PDA

View Full Version : How to reconnect one computer to a network?



ilyaz
05-02-08, 12:41 PM
I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all updates.
Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore WinXP from a
restoration CD.
I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I connect
this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing network?
Thanks for your suggestions.

--
Ilya Zeldes
Fort Myers, Florida

Dave
05-02-08, 01:46 PM
"ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:uKE%23IvHrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all updates.
>Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore WinXP from a
>restoration CD.
> I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I connect
> this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing network?
> Thanks for your suggestions.
>
> --
> Ilya Zeldes
> Fort Myers, Florida
>
the same way you connected it the first time.

ilyaz
05-02-08, 01:53 PM
If I remember it, I would... I tried to use the wizard, but got nowhere...
Ilya

"Dave" <noone@nowhere.com> wrote in message
news:euy3wTIrIHA.4544@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>
> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:uKE%23IvHrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>>I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all updates.
>>Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore WinXP from a
>>restoration CD.
>> I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I connect
>> this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing network?
>> Thanks for your suggestions.
>>
>> --
>> Ilya Zeldes
>> Fort Myers, Florida
>>
> the same way you connected it the first time.
>

Phillip Windell
05-02-08, 02:15 PM
There's almost always an icon down by the clock for the wireless adapter.
Either open it or right-click on it and choose to view current wireless
networks. When you see the list pick the proper "network" and connect to
it.

--
Phillip Windell
www.wandtv.com

The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or Microsoft,
or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
-----------------------------------------------------

"ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:ucwSIXIrIHA.4788@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
> If I remember it, I would... I tried to use the wizard, but got nowhere...
> Ilya
>
> "Dave" <noone@nowhere.com> wrote in message
> news:euy3wTIrIHA.4544@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>>
>> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:uKE%23IvHrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>>>I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all
>>>updates. Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore
>>>WinXP from a restoration CD.
>>> I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I connect
>>> this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing network?
>>> Thanks for your suggestions.
>>>
>>> --
>>> Ilya Zeldes
>>> Fort Myers, Florida
>>>
>> the same way you connected it the first time.
>>
>
>

ilyaz
05-02-08, 02:43 PM
Phillip, thanks for your suggestion. The problem is that the setup on this
machine is virgin. I just restored WinXP from a manufacturer restoration
disk. There is NOTHING, but the WinXP itself. Everything must be reinstalled
from the square one. I attempted to reinstall the PCI adapter, but the
wizard would not do it. I think, the first step would be to connect this
machine to the DSL modem directly, but it will require taking everything
down and relocating it to another room. If I can avoid it somehow, I'd do...
Ilya

"Phillip Windell" <philwindell@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:%23QJjSjIrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
> There's almost always an icon down by the clock for the wireless adapter.
> Either open it or right-click on it and choose to view current wireless
> networks. When you see the list pick the proper "network" and connect to
> it.
>
> --
> Phillip Windell
> www.wandtv.com
>
> The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or
> Microsoft,
> or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
> -----------------------------------------------------
>
> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:ucwSIXIrIHA.4788@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>> If I remember it, I would... I tried to use the wizard, but got
>> nowhere...
>> Ilya
>>
>> "Dave" <noone@nowhere.com> wrote in message
>> news:euy3wTIrIHA.4544@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>>>
>>> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>>> news:uKE%23IvHrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>>>>I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all
>>>>updates. Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore
>>>>WinXP from a restoration CD.
>>>> I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I
>>>> connect this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing
>>>> network?
>>>> Thanks for your suggestions.
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> Ilya Zeldes
>>>> Fort Myers, Florida
>>>>
>>> the same way you connected it the first time.
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

Dave
05-02-08, 03:21 PM
if you don't have the mfg cd for the wireless card use one of your other
machines to go download the mfg installation files, put them on a cd, and
install from that... and then save the cd so you can reinstall in the
future.

"ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:e277czIrIHA.4280@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Phillip, thanks for your suggestion. The problem is that the setup on this
> machine is virgin. I just restored WinXP from a manufacturer restoration
> disk. There is NOTHING, but the WinXP itself. Everything must be
> reinstalled from the square one. I attempted to reinstall the PCI adapter,
> but the wizard would not do it. I think, the first step would be to
> connect this machine to the DSL modem directly, but it will require taking
> everything down and relocating it to another room. If I can avoid it
> somehow, I'd do...
> Ilya
>
> "Phillip Windell" <philwindell@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:%23QJjSjIrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>> There's almost always an icon down by the clock for the wireless adapter.
>> Either open it or right-click on it and choose to view current wireless
>> networks. When you see the list pick the proper "network" and connect to
>> it.
>>
>> --
>> Phillip Windell
>> www.wandtv.com
>>
>> The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or
>> Microsoft,
>> or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
>> -----------------------------------------------------
>>
>> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:ucwSIXIrIHA.4788@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>>> If I remember it, I would... I tried to use the wizard, but got
>>> nowhere...
>>> Ilya
>>>
>>> "Dave" <noone@nowhere.com> wrote in message
>>> news:euy3wTIrIHA.4544@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>>>>
>>>> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>>>> news:uKE%23IvHrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>>>>>I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all
>>>>>updates. Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore
>>>>>WinXP from a restoration CD.
>>>>> I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I
>>>>> connect this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing
>>>>> network?
>>>>> Thanks for your suggestions.
>>>>>
>>>>> --
>>>>> Ilya Zeldes
>>>>> Fort Myers, Florida
>>>>>
>>>> the same way you connected it the first time.
>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

John
05-02-08, 03:38 PM
"ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:e277czIrIHA.4280@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Phillip, thanks for your suggestion. The problem is that the setup on this
> machine is virgin. I just restored WinXP from a manufacturer restoration
> disk. There is NOTHING, but the WinXP itself. Everything must be
> reinstalled

The main thing to do is to get internet connection thru your wireless
connection. After that, you can get everything off of the internet.

> I attempted to reinstall the PCI adapter, but the wizard would not do it.

What device is that? Wireless network interface card?

> I think, the first step would be to connect this machine to the DSL modem
> directly,

Or you can use one of the other 2 PCs to download WiFi card driver. Install
WiFi driver and join your wireless network.

> but it will require taking everything down and relocating it to another
> room. If I can avoid it somehow, I'd do...

That's doing it the hard way.

Jack \(MVP-Networking\).
05-02-08, 04:19 PM
Hi
This page describes the general processes to make the network work.
http://www.ezlan.net/debug.html
This on specifically for Wireless, http://www.ezlan.net/wireless/html
Jack (MVP-Networking).

"ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:uKE%23IvHrIHA.4884@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>I had a wireless network of 3 machine. All WinXP with SP2 and all updates.
>Recently, I have to reformate a HD on one machine and restore WinXP from a
>restoration CD.
> I don't want to create a new network for all 3 machine. How do I connect
> this new machine to Internet and reconnect it to my existing network?
> Thanks for your suggestions.
>
> --
> Ilya Zeldes
> Fort Myers, Florida
>

ilyaz
05-02-08, 10:27 PM
Well, folks, thanks for all the suggestions. After a few unsuccessful
attempt to get my Linksys PCI going, I installed a TRENDnet adapter and got
connected in no time...
Thanks again for your assistance.
Ilya

"John" <a> wrote in message news:OGtM6RJrIHA.3568@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>
> "ilyaz" <ilyaz33@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:e277czIrIHA.4280@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>> Phillip, thanks for your suggestion. The problem is that the setup on
>> this machine is virgin. I just restored WinXP from a manufacturer
>> restoration disk. There is NOTHING, but the WinXP itself. Everything must
>> be reinstalled
>
> The main thing to do is to get internet connection thru your wireless
> connection. After that, you can get everything off of the internet.
>
>> I attempted to reinstall the PCI adapter, but the wizard would not do it.
>
> What device is that? Wireless network interface card?
>
>> I think, the first step would be to connect this machine to the DSL modem
>> directly,
>
> Or you can use one of the other 2 PCs to download WiFi card driver.
> Install WiFi driver and join your wireless network.
>
>> but it will require taking everything down and relocating it to another
>> room. If I can avoid it somehow, I'd do...
>
> That's doing it the hard way.
>