PDA

View Full Version : AMD k6 III 450



Recordlord
03-04-00, 10:40 PM
Anyone tried overclocking this bad boy yet??
I am running a K2 400 to 500 currently and have heard the K III are supposed to be bad ass chips with L3 cache available and tough to O/C. Thinking about getting one if it worth the hassle. Chip prices are phenominal right now 500 mhz $44. That is cheap!!

Homer
03-04-00, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by Recordlord:
Anyone tried overclocking this bad boy yet??
I am running a K2 400 to 500 currently and have heard the K III are supposed to be bad ass chips with L3 cache available and tough to O/C. Thinking about getting one if it worth the hassle. Chip prices are phenominal right now 500 mhz $44. That is cheap!!
I don't have a 450 but I if it helps I can tell you my K6 III 400 (similar) overclocks to 450 OK. 100Mhz x 4.5. Just make sure you take care of cooling. My cpu would run 450 OK with a standard type heatsink/fan, It seemed stable when running Quake III but when running UT it would play a while but then auto quit UT and return to the desktop. I then added a huge WinGlobal Heatsink/fan combo and now it runs rock solid. Being running this setup for about 8 months with no problems.

bug
03-05-00, 07:02 AM
What motherboards are you guys using? I have an Asus P5A-B. Will it work with an AMD hi-end CPU?

Fixxer
03-06-00, 05:49 AM
ASUS P5A has FSB settings up to 120mhz I think, and 6x multi. so it could in theory support a 720mhz K6-2 or K6-3

jdesman
03-06-00, 07:10 PM
I have an AMD k6 II 450. It's running on an Epox motherboard with a VIA chipset. I can't seem to get it to run overclocked at 500. When it loads I get error messages about windows explorer crashing, and then I get the "Blue Screen of Death". Does anyone know about any driver patches to fix this problem? Let me know.

Fixxer
03-06-00, 07:52 PM
if it ain't stable it ain't stable.. you'll either have to try uping the voltage a lil to try and make it stable, get extra cooling, up the voltage and get extra cooling, or just run it at the default speed.

maroon
03-08-00, 10:37 AM
I have an AMD 400 K6-2 oc'ed to 427.5 (4.5 x 95). I like the setup because it runs stable and doesn't need additional cooling.

My mobo's (super 7) max setting for FSB is 100mhz. Now, from a sheer performance standpoint should I return the FSB to 100mhz and just run at 450?

No flames please, I'm still learnin'.

Recordlord
03-08-00, 06:42 PM
Maroon, I would go ahead and run at 450 mhz. You will get better performance with the higher FSB speed. A huge noticeable difference!! If you are using the 2.2 v chip try 2.4 v. I O/Cd mine a month after having it. I think it truly runs better at 450 than 400!! Watch your temps mine runs cool at 450 though!!

Bandit
03-09-00, 12:36 AM
check <A HREF="http://www.overclockers.com
click" TARGET=_blank>www.overclockers.com
click</A> on CPU DATABSE and you will find posts of overclocked other CPUs that have been overclocked like K6-2 450

Bandit
03-09-00, 12:37 AM
damn lick got screwed up


www.overclockers.com

Amro
03-09-00, 11:55 PM
I hear ya, i have a celeron 433, and it's over clocked to 541 mhz w/ a bus speed of 83 mhz and since the pci bus is at like (i think) 47 mhz instead of like 33 EVERYTHING runs faster..it's sweet

------------------
"If a man could have half his wishes, he would double his troubles."
-Benjamin Franklin

jdesman
03-12-00, 06:15 PM
Does anyone know the dangers involved by raising the core voltage up to attain a higher clock speed? I can handle the heat. With cpuidle and the case against an outside wall my cpu temp on a K6-2 450 is only 75F. I think it is at 2.4v When I jump up the multiplier to 5x Windows crashes just after booting. If I tried it at 2.6v would I have a better chance? What could go wrong?