it is the heart of your computer, just what it says above and no more!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:eek:

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 02:35 PM
Unfotunatelly, I have reached a point beyond the five registry backup files.
Fifty :confused:

Lobo
03-08-01, 02:42 PM
Didn't you back up registry when you first installed Windows

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 02:49 PM
This was a long time ago. :rolleyes:

Lobo
03-08-01, 02:50 PM
Do you still have it

Lobo
03-08-01, 02:57 PM
Are you running WIN ME with Cablenuts patch 4.0

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 03:08 PM
WIN 98 SE.
I did install Cablenut 3.X but I uninstalled it. I did apply a patch from DSLREPORTS and then tried speedguide.
Fifty
:rolleyes:

Lobo
03-08-01, 03:11 PM
Did you go back to default befors appling another patch, did you find backup registry, what is your CPU

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 03:11 PM
TCP options string = 020405b401010402

MTU = 1500
MTU is at optimal value

MSS = 1460
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which seems to be equal to MSS.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 4288
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 4288
For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
64240 (MSS x 44)

bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 171.52 kbps (21.44 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 68.608 kbps (8.576 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = true

Time to live = 117 hops

Timestamps (RFC1323) = false

Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = true

IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

:confused:

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 03:13 PM
I think I did but maybe I got out of step

Lobo
03-08-01, 03:17 PM
OK heres what I want you to try, go to www.cablenut.com (http://www.cablenut.com) and click on software at top, I want you to download version 3.65, not 3.5. If your CPU is 500 or bigger select fast cable, if not select normal cable, it also looks like you need his Vtcp386 patch, do that, retest, and post results back here :)

Lobo
03-08-01, 03:46 PM
This tells you how to fix the 59 error http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q121/9/13.asp :)

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 03:46 PM
I followed your instructions. I still get the error message. Maybe it is due to other things (not the patch). At least I'll get a better response. This ERR Msg is "tolerable"
I thoght you might assist me. I ran the Speed guide:
-------------------------------
TCP options string = 020405b40103030301010402

MTU = 1500
MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

MSS = 1460
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which seems to be equal to MSS.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 522680
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 65335
RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
64240 (MSS x 44)

bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 20907.2 kbps (2613.4 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 8362.88 kbps (1045.36 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = true

Time to live = 117 hops

Timestamps (RFC1323) = false

Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = true

IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

------------------------------------------
If you can think of anything, or if you want me to perform other task, I am willing and able
regards
Fifty :confused:

Lobo
03-08-01, 03:53 PM
All looks good in patch, probably the reason no patchs worked for you is you did not have Vtcp386 installed, if you still have network error I posted link above to fix it, and after you do that above it tells you how to backup registry, please do that or you will be formatting, Cablenut will have new patch out in week or so, so check his web site and do not put patch on top of patch :cool: :cool:

cablenut
03-08-01, 03:56 PM
The information in this article applies to:

Microsoft TCP/IP-32 for Windows for Workgroups, version 3.11
Microsoft Windows for Workgroups version 3.11

There is a slew of ERRORMSG: 59 related topics on microsoft's search engine here:
http://search.microsoft.com/us/SearchMS25.asp?so=RECCNT&qu=error+msg+59&boolean=ALL&i=02&i=08&i=07&i=09&p=1&nq=NEW

Lobo
03-08-01, 04:05 PM
Come in Head Webcheese yer breaking up, up thar, lol :)

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 04:12 PM
Hi Cablenut
I am using WIN 98 SE the ERR messages reffer to Windows for workgroups
:confused:

Lobo
03-08-01, 04:20 PM
Try the link I gave you on page one

fiftyoff
03-08-01, 05:01 PM
Lobo
Itried it. It applies to TCP/IP-32 for Windows for Workgroups.
My system is WIN 98 SE. I checked my TCP/IP Properties and the DNS is disabled.
It looks like my system is trying to connect to a non existing server.
I'll call MS to see if they could help me.
I appreciate your help.
You are terrific.
Thanks
If you think of any other ideas, let me know.
Ed :)

Lobo
03-08-01, 05:09 PM
Might ask on main forum, cable and dsl :)

Lobo
03-08-01, 05:53 PM
Plus they have a forum at Cablenuts site to with Dannjr who might have answer :)