PDA

View Full Version : online gaming patch



Bealert
04-14-00, 03:06 PM
Does anyone know of a cable modem patch for online gaming? My download speeds are very good but when i play games online(TFC) my ping is 1000ms with lots of packet loss.
please help!

lambsona
04-14-00, 11:49 PM
This site right here has patches...and they do help. But 1000ms ping times sounds strangely horrible to me. Are these servers you want to play at located in Antarctica? Is your game config for net play optimized as far as rate? (Quake2,3 for example, allow you to adjust rate which helps somewhat with ping times and tremndously with packetloss if the problem is on your side. Some game servers cap the rate but most allow at least 10,000 or so)Anyhow, traceroute the server(s) in question, try to find ones that are fewest hops and\or located in the same universe, and certainly get speedguide's patches. Read the info on this site...much can be understood to assist you

Bealert
04-15-00, 11:01 AM
I was getting 70ms until last week. I have tried adjusting rate, pushlatency etc. The servers i am using are in my favorites and i was consistently getting 70ms pings. My isp was just bought out by sprint and problems coincide with this transfer of ownership.

Drastick
04-15-00, 07:22 PM
rate and pushlatency, you must be talking about cs. =)

ok first i would set your rate to 5000 and your pushlatency to 0 for now. also start up CS but dont joina server. in the join list change it to DSL or whatever corresponds to u, cs team said this could cause some of the problems. 2ndly i dunno if you do or not but i wouldnt use the CS gaming server engine halflife whatever. i use kali, gamespy i hear is good, but i wouldnt use the CS server finder because it usually finds allt he bad servers.

lambsona
04-16-00, 06:03 PM
Sounds like the new ISP owners may have a whole new traffic route...sending you to China then back to make connects...I'd still traceroute these servers and find hop counts and where your internet backbone connect is made..http://www.visualroute.com/
grab Visual Route...draws a nice map of hop locations..

lambsona
04-16-00, 06:05 PM
Sounds like the new ISP owners may have a whole new traffic route...sending you to China then back to make connects...I'd still traceroute these servers and find hop counts and where your internet backbone connect is made..http://www.visualroute.com/
grab Visual Route...draws a nice map of hop locations..