PDA

View Full Version : Remote Management on Netgear DG834G



Garry Douglas
11-29-08, 12:29 PM
I'm having problems trying to get remote management to work on a friend's
Netgear DG834Gv2 wireless router modem (firmware version 3.01.31).

The router has a dynamic IP address but is permanently powered on so it only
changes occasionally, but in addition I have set it to e-mail the status
logs to me on a daily basis and can usually monitor any changes to the IP
address when the lease expires or if a power outage occurs because the logs
include details of port scans by source and destination address.

I can use VNC to access the desktop machine (XP Pro SP2) connected to the
router from my PC (also XP2 SP2) by setting port forwarding on ports 5800
and 5900 on the router to the desktop's reserved local IP address
(192.168.0.2) so I know I'm using the correct WAN IP address.

Remote management is enabled using port 8080 and for testing purposes is set
to accept communications from any remote computer. The router is password
protected (not the default p/w).

However, when I enter the IP address in to my browser (IE6) the router
management console log on screen is not displayed (Page Not Found). I've
tried entering the IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx:8080) with and without the
http:// prefix and have also tried it with Google Chrome but the result is
always the same.

I've looked on several web based IT help forums and have seen the same
problem posted but no working solutions in response. Have also looked on the
Netgear site but can't see any details of the problem.

On my home PC I access the internet via a Linksys ADSL2 MUE USB/Ethernet
modem connected to a Belkin F5D7230-4 wireless router and have NIS2005
installed. Have checked the firewall rules and can't see any block on
outgoing comms on port 8080. Even tried creating a specific rule allowing
outgoing comms on that port (local and remote) but it doesn't make any
difference.

Can anyone suggest what it is I haven't considered or offer a solution.

Thanks

Garry
London, England

BJH
12-02-08, 03:18 AM
On 29/11/2008 18:29:05, "Garry Douglas" wrote:

> However, when I enter the IP address in to my browser (IE6) the router
> management console log on screen is not displayed (Page Not Found). I've
> tried entering the IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx:8080) with and without the
> http:// prefix and have also tried it with Google Chrome but the result is
> always the same.

I think you should enter https:// NOT http://, that works for me with my
DGFV338

https://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 should do the trick

--
Regards
Barry

BJH
12-02-08, 03:18 AM
On 29/11/2008 18:29:05, "Garry Douglas" wrote:

> However, when I enter the IP address in to my browser (IE6) the router
> management console log on screen is not displayed (Page Not Found). I've
> tried entering the IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx:8080) with and without the
> http:// prefix and have also tried it with Google Chrome but the result is
> always the same.

I think you should enter https:// NOT http://, that works for me with my
DGFV338

https://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 should do the trick

--
Regards
Barry

Garry Douglas
12-02-08, 08:23 AM
"BJH" <barryh@invalid.kentra.co.uk> wrote in message
news:6pkcreF84b61U1@mid.individual.net...
> On 29/11/2008 18:29:05, "Garry Douglas" wrote:
>
>> However, when I enter the IP address in to my browser (IE6) the router
>> management console log on screen is not displayed (Page Not Found). I've
>> tried entering the IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx:8080) with and without the
>> http:// prefix and have also tried it with Google Chrome but the result
>> is
>> always the same.
>
> I think you should enter https:// NOT http://, that works for me with my
> DGFV338
>
> https://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 should do the trick
>

Thanks Barry.

I had already tried https after I posted but the problem persisted.

However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there is
a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which although
set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among others.

I'm still waiting to see if they can selectively open 8080 as I don't want
to deactivate the firewall completely even though the router is securely
password protected.

Garry

Garry Douglas
12-02-08, 08:23 AM
"BJH" <barryh@invalid.kentra.co.uk> wrote in message
news:6pkcreF84b61U1@mid.individual.net...
> On 29/11/2008 18:29:05, "Garry Douglas" wrote:
>
>> However, when I enter the IP address in to my browser (IE6) the router
>> management console log on screen is not displayed (Page Not Found). I've
>> tried entering the IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx:8080) with and without the
>> http:// prefix and have also tried it with Google Chrome but the result
>> is
>> always the same.
>
> I think you should enter https:// NOT http://, that works for me with my
> DGFV338
>
> https://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 should do the trick
>

Thanks Barry.

I had already tried https after I posted but the problem persisted.

However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there is
a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which although
set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among others.

I'm still waiting to see if they can selectively open 8080 as I don't want
to deactivate the firewall completely even though the router is securely
password protected.

Garry

BJH
12-03-08, 03:17 AM
On 02/12/2008 14:23:16, "Garry Douglas" wrote:

> However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there
> is a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which
> although set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among others.

So why not choose another port that isn't restricted?

It seems to be a value that can be changed although I admit to not having
sufficient knowledge to know what, if any, the consequences may be!



--
Regards
Barry

BJH
12-03-08, 03:17 AM
On 02/12/2008 14:23:16, "Garry Douglas" wrote:

> However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there
> is a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which
> although set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among others.

So why not choose another port that isn't restricted?

It seems to be a value that can be changed although I admit to not having
sufficient knowledge to know what, if any, the consequences may be!



--
Regards
Barry

Garry Douglas
12-03-08, 10:14 AM
"BJH" <barryh@invalid.kentra.co.uk> wrote in message
news:6pn14sF8mjabU1@mid.individual.net...
> On 02/12/2008 14:23:16, "Garry Douglas" wrote:
>
>> However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there
>> is a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which
>> although set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among others.
>
> So why not choose another port that isn't restricted?
>
> It seems to be a value that can be changed although I admit to not having
> sufficient knowledge to know what, if any, the consequences may be!

