PDA

View Full Version : Transmit Power



=?Utf-8?B?VGhlb2RvcmE=?=
04-10-08, 07:20 AM
I want to change the Transmit Power to reduce the radio coverage. It's
nessesary becouse I work in a hospital and it disturb the medical instuments.
I have an IntelPro/Wireless 3945ABG network Connection. I know I can change
it in the device manager by the properties of the wireless networkcard in the
tab Advanced under Transmit Power.
I have to change the Transmit Power on a lot of laptops in the hospital and
I want to change that with a command or a policy ore something like that. I
try to find the register keys, but it dassn't work if I put them back with a
reg-file. (I find the keys with regmon). Can someone help me?

Jack \(MVP-Networking\).
04-10-08, 09:38 AM
Hi
I would be worried about the whole situation. There can always be
Instruments that would be sensitive to the reduced power too.
This is too dangerous, you should contact a consultant tat is specializing
in such issues.
Jack (MVP-Networking).

"Theodora" <Theodora@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FA91893B-F093-49F2-8B5C-D190611C0E27@microsoft.com...
>I want to change the Transmit Power to reduce the radio coverage. It's
> nessesary becouse I work in a hospital and it disturb the medical
> instuments.
> I have an IntelPro/Wireless 3945ABG network Connection. I know I can
> change
> it in the device manager by the properties of the wireless networkcard in
> the
> tab Advanced under Transmit Power.
> I have to change the Transmit Power on a lot of laptops in the hospital
> and
> I want to change that with a command or a policy ore something like that.
> I
> try to find the register keys, but it dassn't work if I put them back with
> a
> reg-file. (I find the keys with regmon). Can someone help me?

Phillip Windell
04-10-08, 09:43 AM
I don't know about the power setting,...some don't even have one.

You can probably eliminate the whole problem by going to "A" Band instead of
B/G. "A" runs in the higher 5 ghz band, it less suseptable to interferrence
and is less like to interferre with other things.

With B/G, if it interferres with medical equipment,...then it works both
ways and the medical equipment would also interferre with it,...therefore
reducing power on the WAPs and NICs could just simply render it useless
because they would get stepped on by the more powerful medical
equipment,...at least they would be more powerfule after you cut down the
WAP's & NIC's power.

--
Phillip Windell
www.wandtv.com

The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or Microsoft,
or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
-----------------------------------------------------


"Theodora" <Theodora@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FA91893B-F093-49F2-8B5C-D190611C0E27@microsoft.com...
>I want to change the Transmit Power to reduce the radio coverage. It's
> nessesary becouse I work in a hospital and it disturb the medical
> instuments.
> I have an IntelPro/Wireless 3945ABG network Connection. I know I can
> change
> it in the device manager by the properties of the wireless networkcard in
> the
> tab Advanced under Transmit Power.
> I have to change the Transmit Power on a lot of laptops in the hospital
> and
> I want to change that with a command or a policy ore something like that.
> I
> try to find the register keys, but it dassn't work if I put them back with
> a
> reg-file. (I find the keys with regmon). Can someone help me?

Don Phillipson
04-10-08, 01:31 PM
"Theodora" <Theodora@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FA91893B-F093-49F2-8B5C-D190611C0E27@microsoft.com...

> I want to change the Transmit Power to reduce the radio coverage. It's
> nessesary becouse I work in a hospital and it disturb the medical
instuments.
> I have an IntelPro/Wireless 3945ABG network Connection. I know I can
change
> it in the device manager by the properties of the wireless networkcard in
the
> tab Advanced under Transmit Power.
> I have to change the Transmit Power on a lot of laptops in the hospital
and
> I want to change that with a command or a policy ore something like that.
I
> try to find the register keys, but it dassn't work if I put them back with
a
> reg-file. (I find the keys with regmon). Can someone help me?

Before soliciting computer help you may need to consult either
1. Your hospital's standing committee on electronic instrumentation
and its shielding, or
2. Your national standards institution (responsible for guidelines
on shielding medical instruments from electronic interference.)

--
Don Phillipson
Carlsbad Springs
(Ottawa, Canada)

Pavel A.
04-10-08, 08:03 PM
"Theodora" <Theodora@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FA91893B-F093-49F2-8B5C-D190611C0E27@microsoft.com...
> I want to change the Transmit Power to reduce the radio coverage. It's
> nessesary becouse I work in a hospital and it disturb the medical
> instuments.
> I have an IntelPro/Wireless 3945ABG network Connection. I know I can
> change
> it in the device manager by the properties of the wireless networkcard in
> the
> tab Advanced under Transmit Power.
> I have to change the Transmit Power on a lot of laptops in the hospital
> and
> I want to change that with a command or a policy ore something like that.
> I
> try to find the register keys, but it dassn't work if I put them back with
> a
> reg-file. (I find the keys with regmon). Can someone help me?

Please, contact the Intel technical support. They will help.

Regards,
--PA