PDA

View Full Version : Speed Test



tekelberry
01-21-01, 12:58 AM
ATTENTION MODERATORS/ADMINS: Hey you guys should have a speed test. Instead of us having to go to like dslreports we can do it right here. You should also have a registry tester to see if the setting were installed successfully.

Just an idea.

[This message has been edited by tekelberry (edited 01-21-2001).]

Prey521
01-21-01, 02:36 AM
Hehehe, yeah, give DSL Reports a run for there money http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif

cornbread
01-21-01, 03:14 AM
great suggestion "tek" http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

Scoot
01-21-01, 05:45 PM
Got to agree!
Phillip,are you listening?
Maybe R2(rmrucker) could help out and make it work right.

------------------
Quest for Knowledge
http://w1.511.telia.com/~u51102888/anims/computer/hackanm.gif

crazyman
01-21-01, 05:57 PM
ya,good idea....make it a high quality one though...

------------------
http://a.PostMyPic.com/a.nsf/Z/01slot1VMXF/$file/01slot1.gif

tekelberry
01-21-01, 06:23 PM
Hey any moderators or admins listening?

Thanks!

Philip
01-22-01, 12:04 AM
As far as a speed test, we've thought about it, even made one but there are reasons why we didn't release it...

1. They're not reliable
2. They consume a lot of bandwidth
3. There are 100's of them out there
4. Simply downloading a large file from a fast site works better than those small website tests
.....

As far as the other suggestion about the Registry checker, sounds interesting, we might even add some other features, although my Java is somewhat rusty...

Lobo
01-31-01, 02:17 PM
Regestry checker or tweak tester, Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brent
01-31-01, 02:26 PM
Yeah as Philip said, the main problem is Bandwith

Our line just isn't fast enough to accomodate all of you trying to do a speed test, plus in time it would cost more from us eating up our tiny bandwith, not to mention server overload, heh

It's just not possible at this time

John
01-31-01, 03:14 PM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Regestry checker or tweak tester, Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! </font>

It would be easier to write a program to do that rather than write a server side script to do it... I think there are some out there.

JANDOENT
01-31-01, 09:30 PM
But you have to admit,that nothing can bring people to a site the way that tests do...

------------------
Inquiring minds want to know...

Indy
02-05-01, 03:18 AM
How about sponsoring a bandwidth meter that resides on the client? Find someone with a little bit of VB experience, have them code a net monitor, put the speedguide logo on it as well as a hyperlink, and, voila, a cool program with a backlink to the website :D