PDA

View Full Version : Repair Network connection in XPPro



Information
04-11-08, 08:39 AM
Is there a way to initiate a Repair Network Connection sequence at boot?
Our PC connects to its access point, but only after a repair will it
communicate with the rest of the network.

Is there a command to initiate this? I would think the boot process
accomplishes this, but only after we repair are we functional.

Thanks in advance for any additional insight.

Dan

smlunatick
04-11-08, 02:18 PM
On Apr 11, 9:39*am, "Information" <cmc(removethis)@cablespeed.com>
wrote:
> Is there a way to initiate a Repair Network Connection sequence at boot?
> Our PC connects to its access point, but only after a repair will it
> communicate with the rest of the network.
>
> Is there a command to initiate this? *I would think the boot process
> accomplishes this, but only after we repair are we functional.
>
> Thanks in advance for any additional insight.
>
> Dan

You have serious problems if you hav to repair this everytime. Can
you explain why?

Wireless network should always work at boot up unless you have bad
drivers or defective adapter.

Trespasser
04-11-08, 04:30 PM
"smlunatick" <yveslec@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:13cb3199-c1ae-4195-a13d-e5ad985cc141@a1g2000hsb.googlegroups.com...
On Apr 11, 9:39 am, "Information" <cmc(removethis)@cablespeed.com>
wrote:
> Is there a way to initiate a Repair Network Connection sequence at boot?
> Our PC connects to its access point, but only after a repair will it
> communicate with the rest of the network.
>
> Is there a command to initiate this? I would think the boot process
> accomplishes this, but only after we repair are we functional.
>
> Thanks in advance for any additional insight.
>
> Dan

You have serious problems if you hav to repair this everytime. Can
you explain why?

Wireless network should always work at boot up unless you have bad
drivers or defective adapter.

Mmmmmm, I think !

Create a batch file, are you ok with batch files ???

Create the file and save it somewhere safe, the batch file should contain
the command::::

" ipconfig /renew " (without the quotes)

This command tells the machine to renew the ip address of ALL network
adapters, if you have more than one you can specify which adapter to renew
by using its name like so

" ipconfig /renew aa* "

This will renew the ip address of all adapters begining with aa in the name.

hope this is some help

Trespasser
04-11-08, 04:32 PM
"smlunatick" <yveslec@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:13cb3199-c1ae-4195-a13d-e5ad985cc141@a1g2000hsb.googlegroups.com...
On Apr 11, 9:39 am, "Information" <cmc(removethis)@cablespeed.com>
wrote:
> Is there a way to initiate a Repair Network Connection sequence at boot?
> Our PC connects to its access point, but only after a repair will it
> communicate with the rest of the network.
>
> Is there a command to initiate this? I would think the boot process
> accomplishes this, but only after we repair are we functional.
>
> Thanks in advance for any additional insight.
>
> Dan

You have serious problems if you hav to repair this everytime. Can
you explain why?

Wireless network should always work at boot up unless you have bad
drivers or defective adapter.


Sorry I forgot to add you can drag a shortcut to this to your start menu
folder or probably the best way is to use "" scheduled tasks "" and perhaps
set it to run every 2 hours or so.

Information
04-13-08, 03:24 PM
Once it is repaired it is fine. Drivers should be up-to-date but that can
certainly be researched.

I will add a batch command to the startup group and see what happens.

Thanks for the reply,

Dan


"Trespasser" <annonymous99@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:s46dnaSMxpd1RWLaRVnyiwA@bt.com...
>
> "smlunatick" <yveslec@gmail.com> wrote in message
> news:13cb3199-c1ae-4195-a13d-e5ad985cc141@a1g2000hsb.googlegroups.com...
> On Apr 11, 9:39 am, "Information" <cmc(removethis)@cablespeed.com>
> wrote:
>> Is there a way to initiate a Repair Network Connection sequence at boot?
>> Our PC connects to its access point, but only after a repair will it
>> communicate with the rest of the network.
>>
>> Is there a command to initiate this? I would think the boot process
>> accomplishes this, but only after we repair are we functional.
>>
>> Thanks in advance for any additional insight.
>>
>> Dan
>
> You have serious problems if you hav to repair this everytime. Can
> you explain why?
>
> Wireless network should always work at boot up unless you have bad
> drivers or defective adapter.
>
>
> Sorry I forgot to add you can drag a shortcut to this to your start menu
> folder or probably the best way is to use "" scheduled tasks "" and
> perhaps set it to run every 2 hours or so.
>