PDA

View Full Version : MDC Password for Telus 2Wire 2700



John Clay
12-19-08, 12:52 PM
Has anyone determined the password for a Telus installed 2Wire 2700 HG-E
Gateway router? There are settings in there that I would love to access,
but Telus won't help me. The MDC password is not the same as the User
password... and it's not 'Dr@cul@!' as it once was.

In exchange for the password, I happen to have a Seimens SE567 Gateway
router brand new in a box, that I won't be using...

Thanks much,


John

ray
12-19-08, 05:29 PM
"John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Xns9B7979662C3C9ib4e@69.16.185.250...
> Has anyone determined the password for a Telus installed 2Wire 2700 HG-E
> Gateway router? There are settings in there that I would love to access,
> but Telus won't help me. The MDC password is not the same as the User
> password... and it's not 'Dr@cul@!' as it once was.
>
> In exchange for the password, I happen to have a Seimens SE567 Gateway
> router brand new in a box, that I won't be using...

On page
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/04/29/advanced-configuration-page-for-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/

We can read:
To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is essentially
the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
"http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without quotes)
instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for SingTel mio
device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default 2Wire password of
"Wireless" (without quote).

ray
12-19-08, 05:29 PM
"John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Xns9B7979662C3C9ib4e@69.16.185.250...
> Has anyone determined the password for a Telus installed 2Wire 2700 HG-E
> Gateway router? There are settings in there that I would love to access,
> but Telus won't help me. The MDC password is not the same as the User
> password... and it's not 'Dr@cul@!' as it once was.
>
> In exchange for the password, I happen to have a Seimens SE567 Gateway
> router brand new in a box, that I won't be using...

On page
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/04/29/advanced-configuration-page-for-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/

We can read:
To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is essentially
the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
"http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without quotes)
instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for SingTel mio
device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default 2Wire password of
"Wireless" (without quote).

John Clay
12-21-08, 01:12 AM
"ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:


> On page
> http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/04/29/advanced-configuration-page-fo
> r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
>
> We can read:
> To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
> essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
> "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
> quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
> SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
> 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).


Thanks for replying Ray.

I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
their own firmware upgrade and made this different.

They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of the
problems associated with this.

It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find out
which fuse controls the dashboard lights.

Anyway, thanks for replying.


John

John Clay
12-21-08, 01:12 AM
"ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:


> On page
> http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/04/29/advanced-configuration-page-fo
> r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
>
> We can read:
> To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
> essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
> "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
> quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
> SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
> 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).


Thanks for replying Ray.

I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
their own firmware upgrade and made this different.

They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of the
problems associated with this.

It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find out
which fuse controls the dashboard lights.

Anyway, thanks for replying.


John

ray
12-21-08, 10:46 AM
"John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Xns9B7B2BDCDB09ib4e@69.16.185.250...
> "ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
> news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:
>
>
>> On page
>> http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/04/29/advanced-configuration-page-fo
>> r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
>>
>> We can read:
>> To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
>> essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
>> "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
>> quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
>> SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
>> 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).
>
>
> Thanks for replying Ray.
>
> I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
> for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
> their own firmware upgrade and made this different.
>
> They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
> basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
> and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of
> the
> problems associated with this.
>
> It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
> them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find
> out
> which fuse controls the dashboard lights.
>
> Anyway, thanks for replying.

It was a pleasure to find something.

For the same problem i did not accept the modem my ISP want to install, i
use instead a linksys WAG54GS - and i am very happy with it !

ray
12-21-08, 10:46 AM
"John Clay" <ib4e_c_except@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Xns9B7B2BDCDB09ib4e@69.16.185.250...
> "ray" <raymond.schmit@piscarlet.be> wrote in
> news:494c2e41@news.stben.net:
>
>
>> On page
>> http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/04/29/advanced-configuration-page-fo
>> r-2wire-homeportal-residential-router-gateways-singtel-mio/
>>
>> We can read:
>> To access Management and Diagnostic Console of 2Wire, which is
>> essentially the advanced configuration page, use the browser to go to
>> "http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc" or "http://homeportal/mdc" (without
>> quotes) instead. If you're prompted with password (especially for
>> SingTel mio device), key in "2wire" (without quote), or try default
>> 2Wire password of "Wireless" (without quote).
>
>
> Thanks for replying Ray.
>
> I did see these passwords in my quest, and although the default passwords
> for the 2wire router are as you mention, Telus has set up the password in
> their own firmware upgrade and made this different.
>
> They say that although I bought the router, I am only licenced to use the
> basic settings that they allow me to. I find this extremely frustrating,
> and I think I will start a campaign of education to inform customers of
> the
> problems associated with this.
>
> It's amazing how people are getting so used to the limitations placed on
> them by this techno crap... buy a brand new car, but you may never find
> out
> which fuse controls the dashboard lights.
>
> Anyway, thanks for replying.

It was a pleasure to find something.

For the same problem i did not accept the modem my ISP want to install, i
use instead a linksys WAG54GS - and i am very happy with it !

Orion-ua
10-03-09, 08:26 AM
MDC password for 2wire 2700HG-E telus is:

1nd1go

MDC password MDC password MDC password MDC password
2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus
2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus 2wire 2700HG-E telus

neiln
10-23-09, 11:12 PM
Orion-ua,

The above password works for me.
I manage to upgrade the box with the SBC firmware now.
I am no longer being fooled by Telus any more.
Cheers,
Neil