PDA

View Full Version : Installing f@h 1.33b



blebs
02-05-01, 10:06 AM
Could someone tell me the proper procedure for installing 1.33b? If I try to install over the old version machine crashes! If I delete the old and install the new, I'm assigned a new user ID and I'm not or at least I don't think I am, getting credit added to my previous totals.
I'm going berzerk here, so until someone can tell me the right way, I'm living with 1.2 for now.
Thanks :confused:

Charlie
02-05-01, 10:43 AM
Originally posted by blebs99:
Could someone tell me the proper procedure for installing 1.33b? If I try to install over the old version machine crashes! If I delete the old and install the new, I'm assigned a new user ID and I'm not or at least I don't think I am, getting credit added to my previous totals.
I'm going berzerk here, so until someone can tell me the right way, I'm living with 1.2 for now.
Thanks :confused:

Hey blebs99,
Keep 1.2 in untill they get the start up bug fixed.
I'll post a link in a while I didn't have MY COFFEE yet .(New version uninstall old reboot.install new version make copy of your client cfg.file......It says somewhere not to worry about new ID number)I need to wake up

Charlie

Charlie
02-05-01, 10:49 AM
blebs99,

if you have time read some of the postsClick Here To Read Some Posts (http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,428241;root=folding;mode=flat;start=0)


Charlie

blebs
02-05-01, 10:49 AM
I'll wait tell I hear from you after your coffee. I can't do much without it either! :)

blebs
02-05-01, 12:06 PM
Thanks again.
When this is done running this Vilian (ho hum) I'll try it their way and see what happens. I'm running Win 98se , so I hope it speeds things up a little. :D

Charlie
02-05-01, 12:31 PM
Getting close
Found on yahoo

Message 548 of 1349 | Previous | Next [ Up Thread ] Message Index Msg #

From: "Ryan Doherty" <rdoherty@c...>
Date: Tue Jan 9, 2001 12:24pm
Subject: Re: Slow Server Response


Basically, what you'll need to do is:

- make sure the 4 clients are in different directories.
- use a text editor to open the cfg file.
- delete the user ID in the file and replace it with a 0 (zero)
- When you connect to the server, it will assign you a new unique user
ID for each of the clients.

The username should be the same for all 4 clients, but the user ID
should be different for every instance of the program.

Good Luck Folding!


Ryan

--- In folding-at-home@egroups.com, "Manu " <emmanuel.bourgeois2@l...>
wrote:
> That does help, thanks.
>
> Just for personal information: I have 4 clients running with -local
> flag (I did understood that at least!) but as I said 3 of them had
> the same username and user ID (made some cut/paste of the cfg file).
> Does this explain why I got 3 time the same unit to work on, at the
> same time (the 4 clients updated at the same time), or is this
> related to something else?
>
>
>
> --- In folding-at-home@egroups.com, "Jérôme Landgräfe"
> <landgrae@u...> wrote:
> > --- In folding-at-home@egroups.com, "Manu "
> <emmanuel.bourgeois2@l...>
> > wrote:
> > > So, how to get a UserID? Do I erase the one that is set in
> the .cfg
> > > file and the client will update "automagically" the user ID?
> > >
> > > So on this case :1 machine 2 CPU 4 clients, Should I use 4
> username
> > > or only the same username for those clients?
> > >
> > > I'm a bit confused here.
> > Hi,
> > you can set the userid to "0", which should get you a new userid
> > "automagically". The _user name_ (line starting with email=)
should
> be
> > the same on all PCs (and be aware: upper/lowercase, spaces etc.
are
> > important...) Best run f@h... with " -local", so that registry is
> ignored.
> > Hope this helps,
> > Jérôme