PDA

View Full Version : ADSL, Cable, T1?



swat_701
05-27-00, 07:24 AM
ok....I wana know which is the best...and I wana know what they ping on average....download speed...etc....Im getting ADSL soon 384/128 35000ft from CO..I wana know what Ill ping on average...and download rate.... http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif
thanx alot!

swat

Scorpion99
05-28-00, 12:20 AM
1. Without a doubt T1 would be the fastes/most stable/most secure out of those (also the most expensive).

2. Damn you, Im 18000 feet from my CO and can only get 144/144 IDSL (which I hope to be getting with in the month).

3. Your max DL with 384/128 is 48k/sec.

4. Pings will vary. Depending on the server youre playing on and the noise level of your connection. If its a nice solid connection you have you can expect pings probably around the 40-50 mark on a good server, maybe a little lower.


------------------
--Scorp

swat_701
05-28-00, 06:41 AM
thanx alot!
anymore more people have more things?

Veech
05-28-00, 08:58 AM
I know alot of people who play quake2 with flashcom on the eastern seaboard. 1 i know is in NJ and he pings under 10MS to some gamer servers. That is crazy cause i saw his pings via gamespy. He says his service is lagging when he ping 15ms.... So i dunno heh

I know other people with flashcom that ping 15-30 ms it all depends...

MadMaN
05-28-00, 09:31 AM
Again, it all depends on the servers your connecting to, however for the most part you can expect your ADSL to be pretty much a smooth ride for any game http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

Battleship
05-29-00, 10:35 AM
All depends on your individual ISP. If your DSL ISP is fast then your speeds will be good. If they subpar then your speeds will be crap. You cant say cable is faster than DSL or vice-versa, its not that simple. Then of course caps also come into play.
BTW , I use cable and it is by far faster than DSL in my area, almost 3 times as fast in generally file tranfers and gaming.
Good luck

Brent
05-30-00, 05:11 PM
WTF? Your 35,000 feet away from your c/o and you are getting that fast of a speed? Ummmm, No

the cutoff point is 14,000 Feet for ADSL, over that you have to get IDSL which is only 144/144kbps

I'm 39,000 feet from my c/o so no ADSL for me

------------------
a.k.a Borg Drone
Owner/Webmaster
Core Meltdown www.coremeltdown.com (http://www.coremeltdown.com)

Forum: http://www.coremeltdown.com/cgi-bin/ubbcgi/Ultimate.cgi

Out the 100TX, through the linksys router/switch, down the cable modem, over the Tap, off the bridge, past the node, straight up the gateway, past the head end office....nothing but Net