PDA

View Full Version : Overclockiing old P133mhz



icecold_16
01-13-00, 12:55 AM
I recently tried to overclock my p133 to 150 or 166 and I had no success. It wouldnt register over 133. I also heard something that a certain % of p 133's arent allowed to be everclocked because the multiplier is stops at 2.0X and you cant progress up passed that. Please help, thanks

------------------
Thanks,
Kyle

Bimmer
01-25-00, 08:20 PM
Yeah, that is a drag man, I have a 133 and can't overclock mine either. There are certain 133's that couldn't be overclocked, unfortunately, I never knew this until a year or so after I got my computer.

Necroscope
01-29-00, 03:05 PM
Some CPU steppings were limited to 133 mhz, but have you tried increasing the system bus?? ( if your mobo supports it).

heres a link i used way back in my days of p100's
www.tomshardware.com (http://www.tomshardware.com)
Jay

Necroscope
01-29-00, 03:05 PM
Some CPU steppings were limited to 133 mhz, but have you tried increasing the system bus?? ( if your mobo supports it).

heres a link i used way back in my days of p100's
www.tomshardware.com (http://www.tomshardware.com)
Jay

------------------
tried 3 differant names, so heres my online gaming name...

Necroscope
01-29-00, 03:06 PM
oops sorry, lol
wasnt thinking and used forward, back buttons, my apologies all

------------------
tried 3 differant names, so heres my online gaming name...

Obelix
02-05-00, 07:19 PM
Just to get things right, the P133s arenīt multiplier-locked at all. This wasnīt necessary for intel īcause the tolerancies of the PI werenīt that big.
So if you experience problems running (getting up at first) your old 133 and it doesnīt work, there is no way around it. The problem is, the internal cache of the processor (8k) canīt keep up with the rest of the cpu. You could of course switch off the internal cache, but then again even with 200Mhz you woldnīt reach the performance you have with 133 cache enabled.

------------------

glussier
02-10-00, 02:11 AM
I have an old backup computer with a Shuttle super 577 vx chipset motherboard with an Intel 133mhz cpu overclocked to 75x2 I even tested this cpu on a tx chipset motherboard at 83x2 and it was perfectly stable even at that bus speed.