PDA

View Full Version : Adding wap to a domain



HDI
04-07-08, 09:23 AM
Hi,

Is adding a wireless access point in a windows domain the same as
adding one to a workgroup?

Thx

Phillip Windell
04-07-08, 10:42 AM
WAPs are Layer 1&2 devices.
You don't add them to domains or workgroups


--
Phillip Windell
www.wandtv.com

The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or Microsoft,
or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
-----------------------------------------------------


"HDI" <hdinf@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:b9613749-19d0-49ac-96cc-5a21b83137bf@k10g2000prm.googlegroups.com...
> Hi,
>
> Is adding a wireless access point in a windows domain the same as
> adding one to a workgroup?
>
> Thx

Jack \(MVP-Networking\).
04-07-08, 11:19 AM
Hi
Wireless Access Point are like Wireless Hubs they are transparent to the
traffic.
Depending on how your Network is set you might need to adjust the WAP's core
IP to much the subnet and allow the MAC, as they do appear on the Network.
Jack (MVP-Networking).

"HDI" <hdinf@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:b9613749-19d0-49ac-96cc-5a21b83137bf@k10g2000prm.googlegroups.com...
> Hi,
>
> Is adding a wireless access point in a windows domain the same as
> adding one to a workgroup?
>
> Thx

HDI
04-07-08, 02:36 PM
I mean a 'winows domain network' and a 'windows workgroup network'.

On 7 apr, 17:42, "Phillip Windell" <philwind...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> WAPs are Layer 1&2 devices.
> You don't add them to domains or workgroups
>
> --
> Phillip Windellwww.wandtv.com
>
> The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or Microsoft,
> or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
> -----------------------------------------------------
>
> "HDI" <hd...@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>
> news:b9613749-19d0-49ac-96cc-5a21b83137bf@k10g2000prm.googlegroups.com...
>
>
>
> > Hi,
>
> > Is adding a wireless access point in a windows domain the same as
> > adding one to a workgroup?
>
> > Thx- Tekst uit oorspronkelijk bericht niet weergeven -
>
> - Tekst uit oorspronkelijk bericht weergeven -

Phillip Windell
04-07-08, 03:02 PM
"HDI" <hdinf@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:10b95eb3-14b7-47ef-b28c-b719e62a444e@q10g2000prf.googlegroups.com...
>I mean a 'winows domain network' and a 'windows workgroup network'.

Same thing.

A Domain is just an Administrative "entity" or "boundary". A Domain is not
a "network".

A workgroup is almost "nothing",...almost "imaginary". It is just a
handfull of machines with the workgroup parameter set to the same "word".
There is no central administrative ability with a workgroup. A workgroup is
also not a "network".

Anyway,..it is just like Jack said,...adding a WAP is not any different than
adding a Hub or Switch to the network.

--
Phillip Windell
www.wandtv.com

The views expressed, are my own and not those of my employer, or Microsoft,
or anyone else associated with me, including my cats.
-----------------------------------------------------