PDA

View Full Version : Ethernet Calble/LAN not working



MapleE.
04-21-08, 06:18 PM
Hi:
When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and
plug-into the PC with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port.

One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
my LAN-connection is NOT working?

Any help on this regard would be appreciated.

Thanks,

smlunatick
04-21-08, 08:11 PM
On Apr 21, 7:18*pm, "MapleE." <ae...@comcast.net> wrote:
> Hi:
> When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and
> plug-into the PC with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
> the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port. *
>
> One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
> my LAN-connection is NOT working?
>
> Any help on this regard would be appreciated.
>
> Thanks,

Un-plugging and re-plugging can "break" cables. How long have you
being do this?

What or to where, is ether "other" end of the cable connected to/ It
should be a routerm switch or hub.

Jack \(MVP-Networking\).
04-21-08, 09:22 PM
Hi
Check the viability of the Network settings on the XP Computer.
http://www.ezlan.net/debug.html
Jack (MVP-Networking).

"MapleE." <aelmo@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:%231QMUYApIHA.5016@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Hi:
> When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and plug-into the PC
> with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
> the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port.
> One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
> my LAN-connection is NOT working?
>
> Any help on this regard would be appreciated.
>
> Thanks,

MapleE.
04-22-08, 12:32 AM
Thanks for the response.

The PC with XP is fairly new and have been trying to establish
Internet Connection since two days ago, last Saturday.

In regard to 'other end' is hooked up modem/router combo that
my ISP, Comcast has been providing.

As to 'break' Ehternet Cable, ... it works, when I re-hooked with
the PC with Vista, then in my guess, ... it's my ISP that has limited
connections, 5(five) connections allowed.

My most concern is that, ... How to abandon connection with the PC
with Vista in order to establish a connection onto the PC with XP?

Thanks,


"smlunatick" <yveslec@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:984609a0-6fce-4aa5-8bf9-7ca5e189ca89@d1g2000hsg.googlegroups.com...
On Apr 21, 7:18 pm, "MapleE." <ae...@comcast.net> wrote:
> Hi:
> When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and
> plug-into the PC with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
> the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port.
>
> One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
> my LAN-connection is NOT working?
>
> Any help on this regard would be appreciated.
>
> Thanks,

Un-plugging and re-plugging can "break" cables. How long have you
being do this?

What or to where, is ether "other" end of the cable connected to/ It
should be a routerm switch or hub.

MapleE.
04-22-08, 12:37 AM
Thanks for the response along with the web-site.

When I looked at Device Manger, there is 'yellow' question
mark on the device, then I uninstalled it.

The problem seems to me that there are 5(five) connections limited
in my ISP, Comcast. Then, first, I need to abandon a connection on
the PC with Vista and afterwards, I have to establish Internet Connection to
the PC with XP.

Is there any good web-site for this issue to resolve?

Thanks,


"Jack (MVP-Networking)." <jack@discussiongroup.com> wrote in message
news:eUuZ2%23BpIHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
> Hi
> Check the viability of the Network settings on the XP Computer.
> http://www.ezlan.net/debug.html
> Jack (MVP-Networking).
>
> "MapleE." <aelmo@comcast.net> wrote in message
> news:%231QMUYApIHA.5016@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>> Hi:
>> When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and plug-into the PC
>> with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
>> the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port.
>> One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
>> my LAN-connection is NOT working?
>>
>> Any help on this regard would be appreciated.
>>
>> Thanks,
>

Jack \(MVP-Networking\).
04-22-08, 10:57 AM
Hi
To share a single connection between few computers you need to install a
Wireless Cable/DSL Router.
The content of the following links will provide you with a basic tutorial
about Sharing Internet connection; it is short and to the point.

The pages were written by me ages ago. Ignore the prices, and the specific
choice of hardware, stick with the principles they are still the same.

Basic Options for Internet Connection Sharing -
http://www.anandtech.com/guides/viewfaq.aspx?i=105
Hubs, routers, switches, DSL, LANs, WANs...? -
http://www.anandtech.com/guides/viewfaq.aspx?i=48
What do I need for wireless networking? -
http://www.anandtech.com/guides/viewfaq.aspx?i=122
The whole thing should look like this,
http://www.ezlan.net/network/router.jpg
Jack (MVP-Networking).


"MapleE." <aelmo@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:etmjWsDpIHA.4716@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
> Thanks for the response along with the web-site.
>
> When I looked at Device Manger, there is 'yellow' question
> mark on the device, then I uninstalled it.
>
> The problem seems to me that there are 5(five) connections limited
> in my ISP, Comcast. Then, first, I need to abandon a connection on
> the PC with Vista and afterwards, I have to establish Internet Connection
> to the PC with XP.
>
> Is there any good web-site for this issue to resolve?
>
> Thanks,
>
>
> "Jack (MVP-Networking)." <jack@discussiongroup.com> wrote in message
> news:eUuZ2%23BpIHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
>> Hi
>> Check the viability of the Network settings on the XP Computer.
>> http://www.ezlan.net/debug.html
>> Jack (MVP-Networking).
>>
>> "MapleE." <aelmo@comcast.net> wrote in message
>> news:%231QMUYApIHA.5016@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>>> Hi:
>>> When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and plug-into the
>>> PC with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
>>> the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port.
>>> One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
>>> my LAN-connection is NOT working?
>>>
>>> Any help on this regard would be appreciated.
>>>
>>> Thanks,
>>
>

John
04-22-08, 11:10 AM
"MapleE." <aelmo@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:uOA8PpDpIHA.4672@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl...
> In regard to 'other end' is hooked up modem/router combo that
> my ISP, Comcast has been providing.
>
> As to 'break' Ehternet Cable, ... it works, when I re-hooked with
> the PC with Vista, then in my guess, ... it's my ISP that has limited
> connections, 5(five) connections allowed.

How many PCs do you have? How many are connected to the internet at the same
time? I doubt Comcast limit the number of connections.

> My most concern is that, ... How to abandon connection with the PC
> with Vista in order to establish a connection onto the PC with XP?

You already have a router. You should be able to have multiple PCs connected
to the internet at the same time without disconnecting any of them to have
another PC connected.

MapleE.
04-23-08, 11:34 PM
Update:
It may be silly to post this, however just in case someone also would face
this
sort of dilenma, ...

A Port/Slot of LAN where Ethernet Cable sitting was for some reason NOT
functionable.
After all, I purchased the PC with XP as 'Re-conditioned,' then it has
something to do
with this issue. However, I, luckily was able to get a connection by using
'old-school'
Linsky Adaptor which I got when I first started to subscibe my ISP, Comcast.

According to a tech.guy who helped me set-up, the 'old-fashioned' Linsky
Adaptor is
better suitable to the XP/Media Center over Linsky-G with Speed, because
there is stable
foot with a tiny-antenna which reminds me 'tiny box' with antenna.

Thanks all for your help and concern.


"MapleE." <aelmo@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:%231QMUYApIHA.5016@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Hi:
> When I un-plug ethernet cable from the PC with Vista and plug-into the PC
> with XP, it says, .... Unplug Cable, although
> the Cable is firmly plugged into the Ethernet Port.
> One thing I noticed is that green/orange light did not light-up, hence
> my LAN-connection is NOT working?
>
> Any help on this regard would be appreciated.
>
> Thanks,