PDA

View Full Version : DSLR Tweak Test cannot report RWIN >65K



rmrucker
01-30-01, 06:53 AM
The Tweak Tester at DSLR cannot correctly report your RWIN if you choose an RWIN over 65535. Do not go out of your way trying to figure out why this is so -- it is simply an ERROR in the program that they have NOT fixed. The Tweak Test is FLAWED in this regard. That is it.

Lobo
01-30-01, 07:05 AM
Hi, So if the Vtcp386 Fix is in and the test still shows 65535 it's cool, RWIN above 65536

rmrucker
01-30-01, 07:47 AM
No, in my other post I list the 3 things -- and only 3 things -- that cause the Tweak Test to report an RWIN of 65535 when you have your RWIN set higher than that. They are:
_________________________________________

1) vtcp.386 is not updated -- verify this by checking the version number of your vtcp.386 file. In Win98, it should be 4.10.2223.

2) You do not have Tcp1323Opts correctly set AS A STRING VALUE to "1" or "3". (are you sure it is not a DWORD?)

3) You have chosen an RWIN which can be described by this formula: 65536*n + 65535. (Where n = any integer.)
________________________________________

Those are the ONLY reasons the test will show a 65535 with a higher RWIN.

ALL numbers it shows are not correct -- 65535 is just a special case. If you get 65535 and you do not meet condition #3, then something is wrong with your setup. EITHER:

Vtcp.386 is not updated to v.4.10.2223

-or-

You have Tcp1323Opts as a DWORD, or a String value but NOT at "1" or "3".

I consider the latter two items to be PROBLEMS that you should fix.

[This message has been edited by rmrucker (edited 01-30-2001).]

Lobo
01-30-01, 07:53 AM
Thank you Mr. rmrucker, even printed myelf a copy to have, again thank you

dannjr
01-30-01, 03:10 PM
Hi RFC
Yes its on the router right now the Rwins had to be changed for this test to be posted so there not by the book as far as sizing.

* Please wait .. collecting data
* Your RWIN reads as 352256 (scaling is on)
* All tests passed perfectly.
* We recommend you leave everything as it is!
Detail..
TCPopts hex string is 020405a6010303030101080a000000000000000001010402
Max Segment Size is 1446
Your MTU is set ok
Window Scaling 3 bits (RFC1323)
TSOPT - time stamp option (RFC1323)
SACK Permitted (RFC2018)
Ping stability 81 80 94 80 82 80 81 82 81 80
Quick packet-loss tested ok
Scaled DefaultRcvWindow (RWIN) is 352256
Your RWIN limits you @82.1ms to 34324kbps
Your RWIN limits you @200ms to 14090kbps
Your RWIN is advertised as 352256 (scaling is on)
(Beyond 65k, advertised RWIN is scaled)
Your Path MTU Discovery is ON
Max sized data packet from you 1362
(Which is less than your advertised MSS)
* End
This is there updated test version as of this time frame..
Tcp1323Opts 3
SackOpts 1
TcpMaxDupAcks 3

Please wait .. collecting data
* Your RWIN reads as 515072 (scaling is on)
* All tests passed perfectly.
* We recommend you leave everything as it is!
Detail..
TCPopts hex string is 020405ac010303050101080a000000000000000001010402
Max Segment Size is 1452
Your MTU is set ok
Window Scaling 5 bits (RFC1323)
TSOPT - time stamp option (RFC1323)
SACK Permitted (RFC2018)
Ping stability 82 80 79 80 84 83 80 80 85 80
Quick packet-loss tested ok
Scaled DefaultRcvWindow (RWIN) is 515072
Your RWIN limits you @81.3ms to 50683kbps
Your RWIN limits you @200ms to 20602kbps
Your RWIN is advertised as 515072 (scaling is on)
(Beyond 65k, advertised RWIN is scaled)
Your Path MTU Discovery is ON
Max sized data packet from you 1362
(Which is less than your advertised MSS)
* End

The first one was on win2k the second one on win9xSE

So if we are trying to see if its right or wrong then what are we testing next. I can abandon the math for awhile these settings arn't hurting me.



------------------
Chicago Microsystems (http://microsyspro.com)
dannjr@microsyspro.com
Speedguide has a great search engine (http://www.speedguide.net/cgi-bin/search.cgi?action=intro&default=2)
dannjr@cablenut.com

DXRaceR
01-30-01, 05:40 PM
dann what os you running? and would you mind sending me your best reg tweak.. I am running @home cable and I have high high pings. it sucks.. let me know.. secureip@hotmail.com thanks

dannjr
01-30-01, 07:01 PM
DXRaceR
There is no one magic perfect number I saw your other thread and posted some directions and I feal part of your problem is the size of your pings(428ms I think) that the MTU maybe to big if lowering it doesnt fix it then you have to suck up to the ISP
Good luck

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by DXRaceR:
dann what os you running? and would you mind sending me your best reg tweak.. I am running @home cable and I have high high pings. it sucks.. let me know.. secureip@hotmail.com thanks</font>

rmrucker
01-31-01, 08:12 AM
DXRaceR- if you have high pings, you also need a high RWIN.

Call and complain to your provider about the high pings. NO, it will NOT do any good -- but perhaps if MORE people would complain, then and maybe then they will do something about it. If no one complains, there is NO reason to fix it...

Good luck.