PDA

View Full Version : Time Stamps and tweaks



Stoneman
03-15-01, 06:19 PM
Hi all,

I am using RR from NY, I have Windows 98SE, with Cablenut 3.65 installed, when I first installed it it was really fast, now it seems I have done something wrong, seems like I am getting alot of packet loss, it was recommended on DSL Tweak Tester that I turn on timestamps to which I have no clue about, my downloads are decent on some site, terrible on others, I am using a Dell Demensions 800mghz. Sjould I do anything else or just leave it alone?

I'm in...
Stoneman


TCP options string = 020405b40103030301010402

MTU = 1500
MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

MSS = 1460
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 522680
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 65335
RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
64240 (MSS x 44)

bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 20907.2 kbps (2613.4 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 8362.88 kbps (1045.36 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

Time to live left = 111 hops
TTL value is ok.

Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

:rolleyes:

Lobo
03-15-01, 06:24 PM
Why not just download his new patch, 4.0 You don't need 4.02 :)

Stoneman
03-15-01, 06:27 PM
Lobo,

I tied that once and it seemed to slow everything down a little, if you think I should I will give it another try. Should Timestamps be set to 3 for being on when using Cablenuts patch, or set at 1??

Stoneman

Lobo
03-15-01, 06:32 PM
Set Tcp1323opts to 3, this enables time stamps, do this:
First go to www.cablenut.com (http://www.cablenut.com) , click on software at top of page
Download 4.0
His patch will uninstall previous patchs
Install 4.0

Then on desktop click on cablenut 4.0
Click on ccs files
then click on cable
Select fast cable (See instructions)
this will enter settings
click on save to registry at bottom, reboot or it will not work.

If you decide to remove Cablenut's patch, use uninstaller in Cablenut 4.0 folder on desktop. This will take you back to Windows default.
Retest and repost back here :)

dannjr
03-15-01, 06:32 PM
Timestamps 1 or 3
3 will give more overhead turning it off all together will be... Well lets just say not a good thing

Lobo
03-15-01, 06:40 PM
You also need to download and install Vtcp 386 Fix, from patch page this site if you did not get it at Cablenuts site. You also need to go to patach page this site for the faster loading of web pages patch:http://www.speedguide.net/files/PH_Webtweak9x.zip that one, plus you need to back up registry, though this was going to be easy huh, well you will be happy you did this, here's how:
This is a must unless you the future in want to format because you did not do it, please do this. First bring up REGEDIT, type REGEDIT in your run box and hit OK.
Under Registry at the top of the box, click on that, now click on Export Registry File, a box will come up asking where you want to export it to, just put it in your C drive, then name it at the bottem of box, Registry plus date. Click on ALL at the bottom so it copies all of your registry.
Click on save.
Now if you ever get in trouble or want the old regestry back, bring REGEDIT back up and click on Registry and click on import registry file, go to your C drive and click on registry and click open, reboot and your good to go.
Anytime you add a new program, backup again, any program, back it up to the same place as the last one, it will overwrite it. If you do not backup after each new program is instaled you will not have those setting's in regestry if you have to backup for some reason.


Do nothing else in this box as it is the heart of your computer, just what it says above and no more!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)

Stoneman
03-15-01, 06:41 PM
Lobo and Dannjr,

I did everything you said, here are the latests test. Let me know how this looks.

StonemanTCP options string = 020405b4010303020101080a000000000000000001010402

MTU = 1500
MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

MSS = 1460
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1448, which is less than MSS because of Timestamps, or other TCP/IP options used.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 204400
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 2 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 51100
RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
64240 (MSS x 44)

bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 8176 kbps (1022 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 3270.4 kbps (408.8 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

Time to live left = 47 hops
TTL value is ok.

Timestamps (RFC1323) = ON
Note: Timestamps add 12 bytes to the TCP header of each packet, reducing the space available for useful data.

Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

Lobo
03-15-01, 06:48 PM
Man your quick but all looks good. :)

Lobo
03-15-01, 06:51 PM
How do do speed test
1. The best time is early in the morning (3 AM - 6 AM)
2. Make sure defrag has been run so no files are fragmented
3. Delete Temp internet files, not while testing, but after each test. IE browser, click tools, internet options, click on delete files and no this will not harm system, just get rid of temp files
4. Go to a fast server such as www.happypuppy.com (http://www.happypuppy.com) and click on 10 demos, select a LARGE file to download (not all of it of download, just most of it, before you click cancel) this will show you how fast you are downloading, it's not going to be quick except except early in morning when not many people on net. I recommend you go to www.analogX.com (http://www.analogX.com) and download Net State live, run this while downloading as it will give you avg of your download speed.
5. Probably the most important, nothing can be running during test, no firewalls, no virus stuff, no ICQ, no AIM (some of you may have to go into BIOS to disable virus scanner, nothing running except Net Stat live
Scheduled tasks will run disk defrag, 98 & SE in Taskbar, WIN ME in control panel


Or if you wish you may go to www.testmyspeed.com (http://www.testmyspeed.com) and do one of the online tests, these vary to much for me but you may like them. Another one is at www.dslreports.com/tools (http://www.dslreports.com/tools) :cool:

Stoneman
03-15-01, 06:52 PM
Lobo,

I had most of the stuff already done, did vctp quite awhile ago, one more question, what do set for the MaxConnections per server, I have both of mine set at 99, is that ok or should I just keep it from the patch on speedguide? How do you have yours set?

Stoneman

Thanks alot Lobo, much appreciated.....

Lobo
03-15-01, 06:58 PM
I'd use the patch on speed guide, I do , also to go alittle faster you may wish to set your RWIN to 474504, nothing in Globalmax box :)

Stoneman
03-15-01, 07:02 PM
Lobo,

Thank you kind sir, you are great, I really appreciate it very much.

I'm in...

Stoneman

Lobo
03-15-01, 07:07 PM
After you make any changes in adjuster, be sure to click on save to registry at bottom and reboot :eek: