PDA

View Full Version : Promise ATA/66 not booting my Primary HD?



BMED
03-05-00, 10:40 PM
How the hell do you get this Promise ata/66 card to Boot my HD? I've tried everthing under the sun. I have a Compaq 5070 and when I install the card on my primary HD it will not boot(system does not see os). When I hook up to my secondary HD it's works great! My bios has only three settings for booting,floppy,cd,C:hd. When I have the controller card on my primary hd my bios only gives two options,floppy and cd. If anybody has any input with this issue I would greatly appreciate it. This PC is only 10 months old and I figure it would be able to handle such a simple task. So my main problem is NO BOOT with Promise Card attached to primary HD...........I sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo confused. http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/frown.gif


------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/mi2/downloadit/redwing.gif

[HTO]Viper
03-06-00, 11:43 AM
you need to set the boot drive to scsi for it to boot off of the promise card i had the same problem if you do not have this selection in your bios you out of luck

mylnym
03-06-00, 03:55 PM
The usual 'fix' for this kind of problem is to upgrade your BIOS to the latest version. Hopefully, that newer version will give you the option to boot from SCSI, which is what you need.

Hell_Yes
03-06-00, 10:41 PM
BMED,

Didn't you say that your Bios would recognize the ata/66 drive the last time you posted?? Unless you can boot SCSI, you cannot boot from this card.

The Compaq web site had nothing?

Is there a setting for Primary IDE/ Secondary IDE/SCSI


BTW..... GO DEVILS!!!!

BMED
03-07-00, 11:45 AM
Originally posted by Hell_Yes:


BMED,

Didn't you say that your Bios would recognize the ata/66 drive the last time you posted?? Unless you can boot SCSI, you cannot boot from this card.

The Compaq web site had nothing?

Is there a setting for Primary IDE/ Secondary IDE/SCSI
That is what I was led to believe when I spoke with Compaq and SiS....Enough of this trying to make something work in a Compaq, I'm sending this from work because I building a whole new machine and I will be down for a couple of days. It will support everything I need including Ultra ATA/66. See ya all then! Boycott Compaq!

BTW..... THE DEVILS SUCK!!!!



------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/mi2/downloadit/redwing.gif

Hell_Yes
03-07-00, 10:00 PM
Good luck on the new machine!!
Dealing with mainstream companies and their proprietary bios' is riduculous. Well AMD announce 1 GHz Athlons.... Dig in!!!

BTW... My, ain't you Detroit fans touchy!?
(snicker)

BMED
03-09-00, 06:26 AM
Originally posted by Hell_Yes:


Good luck on the new machine!!
Dealing with mainstream companies and their proprietary bios' is riduculous. Well AMD announce 1 GHz Athlons.... Dig in!!!

BTW... My, ain't you Detroit fans touchy!?
(snicker)
Touchy is a understatement! This new box rules, just need to get speeds back to normal......time to tweak! Later



------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/mi2/downloadit/redwing.gif

Kees
03-18-00, 02:00 AM
I use the same card and it works very good! I am impressed with its performance!

I can boot both ways: scsi or normal. The only difference is the total "boot-up time" as the computer skips part of the standard IDE-booting while using SCSI.

1)Make sure you have your Promise card ALONE on an IRQ! Do not use IRQ-sharing for this card...it hates it and it kills performance!
If possible: Assign an IRQ to its PCI-slot in the bios and make sure Windows does not add another device to share!
2)Be sure to use the correct ATA66 cable and be shure to install the cable correctly: Look at the color of the plug!(see manual)
3)Make sure to install the drivers and check if Windows has detected it properly as a SCSI
device in control-panel (not a mass-storage device)
4)Do not connect a bootable harddisk to your IDE as well if you can not set the booting-option to scsi in your bios! If you have to connect an extra HD to your IDE you should make sure it has NO c:\(primary)partition.
What I did was attaching both HD's to IDE..Install them properly with FDISK, making the HD that was going to be on my Promise the primary with the boot-partition..
and format them correctly with the systemfiles. Than I moved the primary HD to the promise and had no problems!
5)Make sure UDMA is enabled for your other devices as well as this gives more stability and speed for your Promise too!

Mail me if it still does not work!

BMED
03-20-00, 07:01 PM
All's Well Now! I used an ASUS P5A MB with this new box and everything is completly normal and running great! The IRQ's are very tricky because I also run many PCI devices that were clashing. I beefed up this box to the point that it screams now. http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/tongue.gif..... and i like it! Thanks to all for the advice, Chow!