PDA

View Full Version : 2 slow of a shaw connection :*(



Parad0x
03-16-01, 10:37 AM
First let me say, Taht speedguide is definitly one of the best sites out there. That actualy offer everything, and that You guys actualy do care, because You devoted sooo much of your time to help all of us. well now to the help :)

Is there anyway I can improve my connection? this is my result when I did a connectin check from this site.

TCP options string = 020405b401010402

MTU = 1500
MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

MSS = 1460
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 65535
Note: Under Windows 9x, if you have RWIN set to any other value, and the Analyzer reports 65535 you might need to install the MS Vtcp386 fix.
For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
64240 (MSS x 44)

bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

Time to live left = 54 hops
TTL value is ok.

Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000


23124 connections tested since 03-10-2001, 14:30 ET
Analyzer version: Beta 0.94


And I was really wondering if somebody may help me out. I mean my friends that have shaw 2. have much better downloading speeds then me, and That puts me in a bad mood, sinnce i'v got a much better comp then them.

Parad0x
03-16-01, 10:50 AM
And do you think I should istall a proxy server? and what If the ping reply is at a average of 24ms

Lobo
03-16-01, 10:57 AM
What OS are you on, no proxy, pings are fine :)

richardc
03-16-01, 11:06 AM
Hi para - why not phone Shaw's tech support - they should be in Burnaby. Your friends could be on Shaw's backbone now while you are still on Rogers' line. Shaw is still upgrading and some area's, like mine ,Kitsilano, have to wait another month or so
before being switched over.

Lobo
03-16-01, 11:15 AM
What OS are you on, whether they are updating or not your RWIN number should not be 65535 :)

Parad0x
03-16-01, 01:03 PM
TCP options string = 020405b40103030201010402

MTU = 1500
MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

MSS = 1460
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 256960
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 2 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 64240
RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
64240 (MSS x 44)

bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 10278.4 kbps (1284.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 4111.36 kbps (513.92 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

Time to live left = 54 hops
TTL value is ok.

Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000


Is it anybetter now? And is There Absolutely anything else i can do?

Lobo
03-16-01, 01:06 PM
It's in now, see the RWIN mumber isin't 65535. have you installed the faster load of web pages patch from patch page, your test looks good :)

Lobo
03-16-01, 01:12 PM
You also need to backup registry if you havev't done so in a while, here how;
This is a must unless you the future in want to format because you did not do it, please do this. First bring up REGEDIT, type REGEDIT in your run box and hit OK.
Under Registry at the top of the box, click on that, now click on Export Registry File, a box will come up asking where you want to export it to, just put it in your C drive, then name it at the bottem of box, Registry plus date. Click on ALL at the bottom so it copies all of your registry.
Click on save.
Now if you ever get in trouble or want the old regestry back, bring REGEDIT back up and click on Registry and click on import registry file, go to your C drive and click on registry and click open, reboot and your good to go.
Anytime you add a new program, backup again, any program, back it up to the same place as the last one, it will overwrite it. If you do not backup after each new program is instaled you will not have those setting's in regestry if you have to backup for some reason.


Do nothing else in this box as it is the heart of your computer, just what it says above and no more!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Parad0x
03-16-01, 01:25 PM
Thx. but last questions... would you recommend me to install any of these patches?
SpeedGuide Web Patch
@Home Speed Patch

And Would putting on a proxy server increase or decrease my speed? and would does TTL stand for?

Lobo
03-16-01, 01:31 PM
Just web patch for faster loading of web pages, no @home patch, TTL is put in by patch you have in, no proxy, you already have speed patch in, you do not put these patchs on top of each other (Speed) :)

Parad0x
03-16-01, 01:45 PM
k. Thx you Speed guide crew. especialy you lobo :), I hope you have a great day, and thx again for the help. and I'll be visint this site regulary for updates :)

Lobo
03-16-01, 01:50 PM
ah shuks, im turning pink, you hush now, here :cool: :cool: :cool:

donald_k
03-16-01, 03:58 PM
lol Para I am on Shaw@Home myself and it is nice and fast (right now 600KB/s down and 120KB/s up). However "R3b00t" on ICQ is also on Shaw@Home and his speeds are not so pretty (almost as bad as Charter people). The difference between me and him is that I am on Shaw's backbone and he is still on the @Home backbone. Shaw will eventually switch your area over to their backbone and you will notice a HUGE improvement and if Rogers capped your modem the caps will be removed entirely. The real funny thing though is I have my RWIN at 513920, which gives me the best speeds at 600KB/s download from CNET right now :). So the best thing you can do is to call Shaw and they will tell you what is going on ;).

Parad0x
03-16-01, 09:05 PM
awsome.. because i download 40k from that site :(

Parad0x
03-17-01, 12:43 AM
My operating system is windows 98. what would u guys advise me to do ?

Lobo
03-17-01, 12:46 AM
Go to main page this site, click on patchs and download and install Vtcp386 Fix for 98
retest, post results, reboot after installing patch :)

Parad0x
03-17-01, 03:18 AM
Hey guys. I was just at the dslreports tweaker page.. and this is what it said
* Please wait up to 30 seconds.. collecting data
* Your scaled RWIN offered as 241408
* Some tests failed.
* Investigate your packet loss problem
* Use the RWIN calculator - possibly lower it
* Recommendations end.
* Detail..
* Your MTU is set ok
* You are 18 hops away
* Your remaining TTL is 49
* Your TTL is 67
* packet-loss check using 56 byte packets
* Packet-loss problem shown
* packet-loss check using 1000 byte packets
* Packet-loss problem shown
* Your scaled RWIN is advertised as 241408
* Scaled RWIN on data packet is 256960
* End


And i'm not sure.. but I think i'm experiencing a big packet loss :( could somebody help out?