The router can be set to accept remote management connections to any port
but the default is 8080.

I'm trying to establish with the ISP if there is an open port within the
range that is covered by the 'Low' settings on the server side broadband
firewall that I can safely use. I know certain ports are more commonly
scanned than others by trojans etc. but I don't know whether there is a
restriction on the type of traffic to any given port i.e. will web server
activity (which is effectively what the router is when remote management is
activated) only work on a specified number of ports.

I have the fallback of being able to connect to their desktop PC via the
router using VNC on Ports 5800 or 5900 and can then access the router
management console from there but I would prefer to be able to log on to the
router directly.

Garry



..

Garry Douglas
12-03-08, 10:14 AM
"BJH" <barryh@invalid.kentra.co.uk> wrote in message
news:6pn14sF8mjabU1@mid.individual.net...
> On 02/12/2008 14:23:16, "Garry Douglas" wrote:
>
>> However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there
>> is a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which
>> although set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among others.
>
> So why not choose another port that isn't restricted?
>
> It seems to be a value that can be changed although I admit to not having
> sufficient knowledge to know what, if any, the consequences may be!

The router can be set to accept remote management connections to any port
but the default is 8080.

I'm trying to establish with the ISP if there is an open port within the
range that is covered by the 'Low' settings on the server side broadband
firewall that I can safely use. I know certain ports are more commonly
scanned than others by trojans etc. but I don't know whether there is a
restriction on the type of traffic to any given port i.e. will web server
activity (which is effectively what the router is when remote management is
activated) only work on a specified number of ports.

I have the fallback of being able to connect to their desktop PC via the
router using VNC on Ports 5800 or 5900 and can then access the router
management console from there but I would prefer to be able to log on to the
router directly.

Garry



..

Garry Douglas
12-04-08, 03:32 AM
"Garry Douglas" <garry@douglasSPMOFF1959.plus.com> wrote in message
news:z8OdnfEPjscYLavUnZ2dnUVZ8rGdnZ2d@posted.plusnet...
>
> "BJH" <barryh@invalid.kentra.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:6pn14sF8mjabU1@mid.individual.net...
>> On 02/12/2008 14:23:16, "Garry Douglas" wrote:
>>
>>> However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there
>>> is a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which
>>> although set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among
>>> others.
>>
>> So why not choose another port that isn't restricted?
>>
>> It seems to be a value that can be changed although I admit to not having
>> sufficient knowledge to know what, if any, the consequences may be!
>
> The router can be set to accept remote management connections to any port
> but the default is 8080.
>
> I'm trying to establish with the ISP if there is an open port within the
> range that is covered by the 'Low' settings on the server side broadband
> firewall that I can safely use. I know certain ports are more commonly
> scanned than others by trojans etc. but I don't know whether there is a
> restriction on the type of traffic to any given port i.e. will web server
> activity (which is effectively what the router is when remote management
> is activated) only work on a specified number of ports.
>
> I have the fallback of being able to connect to their desktop PC via the
> router using VNC on Ports 5800 or 5900 and can then access the router
> management console from there but I would prefer to be able to log on to
> the router directly.
>
> Garry
>

Now the ISP is telling me that they do not block Port 8080 and that the
server side firewall isn't activated despite information on their website
confirming that the 'Low' settings do block 8080 and also that the firewall
on the remote user's account is activated and set to, yes you've guessed,
Low!

Unfortunately they seem unable to make the distinction between the settings
on the remote user's account and those on mine.

More helpless desk than help desk :-)

Garry

Garry Douglas
12-04-08, 03:32 AM
"Garry Douglas" <garry@douglasSPMOFF1959.plus.com> wrote in message
news:z8OdnfEPjscYLavUnZ2dnUVZ8rGdnZ2d@posted.plusnet...
>
> "BJH" <barryh@invalid.kentra.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:6pn14sF8mjabU1@mid.individual.net...
>> On 02/12/2008 14:23:16, "Garry Douglas" wrote:
>>
>>> However, I talked to the ISP this morning and they advised me that there
>>> is a server side firewall activated on the other user's account which
>>> although set to 'low' to allow VPN traffic blocks Port 8080 among
>>> others.
>>
>> So why not choose another port that isn't restricted?
>>
>> It seems to be a value that can be changed although I admit to not having
>> sufficient knowledge to know what, if any, the consequences may be!
>
> The router can be set to accept remote management connections to any port
> but the default is 8080.
>
> I'm trying to establish with the ISP if there is an open port within the
> range that is covered by the 'Low' settings on the server side broadband
> firewall that I can safely use. I know certain ports are more commonly
> scanned than others by trojans etc. but I don't know whether there is a
> restriction on the type of traffic to any given port i.e. will web server
> activity (which is effectively what the router is when remote management
> is activated) only work on a specified number of ports.
>
> I have the fallback of being able to connect to their desktop PC via the
> router using VNC on Ports 5800 or 5900 and can then access the router
> management console from there but I would prefer to be able to log on to
> the router directly.
>
> Garry
>

Now the ISP is telling me that they do not block Port 8080 and that the
server side firewall isn't activated despite information on their website
confirming that the 'Low' settings do block 8080 and also that the firewall
on the remote user's account is activated and set to, yes you've guessed,
Low!

Unfortunately they seem unable to make the distinction between the settings
on the remote user's account and those on mine.

More helpless desk than help desk :-)

Garry