PDA

View Full Version : Problems with small Network



GrovesPoint
02-12-00, 04:18 PM
I have a small network three computers with hub. It used to be two computers connected directly together without a hub. Is there an easy way to fix that wire that connects the two machines adaptors or something like that.

------------------
Sincerely,
David G. Kimbley

TonyT
02-13-00, 08:36 PM
Sorry if it's me or your English but I don't understand your question. More info please!

Is there a problem w/ your cabling?

Are you using the same wire that you used when you had it setuo w/out a hub? If so then you may need different cables other than "crossover" type cables.

GrovesPoint
02-13-00, 09:36 PM
The wire which previously connected the two computers was cat/5 and I am trying to use it without rewiring. What I am trying to find out is if there is a way I can use some kind of off the shelf adaptor to make it work in the hub situation.

David

------------------
Sincerely,
David G. Kimbley

TonyT
02-13-00, 09:52 PM
The cat5 should plug right into the hub w/out adapters.

you can check here:
http://www.sohointer.net/



[This message has been edited by TonyT (edited 02-13-2000).]

JBJ
02-15-00, 02:28 PM
If you connected two computers together without a hub, you were using a crossover cable. You need to buy new patch cables that are wired straight across (the same on both ends). After you do that, everything should work fine.

GrovesPoint
02-15-00, 03:40 PM
Thanks for the information.



Originally posted by JBJ:
If you connected two computers together without a hub, you were using a crossover cable. You need to buy new patch cables that are wired straight across (the same on both ends). After you do that, everything should work fine.