PDA

View Full Version : HELP with overclocking



Brent
02-06-00, 06:49 PM
Well now this is a BIG issue, there is soooooooooooooooooooo much to overclocking, all kind of things you can do. You need a step by step guide to show you how. Here are a few I found to help you out:

This is an older one but it has good info: http://www.anandtech.com/html/articledisplay.cfm?document=157

Here is a Pentium III overclocking guide: http://www.sharkyextreme.com/hardware/guides/p3_oc/

Here is a Celeron Overclocking guide: http://www.sharkyextreme.com/hardware/celeron_oc/


Here is another overclocking guide: http://www.firingsquad.com/guides/overclocking/default.asp


Another P3 overclocking quide: http://www.firingsquad.com/guides/p3overclocking/

There reading those will help you :P

[This message has been edited by Brent (edited 02-06-2000).]

belly5
02-06-00, 09:02 PM
Thanks Brent those are all great sites, my only problem is I'm kind of an idiot when it comes to this stuff (multipliers, jumpers and the other things that have to be changed)I don't know where these things are located on my system so if you could these things I would apprciate it.

I have a Dell Dimesion XPS R450
System chip set: Intel 440BX AGPset
Pentium II 450mghz

I don't know what information you will or won't need but I hope the little I gave helps.

Fixxer
02-06-00, 10:30 PM
read your mobo manual... guides are ok but every situation is different so read up on your board and do trial and error. just remember that most PII, PIII, and Athlon chips are multiplier locked so you'll have to jack up the FSB (105,110,115,120,133.. depending on your board)Also u might have to up the voltage some but don't go too far. And last but not least cooling is the key, the more you spend on cooling the more mhz your gonna get http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif

belly5
02-07-00, 12:50 AM
I've been doing alot of reading on this overclocking thing and I dont understand a bit of it. Where do i find the jumper settings and where do i find and how do i change the settings for my CPU.

belly5
02-08-00, 11:29 AM
I read my mobo manual and the only jumper it has is to clear all passwords other wise there are no other jumpers that I know of unless there hidden.

Recordlord
02-08-00, 08:25 PM
Well the first things first. Key word knowledge.

ram: what kind do you have, pc100?
Mobo: what FSB speeds does it support?
voltage: what is it set at now?
multiplier:
schematics: do you have a drawing of your mobo where the jumpers are located or is it switch jumpers, it may even have soft jumpers.
experience: When I bought this pc, I O/Cd the old one?
HUGE: huge amount of info to take in to consideration
expectations: what is your goal.
burning in: You tell me what this means and why you might want to perform it. Then you will be ready.
check out <A HREF="http://www.sysopt.com

" TARGET=_blank>www.sysopt.com

</A>

Battleship
02-13-00, 05:29 PM
Does Dell use motherboards that do not allow you to change the CPU installed? What I am trying to say is the 450 the only CPU that will work in your type of motherboard. Probably not but you can check in your manual or Dells site. You might have a jumperless motherboard where you can up the bus speed in your CMOS. - good luck

kane3289
02-16-00, 09:15 PM
it all depend's on your motherboard and ram.. alot can happen man..