PDA

View Full Version : Re: Vista shutdown problems after installing Linksys WRT54g router



ss8wjl@ast.lmco.com
04-12-08, 02:06 AM
Sorry for the delay in answering.

I downloaded the latest firmware. And the hardware version is v8.2.

It still won't shutdown properly with the ethernet hooked up to the
router, but if I unplug the ethernet prior to shutting down (i.e., I'm
using the wireless-g connection only to the linksys router), it shuts
down fine.

Any ideas?

On Mar 30, 3:22*am, Barb Bowman <b...@nospam.com> wrote:
> do you have the latest firmware for the router? what hardware
> version WRT54G?
>
>
>
>
>
> On Sat, 29 Mar 2008 23:42:54 -0700 (PDT), ss8...@ast.lmco.com wrote:
> >Hello all:
>
> >I recently successfully set-up aLinksysWRT54g Wireless-G router with
> >4-ethernet wired ports. Currently, I only have one computer, and when
> >it is in the office with the router, I have the ethernet wired
> >connection hooked up on the computer and the wireless connection is
> >also active (although I think I've learned that the wired connection
> >will become the "preferred" connection when both are present).
>
> >Everything is working great, with one exception. Ever since I
> >completed this set-up, my Dell Inspiron E1705 withVistahangs during
> >shutdown. The "Shutting Down" screen never goes off. This only occurs
> >if I have the Ethernet cable plugged into the computer when I shut
> >down. If I unplug the Ethernet cable prior toshutdown, everything
> >works fine. But, if Ishutdownwith the Ethernet cable plugged in
> >(whether or not the WiFi connection is active), it will hang and will
> >not continue even if I later disconnect the ethernet cable.
>
> >I never had thisshutdownproblem when I was directly connected to my
> >Comcast cable modem via ethernet. But, now that I'm going through the
> >Linksysrouter, I seem to have a problem.
>
> >FYI, I also have the McAfee security suite that Comcast provides
> >installed on the computer, in case that could be related (I always
> >suspect virus and firewall software for problems like this).
>
> >Can anyone point me in the right direction to debug this situation.
> >I'm not very literate in the ways of networks.
>
> >Thanks,
>
> >BillL
>
> --
>
> Barb Bowman
> MS-MVPhttp://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/meetexperts/bowman.mspxhttp://blogs.digitalmediaphile.com/barb/- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

Barb Bowman
04-12-08, 05:00 AM
what kinds of apps are you running? are you downloading/uploading,
using Bittorent type stuff?

On Sat, 12 Apr 2008 00:06:11 -0700 (PDT), ss8wjl@ast.lmco.com wrote:

>Sorry for the delay in answering.
>
>I downloaded the latest firmware. And the hardware version is v8.2.
>
>It still won't shutdown properly with the ethernet hooked up to the
>router, but if I unplug the ethernet prior to shutting down (i.e., I'm
>using the wireless-g connection only to the linksys router), it shuts
>down fine.
>
>Any ideas?
>
>On Mar 30, 3:22*am, Barb Bowman <b...@nospam.com> wrote:
>> do you have the latest firmware for the router? what hardware
>> version WRT54G?
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> On Sat, 29 Mar 2008 23:42:54 -0700 (PDT), ss8...@ast.lmco.com wrote:
>> >Hello all:
>>
>> >I recently successfully set-up aLinksysWRT54g Wireless-G router with
>> >4-ethernet wired ports. Currently, I only have one computer, and when
>> >it is in the office with the router, I have the ethernet wired
>> >connection hooked up on the computer and the wireless connection is
>> >also active (although I think I've learned that the wired connection
>> >will become the "preferred" connection when both are present).
>>
>> >Everything is working great, with one exception. Ever since I
>> >completed this set-up, my Dell Inspiron E1705 withVistahangs during
>> >shutdown. The "Shutting Down" screen never goes off. This only occurs
>> >if I have the Ethernet cable plugged into the computer when I shut
>> >down. If I unplug the Ethernet cable prior toshutdown, everything
>> >works fine. But, if Ishutdownwith the Ethernet cable plugged in
>> >(whether or not the WiFi connection is active), it will hang and will
>> >not continue even if I later disconnect the ethernet cable.
>>
>> >I never had thisshutdownproblem when I was directly connected to my
>> >Comcast cable modem via ethernet. But, now that I'm going through the
>> >Linksysrouter, I seem to have a problem.
>>
>> >FYI, I also have the McAfee security suite that Comcast provides
>> >installed on the computer, in case that could be related (I always
>> >suspect virus and firewall software for problems like this).
>>
>> >Can anyone point me in the right direction to debug this situation.
>> >I'm not very literate in the ways of networks.
>>
>> >Thanks,
>>
>> >BillL
>>
>> --
>>
>> Barb Bowman
>> MS-MVPhttp://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/meetexperts/bowman.mspxhttp://blogs.digitalmediaphile.com/barb/- Hide quoted text -
>>
>> - Show quoted text -
--

