PDA

View Full Version : gaming lag and video card



Rampage
02-22-00, 05:13 PM
I have a pentium i740 3d card 8mb (yea i know it stinks). Now should I set my video mode as open GL Direct 3d? or that other one like normal 3d or something. What resolution would you recommend setting as well as cl_maxfps for games. I have @home cable (dunno one way or two way) My monitor is a MultiSync XV 17+ inch NEC Thanks


------------------
Words can be written on stone but stone can be broken.

Sephiroth
02-22-00, 05:16 PM
OpenGL if yer card supports it resolution 800 by 600 or 1024 by ????(i forgot the other number) http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif o well and if u "game" go buy yerself a voodoo

Evangelion-01
02-22-00, 05:26 PM
Blah,
Voodoos are overated, I would go with a Geforce chip any day over a Voodoo (plus Voodoo only comes in 16mb) I would recomend the Gillamont Prophet Geforce, or wait for a bit till the 64mb Geforce comes out.
Voodoo, who needs em =P

Pen
02-22-00, 08:12 PM
Don't count Voodoo out yet! http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif They are getting ready to release their new line of cards. They are going to blow the Riva cards away! Yes, the Riva cards are nice. But check the new Voodoo 6500 that comes with 4 Video processors and it's own powersupply!

YEAH BABY YAH!!! http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/tongue.gif

BadBen
02-22-00, 08:25 PM
Maybe 3dfx will come with some good stuff. But wait for the new Chip from Nvidia coming htis fall. Probably kicks Voodoo 4-5. 3dfx is dead.

HongKongPolice
02-22-00, 08:48 PM
I've gotta VD3 2000 PCI overclocked to 190Mhz and I get 62fps in Q3 Demo001 @ 1024 @ high quality, nothing to laugh at, VD3z rule considering they are so CHEAP, GeForce can be up to 4 times more expensive but of course you don't get 4 times the speed.

Brent
02-22-00, 08:55 PM
Man a Regular Pentium 1 and a i740 and ONLY 8MB of RAM!!!! Yikes! What kind of games do you play?

With cable modem you don't have to worry about cl_maxfps.

And as for weather to use D3D or OGL, that depends on the Game and what it uses.

Make sure you have the latest Drivers for your Video Card and DX7.

I think Right now the DDR GeForce is the best bet, the Voodoo4 is nothin but a faster V3 with 32bit color.

Voodoo technology is All recycled technology. The Voodoo 1 was revolutionary but ever since then they just keep reusing the same ole tech, nothing really new or exciting. The NV15 from Nvidia should be really nice.

Plus who is gonna pay $600 for a video card that has it's own powersupply!

Bouncer
02-23-00, 02:32 AM
In order to keep the potential flamewar out of this forum, I'm moving this over to Hardware. Thanks.

TigerUpperCut, I'd be interested in knowing how you did that, and what additions you made in the way of heatsinks, etc...

Regards,
-Bouncer-

------------------
"Yeah Baby, YEAH!!!"

Hell_Yes
02-23-00, 11:52 PM
You know what love about 3dfx, nvidea and Matrox? The intense rivalry has force these companies to put out some of th must intense computing machines on the planet. These cards are like supercomputers with in a computer.... Knowing what I know, I am amazed!

Who's better? Who cares!! Just gimme faster and faster polygons

Battleship
02-24-00, 12:37 AM
Hell_Yes you're right, you would probably be happy with anyone of the new 3d accelerators on the market. Keep this in mind though if anyone is gonna buy a GeForce, the SDR version of the cards suck for the amount of money you pay for them, you might as well pay the extre 50-75 bucks for the DDR which increases framerate considerably.

Homer
03-04-00, 11:22 PM
You didn't mention how fast is your pentium.Lets assume (ass out of you and me) that it's good enough for quake III. If ya playing Q3 online your(Intel) video card and not your cable connection is going to be you frame rate bottle neck. For this reason make the graphix ugly, Yep ULGY with a Capital U. For Q3 turning off Light Sourcing in game options will have the biggest impact. While your there turn of all the rest of the game options except for ID target. In the display options, set geometry to low, set lighting to Vertex, etc etc etc. It may look ugly by it'll run faster which is all that matters online. Online there are two types of people. The Quick and the Fragged.

[This message has been edited by Homer (edited 03-04-2000).]

[HTO]Viper
03-06-00, 11:50 AM
the i740 was the slowest video card when it was released ,visual quality was ok
if ya do not want to spend alot of money just add a v2 1000,or a v3-3000
as for the geoforce would not be a good idea on a pentium fine for p2 and p3 but not the regular pentium just too slow

Hell_Yes
03-06-00, 11:18 PM
Homer,

I had a huge problem when I went from my Voodoo Banshee to my GEForce 256DDE with online Quake. www.planetquake.com (http://www.planetquake.com) had the tweeks I needed to make it work and work beautifully. One problem is that with the incredible frame rates the newer boards offer. You must limit the frame rate transfer to about 30 fps. This will update the server on your location 30 times a sec (no sh*t). If you try at the frame rates your board updates your screen, your ping shoots through the roof and chokes you off. This will not effect the visual performance of your card!!!

I do love ALL these new cards!!!

Hell_Yes
03-06-00, 11:19 PM
Homer,

I had a huge problem when I went from my Voodoo Banshee to my GEForce 256DDE with online Quake. www.planetquake.com (http://www.planetquake.com) had the tweeks I needed to make it work and work beautifully. One problem is that with the incredible frame rates the newer boards offer. You must limit the frame rate transfer to about 30 fps. This will update the server on your location 30 times a sec (no sh*t). If you try at the frame rates your board updates your screen, your ping shoots through the roof and chokes you off. Even if you have cable or DSL service. This will not effect the visual performance of your card!!!

I do love ALL these new cards!!!

mndeg
03-15-00, 03:24 PM
I would have to say the v3 and 3500 suck. They are outdated and plain slow.
16 bit 256x256 texture size means crappy looking image quality and BETA opengl drivers.
what is this?
Also the v5 got 22 fps running w/ FSAA on the game revolt @ 640x???.
That is plain SLOW.
3dfx is dead.
http://people.ce.mediaone.net/mndeg/cs_militia0000.JPG