PDA

View Full Version : Desktop and a network printer wired and wireless issue ?



zillah
04-24-20, 07:30 PM
Dear folk

I have a printer HP Laser Jet M5035 MFP connected wired to an ADSL router and desktop windows 10 home connected to the same router wirelessly.
The printer can't send a scanned document to a shared folder on the desktop.

But if I connect the desktop wired to the same router everything working fine

What could be the cause ?

Thx

Philip
04-24-20, 08:07 PM
Sometimes Wireless networks can be set in "isolated", or guest mode, meaning wireless clients are not able to see shared resources and printers on the network. Look through the router settings. Also, it is sometimes possible to set the Wireless in a different IP subnet, which would also prevent you from seeing the printer. Make sure the first 3 octets of your IPs, i.e. 192.168.0.* are the same for both wired and wireless clients.

I hope this helps.

zillah
04-24-20, 08:23 PM
Thanks Philip
I will check that and report back

zillah
04-30-20, 11:10 AM
Philip I have an issue
I was trying to troubleshoot and report back but I run into another issue
Via a team viewer I logged in into a remote computer and from that computer I can ping the ip address of its LAN's router 192.168.1.1 (I guess it is Netgear but not sure) and I pinged the ip address of the printer 192.168.1.8 all no issue .
Tried to logged into the router webpage (192.168.1.1) using two different browsers Chrome and IE ,,,,it says accessed

This site is not secure

This might mean that someone’s trying to fool you or steal any info you send to the server. You should close this site immediately.



Go to your Start page
Details
Your PC doesn’t trust this website’s security certificate.
Error Code: DLG_FLAGS_INVALID_CA
Go on to the webpage (Not recommended)

I clicked on : Go on to the webpage,,,,,The below message popped up

403 Forbidden

Philip
04-30-20, 07:12 PM
That "Not Secure" is typical for older routers, as they do not have SSL web interface, you correctly clicked to "continue anyway".

The "403 Forbidden" message is web servers' response when you try to connect to a resource you have no right to access.. If you are not presented with a login dialog either the router's web server has crashed (sometimes a router reboot fixes that), or the login is not allowed from that IP, or you are trying to access it via the wrong port (80 vs 8080 sometimes), or it requires access through some domain name (some Netgear routers work with www.routerlogin.net ), or someone else is logged in tot he admin account without logging out (not typical), or the router web server does not support your web browser, or something similar.

Do different web browsers come up with the same 403 error?

zillah
05-01-20, 03:24 AM
Do different web browsers come up with the same 403 error?
Firefox and Chrome

https://imgur.com/a/KJ5MjTR

Tried both ports 80 & 8080 no joy


Didn't let me in
www.routerlogin.net

Philip
05-02-20, 07:30 PM
Does rebooting the router work?

Sometimes the cable/dsl modem is at 192.168.1.1 and a secondary WiFi router is at a different IP ? What is the gateway IP when you do "ipconfig /all" in command prompt, is it 192.168.1.1 ? (it could still be something other than the router, the gateway IP is the DHCP server, but it can still be served by the modem if the router is in AP mode).

zillah
05-02-20, 08:22 PM
Does rebooting the router work?
Unfortunate not


Sometimes the cable/dsl modem is at 192.168.1.1 and a secondary WiFi router is at a different IP ?
It is all in one box modem and adsl router.


What is the gateway IP when you do "ipconfig /all" in command prompt, is it 192.168.1.1 ? (
https://imgur.com/a/lIinGHg

Philip
05-03-20, 05:32 AM
The router/modem is definitely at 192.168.1.1 ... The Wireless must have been configured at some point, was it done via the web interface that is now not working?

I would use a wired LAN port to try to connect to the admin panel, WiFi login may be blocked, or there may even be some MAC/IP restriction.
If you can't reach the web interface at all, factory reset is usually the next step, but with it also being the ADSL modem you may run into other configuration issues afterwards.

zillah
05-03-20, 05:42 AM
I would use a wired LAN port to try to connect to the admin panel,
I tried that and it failed


factory reset is usually the next step
I guess yes


the ADSL modem you may run into other configuration issues afterwards.
Shouldn't be a problem

Regards