Barb Bowman
MS-MVP
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/meetexperts/bowman.mspx
http://blogs.digitalmediaphile.com/barb/

billshadow00@comcast.net
04-12-08, 01:21 PM
No Bittorent type stuff. Just typical apps (MS Office, IE, Quicken,
etc.). It doesn't seem to matter what I am running. I can just start
up and immediately try to shut down and it hangs if the ethernet cable
is connected. I have noticed that the Comcast supplied McAfee Security
Suite is acting up a bit. But, I can't tell what might still be
running that causes the computer to hang during shutdown because it
goes the the "Shutting Down" screen and I can't get it to respond to
anything after that, though the harddrive does seem to be occasionally
active.

Whatever it is, it seems to be OK with just a wireless connection
running, but with the ethernet cable connected with our without the
wireless connection active, it hangs.

Thanks for staying with me on this. I'm still stuck. But, I suspect
there is something going on with the two internet connects; like the
computer is trying to shutdown the network connection but can't for
some reason.

Thanks,

Bill

On Apr 12, 4:00*am, Barb Bowman <b...@nospam.com> wrote:
> what kinds of apps are you running? are you downloading/uploading,
> using Bittorent type stuff?
>
>
>
>
>
> On Sat, 12 Apr 2008 00:06:11 -0700 (PDT), ss8...@ast.lmco.com wrote:
> >Sorry for the delay in answering.
>
> >I downloaded the latest firmware. And the hardware version is v8.2.
>
> >It still won't shutdown properly with the ethernet hooked up to the
> >router, but if I unplug the ethernet prior to shutting down (i.e., I'm
> >using the wireless-g connection only to thelinksysrouter), it shuts
> >down fine.
>
> >Any ideas?
>
> >On Mar 30, 3:22*am, Barb Bowman <b...@nospam.com> wrote:
> >> do you have the latest firmware for the router? what hardware
> >> version WRT54G?
>
> >> On Sat, 29 Mar 2008 23:42:54 -0700 (PDT), ss8...@ast.lmco.com wrote:
> >> >Hello all:
>
> >> >I recently successfully set-up aLinksysWRT54g Wireless-G router with
> >> >4-ethernet wired ports. Currently, I only have one computer, and when
> >> >it is in the office with the router, I have the ethernet wired
> >> >connection hooked up on the computer and the wireless connection is
> >> >also active (although I think I've learned that the wired connection
> >> >will become the "preferred" connection when both are present).
>
> >> >Everything is working great, with one exception. Ever since I
> >> >completed this set-up, my Dell Inspiron E1705 withVistahangs during
> >> >shutdown. The "Shutting Down" screen never goes off. This only occurs
> >> >if I have the Ethernet cable plugged into the computer when I shut
> >> >down. If I unplug the Ethernet cable prior toshutdown, everything
> >> >works fine. But, if Ishutdownwith the Ethernet cable plugged in
> >> >(whether or not the WiFi connection is active), it will hang and will
> >> >not continue even if I later disconnect the ethernet cable.
>
> >> >I never had thisshutdownproblem when I was directly connected to my
> >> >Comcast cable modem via ethernet. But, now that I'm going through the
> >> >Linksysrouter, I seem to have a problem.
>
> >> >FYI, I also have the McAfee security suite that Comcast provides
> >> >installed on the computer, in case that could be related (I always
> >> >suspect virus and firewall software for problems like this).
>
> >> >Can anyone point me in the right direction to debug this situation.
> >> >I'm not very literate in the ways of networks.
>
> >> >Thanks,
>
> >> >BillL
>
> >> --
>
> >> Barb Bowman
> >> MS-MVPhttp://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/meetexperts/bowman.mspx...Hide quoted text -
>
> >> - Show quoted text -
>
> --
>
> Barb Bowman
> MS-MVPhttp://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/meetexperts/bowman.mspxhttp://blogs.digitalmediaphile.com/barb/- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -