PDA

View Full Version : My Magic A7V Bios ... it makes what it wants!



Thor Walez
01-01-01, 06:04 AM
Hi everyone and a happy new year!
I want to set up my Bios (ASUS A7V, 1005A) in "Advanced" Menu. Changing "System Performance Setting" from Optimal to Normal to reach that my AGP is set to 2x ! But everytime I change it to Normal and go e.g. "Chip Configration" and back with no different settings my "System Performance Setting" is back to Optimal ... like magic?!
And if I set it back to Normal and the "exit & save" with F10 it take no affect! http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/frown.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/frown.gif
What the Hell is wrong with it ??? May I set the AGP 2x with a simple System Reg. ??? I use Windows200 pro with my A7V (4in1 425)
I have an ASUS V7100 GFMX (Detornator 631)

Please give an advice to change it ... it may help removing my auto-boots and system hangs! (I checked RAM, ...etc it may only the AGP speed or my Case *lol* http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/wink.gif)

Cheers,
Thor Walez

smidley
01-01-01, 04:12 PM
are you setting that up in the BIOS or in Windows?

------------------
you'll give smidley the same look a cow gives to an oncoming train.

Thor Walez
01-02-01, 12:02 PM
Naturalmente while being in BIOS (Hitting "del" while booting up) !!!!!!
http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

ssjDoh
01-02-01, 12:06 PM
This is a bug(?) that Asus added to the newsest BIOS. If, you put the fsb to 104, it will automatically set teh System to Normal. I think I read somewhere that you have to set the fsb and mulitpliers via DIP switches to control the normal or optimal settings. Give that a try. OR When you install the Via 4in1 drivers, select normal for the AGP driver. It will force your card to work at AGPx1 though....

Thor Walez
01-02-01, 04:06 PM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by ssjDoh:
This is a bug(?) that Asus added to the newsest BIOS. If, you put the fsb to 104, it will automatically set teh System to Normal. I think I read somewhere that you have to set the fsb and mulitpliers via DIP switches to control the normal or optimal settings. Give that a try. OR When you install the Via 4in1 drivers, select normal for the AGP driver. It will force your card to work at AGPx1 though....</font>

Well ssjDoh ... again thank you very much!
Is AGP1x not too slo 2x will serve me well ... are there differences ?!

Cheers

ssjDoh
01-02-01, 04:07 PM
You'll see like a max of 5fps difference. No games really use AGP texturing yet.